Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Monocacy Valley Montessori School

Charter | PK-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2014

We are very fortunate to be one of the lucky ones to get into the charter school we have been at this school for over 5 years. Yes it's a charter public school (free) not a private school so there are Obstacles to our funding. I ask my children if they are happy and that's what is important for us. The teachers here have been wonderful and I have never been dismissed by the faculty with questions or concerns. I will never forget how fortunate we are:) they have learned a lot not just on paper but as a good person in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

If I could give this school a negative rating I would... it's very sad, because the environment of Montessori is so positive, yet the administration and the newer teachers at this school do not live up to that. My children do not use the fantastic manipulatives that are part of Montessori, they rarely get a lesson (maybe 1x per month) and complete packet after packet of math materials vs. the hands on learning that is part of Montessori. The school is not the same it was when the founding families started the school, nor is it living up to the vision that the founding families had for the school. The administration does nothing to address teacher issues or student issues. Complaints or concerns are ignored unless escalated. My children have been at the school for many years, but it has gotten so bad recently, I will be finding another alternative for them because this is not a positive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2012

We were overall pleased with our first year at this school--our child was happy and made great progress. I think it's a good teaching method that accommodates her restlessness. One thing I especially liked was the large number of field trips--this made school extra fun and interesting. I also appreciate the Spanish instruction and wish there could be even more of that. Good emphasis on theater and music. This school has a high level of parent involvement, and there are lots of fun events throughout the year (plays, picnics, swaps, etc.) I thought the principal was good--seemed hardworking, not "goofing off" as one parent said--I didn't encounter any problems. One downside was some rude infighting among parents over the music program that spilled onto the school's list serve--very inappropriate. I think charter schools have a tendency to attract people who aren't happy with the school system for various reasons--and some of these folks will be unhappy no matter where they are. Building has its charms, but the biggest downside is no gymnasium.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2012

Well, the school has a terrible principal, and she did these TERRIBLE things: Didn't provide a student the strings program, and she also tore apart a good terrific strings program. Plus, there's been no AP (assistant principal) since the old one there left. The principal and another teacher don't care about their jobs, so they just goof off to get their paycheck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2012

We just finished our first year at MVMPCS and love it! My son was in Kindergarten and learned so much - not just learned it but actually understands what he learned! Small community feel to the school and a lot of opportunity to volunteer in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2012

We have attended this school for several years. Since Mrs. Bowan left, the school has gone down hill. It used to a school governed by the parents, the teachers the board and the principal. Now, it has morphed into a school that has the same problems most public schools have and then some. The current principal does not support the parents if there is a problem in the class room. This school may be better than some of the local schools but it is no longer the gem of Frederick County Public Schools. It is very sad to see something that was once so special turn into something that is only better than the worst performers in the county. We will not be returning next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

Great school, my kids love going. From everything I have seen on visits to the classes and what my children say the staff is great. The school has a real community to it and the parents are heavily involved in the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

My daughter & her husband were 2 of the original founders of this school. I know how hard it was to establish this school, but the people were so committed and excited. I remember the tears shed on the first opening day--how proud and excited everyone was. Two of my grandkids still attend this school, the oldest is now in high school. The kids love this school and have thrived in its environment. All three have taken the violin lessons and my granddaughter has performed in 2 plays. The parent involvement is fabulous and contributes to the success of the school. Currently, it is housed in an old church--not the average school building by any means--but i think it adds to the charm of the school. It has had it ups and downs throughout the years, but I feel it deserves a lot of praise for the courage and stamina of all those who dedicate themselves to this school. I am so grateful that my precious grandkids have had this opportunity.


Posted November 14, 2009

Our family loves this school! My middle-school child really likes her teachers, and works hard to meet their expectations. She loves the small class because the peer pressure is low, school support for unique talents is high. Our 5th-grader is struggles with reading, but gets the special help he needs without being called out as a slow student, or placed in the snail reading group. The teachers are so dedicated, but also fun, cheerful, and seem to really enjoy their work and the accomplishments of the students. I couldn't be more pleased with this school and wish every child had the opportunity to excel at his/her own rate, meet his/her own potential as my children do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

We love MVMPCS because of its uniqueness. Our children are able to experience a Montessori education at a public school where parents have more involvement in the running of the school. The Montessori pedagogy coupled with unique programs (such as the Suzuki Strings program where students start playing as early as the first grade), and an excellent staff have fostered a love learning in our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

We love Monocacy Valley Montessori Public Charter school because it is a school run by parents and teachers together! It has a Montessori pedagogy that has helped my kids excel academically and in life and it has an amazing Suzuki Strings program that let's kids start playing instrumental music in 1st grade instead of 4th like the local traditional public schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

MVMPCS is a great school because it has a Montessori teaching method, has multi-age classrooms and you get to be with your teacher for 3 years. It has fabulous teachers who care so much about the kids. The parents are very involved in the running of the school along side the administration. It is a wonderful community to be part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

This is my son's first year of Montessori and first year at MVMPCS. Although I am basically happy with the school's philosophy, it has taken my son time to adjust to the new learning/teaching style. The principal listens to the parents, acts proactively and holds teachers accountable for following through with parental concerns and student needs. Some of the teachers expect more learning independence from the students, while others are a little more structured, so if you're thinking about sending your child to this school, make sure he/she gets a teacher who matches his/her style of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

This school is improving every year. It already had unique offerings like Orton-Gillingham, Suzuki strings and a good drama program. Now it has a competant principal, which was a problem in the past. I look forward to my kids progressing through this school. Great volunteer efforts as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

Wonderful school with the new Principle we are all hoping to see her more involved. Teachers are wonderful and classrooms are filled with Montessori learning areas. The school offers Orton-Gillingham, Susuki method for strings, drama club. Parent involved is enormous at MVMPCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

Despite facility, great teachers, great learning environment! There should be more schools that focus on the needs of students. Small class size and teacher w/aide. Thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2007

A University of Virginia based evaluation team visited MVMPCS last year and provided a full evaluation of this school. Their findings included inconsistency across same grade classrooms in emphasis on subject areas (one teacher may emphasize art, while another teacher would emphasize social studies). Math skills as exemplified by student performance on standardized state exams is very low at this school. The principle at this school has a strong laissez faire leadership style which has been detrimental in terms of guiding teachers and addressing problems. Weaknesses pointed out in the Virginia study were largely unaddressed by the principle and initially she attempted to sweep under the rug. The parent support and involvement is positive and enormous. Lack of a strong leader at this innovative charter school has unfortunately prevented this school from reaching its potential as an outstanding charter school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2006

My son has been at MVMS for two yrs. MVMS is a school where the children come first. Children are taught 'freedom with responsibility'. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The teacher's clearly care about each and every student. Multi grades share each class. The older kids help the younger kids. The principal is a wonderful woman and acknowledges each child by name. We strive for 100% parental involvement, and very nearly succeed. The community goes beyond the walls of the school building. Thank you MVMS for giving my child and the others the encouragement and confidence they need to go out into the world! I am looking forward to being with MVMS the next 5 years of my son's school career.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 42%
Hispanic 7% 12%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Black 6% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 51%N/A51%
Female 49%N/A49%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

217 Dill Ave
Frederick, MD 21701
Phone: (301) 668-5013

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Visitation Academy
Frederick, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT