Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Summit Hall Elementary School 5

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
This school has helped my daughter a lot she was below her grade level in reading and this school help her she is in her grade level . She comes home happy ever day she said that in school when they get a new student every one is nice and all students are friends . The school must have great teachers that show kids to be nice to each other . I think this school is a great school I would recommended this school

Summit Hall Elementary School 4

Posted March 10, 2011
- a parent
I'm a parent of two Summit Hall educated children. I volunteer once a week. Let me tell you, I am amazed at the dedication of the staff at this school. They do an incredible job given what they have to work with and minimal parental participation. I can't begin to elaborate on the challenges - suffice it to say that I'm sure it's no different at many other schools across the country. The quality of a child's home life makes a ton of difference in their behaviour and all it takes is for one kid to be off the rails for the whole class to be affected. It's a crying shame for the rest of the class, and also for the poor kid not getting enough of the right kind of attention at home. Also, the cultural differences present a whole other set of challenges. I personally believe not enough is being done to integrate the spanish-speaking population. Not that that is the school's responsibility. I wish the hispanic leadership would be much more proactive and not so permissive. Every one's so afraid of offending, no meaningful dialog happens, no progress. What a shame.


Summit Hall Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2011
- a teacher
This is a great school! Great teachers, great students and great families. Summit Hall teachers know their students and meet with administrators on a regular basis to discuss student achievement. When they notice students are struggling, the work even harder to help them improve. The staff work above and beyond their requirement to host after school clubs that they don't get paid for due to severe budget cuts. Now that's commitment!

Summit Hall Elementary School 5

Posted June 28, 2010
- a community member
This is NOT a "low income" area and to imply that all "low income" areas are incompetent when it comes to school staffing is totally ridiculous! Anyhow, my grandaughter who attended PG County Schools before we moved here last year has improved by leaps and bounds at this school. Her reading and math skills have increased tremendously. Previously in PG County they were calling her mother every day to come and get her due to "behavior problems". This past year, not one phone call. So they must be doing something right. And to the parent that put his child in private school and moved to a "low income" area.....please....get a life.

Summit Hall Elementary School 2

Posted May 26, 2010
- a parent
We had a confrontation with the principal over lunch money. Honestly, it was our fault for not keeping our account properly funded, but when we tried to straighten it out, the principal tried to humiliate my wife in front of his staff. Made her feel like she was some ignorant peasant that needs to get a job and pay taxes. Considering both my wife and I have degrees and are professionals in our fields, this was discerning. I m sure this school has its problems due to the lower income area, but everyone needs to be treated professionally and with dignity. Considering we were new to the area and already signed a lease, we decided to place her in a private school. I m sure we are just over protective parents that went to extremes, but I honestly feel that this school is not giving its best.


Summit Hall Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Summit Hall Elementary School 4

Posted May 15, 2007
- a parent
The principal is very involved in all activities and issues. All issues are addressed immediately, they keep the parents informed. the teachers are very caring teachers. Everyone knows my kids by first and last names.

Summit Hall Elementary School 1

Posted May 17, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Summit Hall Elementary School 4

Posted May 30, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Summit Hall Elementary School
101 West Deer Park Rd, Gaithersburg, MD  20877
(301) 840-7127
Last modified Summit Hall Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Summit Hall Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top