Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Covenant Life School

Private | PK-12 | 270 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Gaithersburg

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $221,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 4, 2014

Fantastic moral, academic and social atmosphere. A true scholastic family that works to build the complete student and citizen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2014

We've felt loved and cared for at this school. The teachers have been attentive to our children's needs and have continually sought ways to help them grow academically and spiritually. I love that my children are being taught with a biblical worldview.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2014

Our five children attended and it has been a great experience! The youngest just graduated from CLS. Our kids received individualized care (both academic and spiritual) from teachers and administration alike - oversight and counsel were excellent. Friendships among the students are sweet and genuine. I'm eager to see my grandchildren there too. One is already attending. Our kids easily obtained scholarships because of the quality of the education they received at CLS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2014

The wonderful teachers, strong academic program, and Christ centered foundation make for a terrific educational experience for all of my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2014

We have been so impressed with the individual care one of our sons has received at the school. With transitioning from homeschooling and being diagnosed with a learning disability we were worried our son would be discouraged. On the contrary, he is loving school and looks forward to all the help he is getting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2014

Covenant Life School is a wonderful school! Not only have my children benefitted from the high academic standards, but they have been surrounded by great friends and teachers that care beyond the classroom. I had children in the elementary school who transferred into public middle school into all honors and advanced classes. Upon returning to Covenant Life, they had suffered a significant academic loss, especially in math. This validated my suspicion that CLS's academics are challenging and above par. I love that teachers will speak into my children's lives, not only about life building topics, but also about their character and most importantly their spiritual lives. I equally love the fact that I am invited and encouraged as a parent to participate in my child's school experience. I wouldn't want my children to be anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2014

All 3 of my children attended Covenant Life School and it was a wonderful experience for all of them. They were challenged academically and guided spiritually. They all made lasting friendships many of which continued into their college years and beyond. They were very well prepared for college and were able to get excellent merit-based scholarships due to the academic preparation they received. I would strongly recommend CLS to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2014

When my daughters joined this school in the middle of fifth grade they were a bit resistant to the idea. By the end of the school year they were tightly knit with their classmates and thanking me for putting them in the school. The school community is such a blessing to me and my daughters. As a single Dad I need all the help I can get. The teachers, faculty, other parents, and even the other students genuinely care, pray for, counsel, and love the students and their families. My girls just graduated and we are really going to miss all the love and fun and activity at CLS. Still, because of this school, they have been very well prepared academically and personally to launch into their college careers. As the lowest cost private school in montgomery county, it is a fabulous bargain--easily worth twice the tuition. The relationships, however, are priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2014

My son loves the school! Great Christian School, the teachers are excellent and the staff are very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

CLS faculty and staff love teaching and love their students. They teach from a strong biblical worldview and help all students, from per-school through 12th grade, see the importance of what they're learning through the lens of Scripture. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

We've had two students enroll at Covenant Life. One of our children probably would have done well anywhere, but our other child has ADD and has benefited greatly from the caring, compassionate teachers. Not that it's been a walk in the park by any stretch... CLS academics are tough; this is definitely a college-prep school. However, my child has had a better experience here than I believe she would have had elsewhere, and the teachers, principals and office staff are kind and willing to work with you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Black 7% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • James Leach
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Supports home-based learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7503 Muncaster Mill Road
Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 869-4500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT