Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Centerville Elementary

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2014

My two children have been going to Centerville for 3 years now and they absolutely love it. All of the teachers that they have had are extremely dedicated and the administrators truly take the time to get to know parents. Keep up the great work, Centerville!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2013

This school is simply amazing. The teachers are dedicated, that administration is responsive and approachable. The expectations are very high - but students are given every tool possible to meet and then exceed them. Even though I find that the standards are high, my kids enjoy school and LOVE their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2012

I am the proud parent of two CES students. Although every school has its ups and downs CES does an amazing job of managing the academics and the safety of over 1000 students. My children are happy to get up each day and go to school. The teachers have always given them incentives to try more and try harder with regards to academics. I would recommend this school to anyone looking to move into this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

This school is great! I have my kids go to overseas DoDDS school, McLean, Va, and Maryland twice. The teachers and principal take a personal approach to all the kids. I am not sure how the test scores are related to other schools; but, I can expect to see the scores well in the top.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2011

Our family is new to Centerville Elementary and we are very impressed. The academic rigor is certainly up there and the staff seems to be top notch. The princpal was available to meet and was quite approachable in understanding our family needs. The teachers of both of our children have been amazing and wonderful. This school is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

I am a parent with one child currently in Centerville Elementary. Overall this is a very good school. It is clean, has a great atmosphere, and all of my experiences with the teachers have been positive. It is true that the academics seem on the light side ... my child easily finishes the homework in less than 15 minutes every night and they don't seem to push the kids very hard during school. My guess is that all the public elementary schools in the area go at about the same pace, so I really can't expect my school to go faster than the others. My only real complaint is with the administration. All of my interactions with the principal have been strange and unpleasant and I have had quite a few bad experiences with the front office as they don't always seem to be informed on what is going on and seem to be annoyed that I have stopped in for information. They actually roll their eyes at you and walk away in mid-sentence. It feels like the administration never wants the parents to actually come into the school. Other parents have had the same complaint about the front office.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

I have taught at CES for five years and am very proud to be a part of the staff. The administration works hard to ensure that all students are thriving. The teachers not only work together as a team, they are dedicated to their profession and continually seek professional development opportunities. Students are happy and excited to come to school each day. This is the best school in Frederick County period.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 29, 2009

The teachers here truly care about the kids and what is the best for their education. I have a 3rd grader and a 1st grader here and have been nothing but happy. I have never seen any severe discipline problems, the classrooms are all well-run and organized - but nurturing. Teachers are careful to push students, but not stress them. They are also interested in making sure kids have a depth of understanding. I feel that here, all students receive attention, not just the ones that have additional needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

Took my child out of this school after 3 years (grades 3 - 5). She was not being challenged, rarely had homework, discipline was a joke. Gave it a chance, very disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

My children are thriving at CES. There is rigor for those students that do well to help them grow even further academically as well as support for those students that need it. The teachers work together as a team. My children are safe and challenged and enjoy school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

We enthusiastically welcome you to Centerville Elementary, one of Frederick County's newest elementary school. We are located in the Villages of Urbana in the southeastern portion of the county. Our feeder pattern also includes Green Valley, Kemptown and Urbana Elementary, Urbana Middle, Windsor Knolls Middle and Urbana High School. Our school is a beautiful, one story design with three instructional wings located on 16 acres at the corner of Carriage Hill Drive and Route 80 near Urbana. Centerville alleviated the overcrowding at Urbana Elementary due to significant development in the area. Thanks to a partnership with the Department of Parks and Recreation, the gymnasium and fields will be available for community activities after school hours. Our staff includes 65+ professionals and paraprofessionals committed to making Centerville a first class school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 24, 2008

Centerville has an excellent principal, a competent staff, and a community committed to education. Teamwork among all staff is the key to its success. Parents play an important role and students recognize and respond by making academic strides. It's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 18% 6%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Black 7% 35%
Two or more races 7% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3601 Carriage Hill Dr
Frederick, MD 21704
Phone: (240) 566-0100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Friends Meeting School
Ijamsville, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT