Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Garrett Park, MD
Students enrolled: 192
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Holy Cross School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a teacher
Holy Cross Catholic School has been named a 2013 National Blue Ribbon School by the United States Department of Education. Holy Cross is one of only 50 private schools in the country to receive this honor. Holy Cross Catholic School has attained excellence in education by keeping its focus student-centered and on educating the whole child. Faculty works tirelessly to identify the needs of every student through formal and informal assessment, and to ensure that lessons include learning for different modalities and levels of achievement. Holy Cross Catholic School focuses on three main areas of student development: Faith Development, Academic Excellence, and Educating Each Individual Child.

Holy Cross School 5

Posted September 29, 2013
- a parent
Both of our children attend Holy Cross and have been there since Kindergarten. We love the welcoming community and the outstanding academic curriculum. It has been a wonderful experience to see our children grow academically and socially while they develop a strong faith foundation.


Holy Cross School 4

Posted September 29, 2013
- a parent
Holy Cross provides a caring learning environment for children at all levels. The Catholic education is truly the best in the area, and we won the 2013 Blue Ribbon Award to prove it!

Holy Cross School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
Holy Cross has fantastic community spirit and excellent academics as evidenced by being one of only 50 private schools in the country to be named a 2013 National Blue Ribbon school! Additionally, many teachers and the principal have received national awards during the six years our family has been a part of Holy Cross. Our children love this school and so do we!

Holy Cross School 5

Posted February 15, 2012
- a parent
Both of our children attended Holy Cross Elementary School. The proof of the quality of an elementary education is manifested in high school and beyond. Our oldest child was sufficiently prepared by Holy Cross to gain acceptance to one of the best private secondary schools in the D.C. area, take nine AP courses during high school and receive an AP national Scholar award, finish in the top ten students in the high school graduating class, achieve numerous academic distrinctions, and receive a competitive merit scholarship to college. Our youngest child is now attending a D.C. area private secondary school with a reputation for extraordinary academic rigor and excellence, and is attaining honors grades. These accomplishments, in our view, reflect positively on the preparation our children received at Holy Cross Elementary School. (Incidentally, they loved their years at the school and came away with a joy of learning.) --- Former parents


Holy Cross School 5

Posted February 15, 2012
- a parent
I have 5 years experience at Holy Cross School with my two children both starting in Kindergarten. While I have found the academic preparation to be excellent in all areas, the true strength of the school is found in the teachers and parents who honestly believe that the school is their extended family. I know the names of every child, their parents, and sometimes extended family in my children's classes. Through various school, arts, athletics, and social events there is a feeling of community and camaraderie that gives much confidence that my children are safe. The principal sets the tone of the school by being accessible and open for to new ideas. But the most important aspect is that my kids are happy and love school.

Holy Cross School 5

Posted February 14, 2012
- a parent
Holy Cross School is an academically strong, welcoming Catholic school with an outstanding faculty and administration dedicated to educating the whole child. Students are encouraged and guided to work to their fullest potential in all subjects. Instruction is differentiated and extended to meet the needs of students on all levels. Furthermore, technology is integrated into each subject. Many students participate in advanced programs including; Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth, Science Montgomery, Math Kangaroo and many more. Extra curricular activities include: choir, band, musical production, speech club, history club, basketball, soccer, track and cross country. It's a great school and our family loves it!

Holy Cross School 5

Posted October 19, 2010
- a parent
Holy Cross provides an excellent learning environment, strong academics standards and a wealth of extracurricular activities. Classes are small and the students receive individualized attention. Some reviewers criticized the curriculum as being average or below average. That has not been my children's experience. Many of the middle school students take advanced math, and students in the lower grades are encouraged to tackle more challenging reading and math work when appropriate. Activities like the school band (which won an award at the 2010 archdiocesan music festival), choir, and CYO sports provide great opportunities for students. We have found the teachers and staff to be uniformly excellent. There is a strong sense of community among the parents as well as the students. We are very happy with the education our children are receiving and enjoy being part of the Holy Cross community.


Holy Cross School 5

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
This school is outstanding academically and as a warm and friendly community. -A great middle school / high school prep program. Each year grads get into the top private high schools of their choice. -Stong advanced math and science programs. Each year the science projects take top honors in the county science fair. -The classes are small and the student body is diverse.The teachers are knowledgeable and very nurturing and committed. The principal provides very strong leadership. -Terriffic music program with choirs, band and plays/musicals.

Holy Cross School 3

Posted December 28, 2009
- a parent
My child has been attending Holy Cross School from pre-k to second grade, and I have to agree with the other reviewers that this school has a very nurturing environment (especially great for younger children), and a great community of very involved, kind and educated parents. On the positive side, the school is scheduled to have a brand-new gym by January 2010. However, as some have noticed, the curriculum is average or below average, and the teachers tend to teach material aimed at the the lower middle of the class. We repeatedly requested a more rigorous math and reading curriculum, but our pleas have been unanswered. The bottom line - if you like a small school environment, with small class size (around 20 children per class), a nice facilities - this school is great. If your child performs above average and needs more academic challenges - keep on looking!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Cross School
Po Box 249, Garrett Park, MD  20896
(301) 949-1699
Last modified Holy Cross School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Holy Cross School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top