Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Covenant Life School

Private | PK-12 | 285 students

Our school is known for excellent teachers, academics and spiritual formation.

 
 

Living in Gaithersburg

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $221,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 14 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, November 25, 2014

My child attends Covenant Life School in Gaithersburg, MD. I've never experienced such a wonderful sense of community before. The teachers and staff really care for each child and are committed to their success. I volunteer at the school and find that God blesses me every time I serve. I can't imagine my child getting his education anywhere else! CLS is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2014

My daughter loves the school! Her teacher is so fun and creative and really loves the children. I will definitely send all my kids there when they are old enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2014

We wanted a school for our 3 children that would give a well rounded world view instead of just one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2014

All of our kids have gone to Covenant Life School. Two have graduated, and when all is done, yes, they have scholarships, however, what is most important to me, is they desire to pursue God and godliness. I believe Covenant Life and its staff have had a lot to do with their character and love for God and others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2014

A great combination of academic excellence and character development. That is what I love about Covenant Life School. My wife and I were so encouraged and blown away after our first parent-teacher conference. The teacher enthusiastically communicated the abilities and strengths of our child and then spent some time telling us how she could grow in influencing others to pursue godly character. We asked her a few questions on how we as parents could partner with her to contribute in her growth and she gave us so much wise and helpful advice. We both left thinking that we'd love to go back to school and have teachers like her. We highly recommend Covenant Life School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2014

Fantastic moral, academic and social atmosphere. A true scholastic family that works to build the complete student and citizen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2014

We've felt loved and cared for at this school. The teachers have been attentive to our children's needs and have continually sought ways to help them grow academically and spiritually. I love that my children are being taught with a biblical worldview.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2014

Our five children attended and it has been a great experience! The youngest just graduated from CLS. Our kids received individualized care (both academic and spiritual) from teachers and administration alike - oversight and counsel were excellent. Friendships among the students are sweet and genuine. I'm eager to see my grandchildren there too. One is already attending. Our kids easily obtained scholarships because of the quality of the education they received at CLS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2014

The wonderful teachers, strong academic program, and Christ centered foundation make for a terrific educational experience for all of my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2014

We have been so impressed with the individual care one of our sons has received at the school. With transitioning from homeschooling and being diagnosed with a learning disability we were worried our son would be discouraged. On the contrary, he is loving school and looks forward to all the help he is getting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2014

Covenant Life School is a wonderful school! Not only have my children benefitted from the high academic standards, but they have been surrounded by great friends and teachers that care beyond the classroom. I had children in the elementary school who transferred into public middle school into all honors and advanced classes. Upon returning to Covenant Life, they had suffered a significant academic loss, especially in math. This validated my suspicion that CLS's academics are challenging and above par. I love that teachers will speak into my children's lives, not only about life building topics, but also about their character and most importantly their spiritual lives. I equally love the fact that I am invited and encouraged as a parent to participate in my child's school experience. I wouldn't want my children to be anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2014

All 3 of my children attended Covenant Life School and it was a wonderful experience for all of them. They were challenged academically and guided spiritually. They all made lasting friendships many of which continued into their college years and beyond. They were very well prepared for college and were able to get excellent merit-based scholarships due to the academic preparation they received. I would strongly recommend CLS to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2014

When my daughters joined this school in the middle of fifth grade they were a bit resistant to the idea. By the end of the school year they were tightly knit with their classmates and thanking me for putting them in the school. The school community is such a blessing to me and my daughters. As a single Dad I need all the help I can get. The teachers, faculty, other parents, and even the other students genuinely care, pray for, counsel, and love the students and their families. My girls just graduated and we are really going to miss all the love and fun and activity at CLS. Still, because of this school, they have been very well prepared academically and personally to launch into their college careers. As the lowest cost private school in montgomery county, it is a fabulous bargain--easily worth twice the tuition. The relationships, however, are priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2014

My son loves the school! Great Christian School, the teachers are excellent and the staff are very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

CLS faculty and staff love teaching and love their students. They teach from a strong biblical worldview and help all students, from per-school through 12th grade, see the importance of what they're learning through the lens of Scripture. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

We've had two students enroll at Covenant Life. One of our children probably would have done well anywhere, but our other child has ADD and has benefited greatly from the caring, compassionate teachers. Not that it's been a walk in the park by any stretch... CLS academics are tough; this is definitely a college-prep school. However, my child has had a better experience here than I believe she would have had elsewhere, and the teachers, principals and office staff are kind and willing to work with you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Black 7% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 50% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 40% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 5% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 5% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Montgomery College
Various 4 year colleges
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Computer specialist(s)
College counselor(s)
Art teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:05 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • James Leach
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (301) 948-4920

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Internships
  • STEM
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Parent Car Pools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Literary magazine
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Worship Band
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • School Board
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$4000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Montgomery College
Various 4 year colleges
College preparation / awareness offered
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 50%
4 year college - 40%
Military - 5%
Workforce - 5%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7503 Muncaster Mill Road
Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 869-4500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT