Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marley Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2014

This is the worse school I have ever worked with. I am sitting in the office now getting my sons transfer papers and the office staff is agitating a student that is already upset. There is an epidemic of kids that cut themselves and administration does nothing to bullys but then punishes the child that is bullied after they have had enough. There is a few good teachers that want to make learning exciting but the rest of them need a new profession because they are letting down our kids :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

i am home schooled and i rather go back to Marley middle and that is saying something i love Marley!!!!


Posted August 30, 2012

I currently have a seventh and sixth grader at this school. Last year we had problems with my son being bullied. He was punched twice. Once for getting the answer right when the other child didn't. I don't think the staff handled it properly. I think that they brush some of it under the rug. I am hoping that this will be a better year. Other staff there including guidance counselors I am extremely pleased with and they are very willing to help. My sixth grader is ADHD and severe anxiety so I foresee this year I will really need the counselors help. From what my son tells me there is a lot of fighting in the classrooms and it is disruptive. My oldest daughter went there around eight years ago and she said there was a lot of fighting back then as well. Mostly with the boys. I think the school could improve upon somethings. Last I checked there was zero tolerance when it comes to bullying in Anne Arundel county. I think part of the problem comes from when they redistrict and changed what areas feed into Marley Middle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

I have a 6th grader at Marley this year and have had a great experience with the school and staff. Not only do the teachers help the students they have been proactive in problem areas, with after school help on Tues and Thur. This is my second child to go through Marley and so far I have been very pleased with my child's education. Between the parent conect and after school progams, it is hard not to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

I agree that the staff do NOTHING but sit back and watch kids FIGHT violently in the hallwalls, bully each other and act like animals. The teachers don't help students that need extra attention with classwork. My child has been going there for 3 years now and it hasn't gotten any better. It's really a shame how bad the staff is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

They do nothing in regards to kids being bullied I have been to the school numerous times and its still not handled yet. It makes you want to homeschool instead of dealing with this everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

I have a first time student at this school. The facility itself is excellent. Very bright and certainly cheery. Definitely an atmosphere conducive to learning. The teachers are excellent. All are extremely uplifting to my daughter and are always there to help. Teacher schedule after school tutoring or help every week. The support provided can not be matched. All are involved and concerned about your childs education. Simply put, the teacher and school are doing a fine job. I as a parent have ready access via email to all teachers my daughter sees daily. There is no reason a parent could not and should not be involved with their childs education. My daughter is being challenged daily with her studies and is exceeding with honor roll status. Wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

My son is in 7th grade and in his second year at Marley. He has special needs and I was so afraid to send him here! I actually thought about moving just to be in a different school district. Mr. Buckley has done a fantastic job with the school. I am so impressed with my son's education and the standard in which this school conducts is daily activities. As for the teachers....can we clone Mr. Byland? He is simply outstanding in every way. Just ask any parent of a child in his class, he is terrific. The school has improved 100% from what I remember as a middle schooler. This is a completely different school. You are still going to have some little problems, we are dealing with 6, 7th and 8th graders, but they are kept to a minimum. Keep up the great work; I have another child attending in two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

I am a student at Marley Middle School and I love it! The teachers are nice and caring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2009

I am currently in 7th Grade at Marley and i love it!! the Teachers help you when you do not get something! they will work with you untill you get it and they are very understanding! Marley has alot of activitys/clubs that you can do after school on Thursdays and they also have tutoring on wendsdays! i couldnt ask for better help!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2009

Marley School rank very high in my book, I have had several social ajustment with my daugther moving around the country and trying to get her settle has been an great challange,but nevertheless the staff we're and is on the ball with facing the different unbalancement the student's go through on a daily base. And just for something as small as caring about the wholeness of the child not just the educational side, is priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

My son goes to Marley Middle School and we love it! He went to a catholic school last year but was having trouble with writing which is in every class. They did not have the resources to help him. We had an IEP done with the County Schools this past summer and he was diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome. He has a lot of help at school and is doing great, academically and socially. We love Marley Middle School, and see him changing every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

I'm so Thankfull that my son made it out of the school in one piece & alive.I can't believe that parents actually like this school.I for one think it should be shut down. My son was jumped twice in the school and he was treated unfairly.Cause he has a record of being suspened.Cause he is ADHD and OCD and they wont lesson.My son was knocked out with a teacher right their and he was blamed for it.I'm really tough on my son cause he needs to be corrected.But this gets me when a child grabs your child and knocks him out and it takes a teacher and a friend to pull the kid off.But yet my son gets blamed cause he poked the kids sholder and he knows the kid he was playing around.School is a joke & dangerious.Everyone I know hates the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

This school is excellent it has a lot of clubs for children and extra curriculum activities. The kids also have freedom and have really educational trip that they can go on tis school diserve a 8/10
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2005

This school is above many that I have had to deal with in the Maryland school district. My son is a special needs child and was met with open arms and minds in how to best help him. The leaders in this school are very accessable and more than willing to meet each students needs. Having a special needs child I have had to deal with many school principals and guidance staff. This school has taken away the stress that I usually have to go through and provided the care that he needs. This to me shows a great deal of concern for the students no matter what the circumstances may be. Student safety is a top priority as well. There is nothing at this point that I could say reflecting a negative response. Other schools and school systems could learn a lesson from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2004

All of the staff should have to take a sensitivity course dealing with all children from all walks of life. Administration at this school are a pleasure to deal with MOST of the time. I believe that the staff that I have dealt with were professional and caring enough, for instance, the guidance staff, Ms. Ruffin for one. A wonderful, caring lady. There are others whose names escape me right now, but carry on and keep up the good, caring work, all of you.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 42%
Black 25% 35%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10 Davis Ct
Glen Burnie, MD 21060
Phone: (410) 761-0934

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Marley Glen School
Glen Burnie, MD



Granite Baptist School
Glen Burnie, MD



St Pauls Lutheran School
Glen Burnie, MD


Elvaton Christian Academy
Millersville, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT