Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Neelsville Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2014

I am a student in the 6th grade I do not like this school very much, the bus drivers cuss, my classes are too easy, there are too many people who aren't there to learn, most teachers only care about doing there job and not really helping students, we're broke, kids are violent, teachers do nothing to break up fights, and the other people in lots of my classes are not in my level!!!


Posted March 16, 2011

This is a great school with incredible teachers & effective principal and great diversity in student population. AYP (MSA) - This is one of the 3 middle school in the cluster that made the AYP in 2009-10. No other Germantown Middle School managed that. SPORTS - Very strong sports teams and poms. SERVICE ORGANIZATIONS and CLUBS - National Junior Honor Society, Hispanic Honors Society, SGA, Green Team, Chess Club, Math Team, Horse Riding, Drama Club, Drumline, Good Knights etc... There is something for everyone. COMMUNICATION - A ton of info on the school website (finalist for best of MCPS web), which is constantly getting updated, a list serve, weekly Connect Eds, morning announcements are on the website. Edline gets updated frequently, Teachers are very responsive with emails and phonecalls. PTSA newsletter is online, as well as gets emailed. DISCIPLINE - Principal is tough and transparent. Incidents at the school are reported & communicated openly. Bullying and discipline problems not tolerated. Problem students & their parents may be inconvenienced ACADEMICS - One of top MD schools in JHU-CTY. "Straight A" dinners for students. Many magnet HS school acceptances/ wp.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2011

I used to attend this public school, and all I can say is it was terrible. There was horrible bullying, children skipped classes all the time, the teachers were incompetent pushovers. On the parents visiting day, where parents could sit in the classrooms during class, my parents caught my advanced level math teacher making many mistakes. There was drinking, drug use, and many pregnancy rumors about SIXTH GRADERS. I left after two months to be homeschooled and am now trying to transfer schools.


Posted July 22, 2010

hi i am currently a student at neelsville and i love it but there is some fights and flaws at the school but the principal handles it. Overall the school is great!


Posted May 26, 2010

Strict and effective Principal. Teachers are just amazing. Parent involvement will be given low scores. While parents will participate in fund raisers and such, they are not there in significant numbers for school volunteering. The PTSA has grown from 0 to around 60 in the last 2 years and that's a good sign.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2010

I'm a student attending Neelsville, and currently in the 6th grade. I will admit the school has some flaws, but nothing is perfect. Overall, the teachers are very helpful, but at the same time strict. The principal is very tough, yet she cares about the students and the staff. I have a lot of great friends that go to this school, and have met many others. I'm looking forward to my next 2 years at this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2010

I am a parent of a current (caucasion) 8th grader, who is a honors student after coming into this school from private school in 7th grade. He has received better instruction here, more help offered and genuine caring than at the private school. My husband and I have a great relationship with the principal and every single one of his teachers, because we make it clear to them that they can contact us anytime! We make ourselves available and back them 100%. Edline is always updated and emails answered usually within hours. The principal may not be the lovey dovey type personality, she's tough and she cares about every single one of her students. The poor reviewers...those people are more than likely not involved at all and are relying solely on the school to do everything for them. Schools these days just can't do that nor should they have to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

hi im a student attending this school and i love it.the whole school ,the teachers ,and student body.im a 6th grade and i'm looking forward to my next 2 years
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2008

My child has been a student at Neelsville for the last 2 years and has done an outstanding job. The principal keeps us informed about weekly events and has informed us about the IB programs in the area. My daughter has been on the honor roll for the last 2 years and we are pleased with her prgress. She went to Montreal with her class last year and had a fantastic time. The trip was well planed. Kudos to the staff at Neelsville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

awful! The principle and her staff are terrible and shouldn't be allowed to continue!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

I snatched my daughter out of this school the second week of February. She is now thriving in another middle school. The atmosphere in this school is toxic, and it start from the top. I did my best to inform the necessary powers...hopefully this school will experience a complete overhaul in leadership and educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

Hi im a student attending neelsvile and im not impressed with the staff present. They seem to be more concerned about underachieving students and test scores not the student as an individual. Teachers at Neelsvile dont seem interseted in wether the student seeks for help and i concered about his/her grades. I my self did not attend Neelsvile for a very long period of time and attends a far more concerned school ], which staff are trained and know what they are doing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2007

I am counting the days until my daughter will be out of there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

I am not impressed with the principal or vice principal either. However, the teachers that work with my child last year was very intuitive on how he was progressing through out the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2007

I am not very impressed because there exists a significant lack of communication between parents and teachers/administration. Teachers and staff do not return phone calls and/or e-mails nor do they initiate them as required. Follow-through is non-existent and information is not disseminated in a timely fashion nor are parents apprised of school incidents on a regular basis. As opposed to the other reviewer, I feel the school does NOT invest enough concern or attention into the problem students by following through with the students and/or communicating to parents the student's achievement levels or a lack thereof. Furthermore, the edline system is not consistent or timely updated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2006

This school is not very challenging. The principal is not very effective and does not have good rapport with the parents. They seem to be more concerned about underachieving students and test scores not the student as an individual. It is easy to fall through the cracks here. I am not impressed with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 37% 12%
Black 36% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 6%
White 10% 42%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11700 Neelsville Church Rd
Germantown, MD 20876
Phone: (301) 353-8064

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Montgomery Village Middle School
Montgomery Village, MD



Ets Chaiyim School
Montgomery Village, MD


Living Grace Christian School
Montgomery Village, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT