Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School 5

Posted June 28, 2016
- a community member
MLK has been a great place for our three daughters. I love that it is not over-crowded and the teachers know all the kids' names. It feels more like a private school. So many of the teachers go above and beyond for the students. My girls have thrived and done well in all their classes, clubs and sports. I'm thankful we are in the MLK community.

Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School 1

Posted May 29, 2015
- a parent
Run from this school, administrators and some teachers don't care or communicate (there clueless), if your child is gifted your better off going to Neelsville. This is one of the worse schools in Germantown, MD.


Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School 5

Posted July 15, 2011
- a parent
This school is definitely the right one for my son. He has done great in all his classes even classes that he was not sure he would do well in when he signed up for them. He has been on the honor roll every quarter since he came to MLK as a sixth grader. He will start 8th grade in the fall with a full load of GT classes. I have contacted most of his teachers over the last two years and they are always responsive and ready to answer questions. My son was a little nervous about taking a foreign language and waited until 7th grade, but his teacher (who happens to be the foreign lanuage chair for the school) was wonderful and gave him all the help he needed to suceed. It would have been nice if the principal had stayed at MLK for all 3 years my son will have attended, but he moved on the Senca Valley High School for the 2010-2011 school year.

Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School 5

Posted May 26, 2009
- a student
i am a student at mlk middle school in 8th grade soon going to high school. not only staff are great but so are the student they welcoming, and just great. in my own opinion i think it one of the greatest schools in montgomery county......

Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School 5

Posted October 06, 2008
- a parent
I love MLK! Things have really changed for the better there. It is a very diverse, caring environment with excellent teachers. My child has really excelled in the past year thanks to the all of the programs available.


Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School 4

Posted August 08, 2008
- a parent
This school has amazing teachers who really care about the students. They offer a lot of afterschool programs for the children. The new administration has been very supportive.

Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School 5

Posted January 28, 2008
- a parent
This school is outstanding. Great teachers, good education its just the perfect middle school! I never hear my daughter complain about it.

Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School
no rating

Posted August 29, 2007
- a parent
MLK is going to be what your son/daughter makes of it. There is plenty of opportunity for your child to excel. If you have any concerns for your child you need to go to the administration with it. They are always willing to listen. They can't always be in every classroom or hallway every second of the day. Parents have to remember to do their part too.


Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School 2

Posted August 24, 2007
- a parent
Everyone has their perks about many things. I will just be thankful when my daughter completes 8th grade. I have another daughter who has completed MLK and is moving on to SVH. Prayerfully all goes well there.

Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School
no rating

Posted July 01, 2007
- a student
I am a former student of this school and it has been alright. Nothing too much to complain about. My past year at MLK was a lot different than the others because of the new principal. He brought a lot of new rules and techniques to improve the school. I would have wished for a little more privalages(sp?), but if you want to eliminate bad behavior, you have to go to some extremes. Good teachers, some weird substitutes.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School
13737 Wisteria Dr, Germantown, MD  20874
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (301) 353-8080
Last modified Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top