Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Germantown, MD

5 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Butler School 5

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
Our son started at Butler Montessori this past September (at 4 1/2yrs old) for half day primary. We have enjoyed watching him grow and become very independent and confident. We feel like the Montessori approach really suits him. The staff and teachers there are wonderful and I credit them with how quickly he is learning things. They truly are supportive of the whole child and the family, which was evident during some recent stressful family health issues. Their support of our son and our family really helped him continue to thrive during this time. We are looking forward to him continuing on to full day primary next year.

Butler School 5

Posted September 22, 2013
- a parent
We are having a great experience at Butler. The flexible approach of Montessori works very well for our son, who can learn at his own pace, which in some subjects is very advanced and other on par. We have found the teachers to be very responsive, and always willing to take a lot of time to talk with us and formulate the best plan for our son's success. He loves going to school and always comes home happy. He also knows that if there is any problem, it will be addressed so he feels secure. The school addresses the whole child, including social skills. Also, the parent community is warm and welcoming. Finally, the environment is beautiful, which is important to our son who loves the natural world. This is our son's fourth year here and we will be going through Middle School at Butler.


Butler School 5

Posted July 20, 2013
- a parent
We are very glad we found Butler! This is the best school in the area

Butler School 5

Posted February 17, 2013
- a parent
Butler School is an AMAZING place for yur child. They have a phenomonal staff and a wonderful group of children here. The classes are small and the the children are taught how to work together and how to solve difficult situations amoungst themselves. My daughter and I movd down here from Massachusetts and she has truly blossomed since starting at Butler. She has learned better ways to study, she has become more social, she has grown more confident in her abilities and how she goes about solving problems and conflicts. Before going to Butler she struggled socially, and while very smart, she used to get very frustrated if she actually had to work at what she had for homework. Now she has learned the best way for her to learn, and how to ask for help and how to work through difficult problems without getting upset. There are many different activities that the children can do at the school. There are horses on site that are used to teach the children confidence and a different way to incorporate physical education. Its such a wonderful school, and I truly recommend it to any one!

Butler School 5

Posted February 13, 2013
- a parent
Butler school provides a very intelligent environment that is based on balance. Nothing is overemphasized or neglected (including physical health and closeness to nature). Both our boys are striving in it, intellectually, physically and psychologically - and happy children make for happy parents. Our children are on the path to be able to navigate very comfortably in our increasingly global and complex world.


Butler School 5

Posted February 10, 2013
- a parent
We love Butler - the exceptional community, campus, and teachers. Our two daughters are lifelong Montessorians and we plan to continue as long as we can!

Butler School 5

Posted January 21, 2012
- a parent
I have very high regard for the teachers and staff of Butler School. My family has been a part of the Butler School community for the past 10 years. The students are happy because they experience the joy of learning. There are priceless intangibles that become part of each student's character. My 8th grade son is prepared for public high school academically, socially, and emotionally. I am so thankful that my son has developed the skills needed to meet the demands of a rigorous, enriching Intermediates curriculum.

Butler School 5

Posted November 25, 2011
- a parent
Great school and nurturing environment for a child to grow. we have two kids here and it is wonderful to see them blossom there. It's definitely worth every penny.


Butler School 5

Posted January 10, 2011
- a parent
Butler School offers a premier education for the development of the whole child. My children have been there for 10 years since they were 3 years. The Montessori education at Butler School has helped them develop the tools they need for living in today's world: critical, creative, and independent thinking; a sense of self and how they fit in their community; and respect for themselves, their peers, and the adults in their world. Butler School is, indeed, a Great School.

Butler School 5

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
It is a wonderful, nurturing and learning environment. It is a school different from others where the students acquire not only a deep level of academic knowledge, but develop self esteem, and learn to become responsible and mature individuals. It is a school for and of life.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Butler School
15951 Germantown Road, Germantown, MD  20874
(301) 977-6600
Last modified Butler School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Butler School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top