Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Goddard, MD
Students enrolled: 192
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lanham Christian School 5

Posted June 19, 2014
- a parent
In response to some of the some of the reviews about LCS: 1. Most educators and educationally astute parents know that the most important aspect of education is not finishing the curriculum, but making sure that students truly grasp and master concepts. This is especially true in upper elementary that focuses on complex concepts and not just rote memorization of facts. 2. LCS is one of only 2 private schools in the county that has received state certification. Parents moving their children to other schools should research the impact of the lack of certification on their child's education. 3. The administration is working hard to maintain academic integrity. Students are required to earn grades, they are not just given A's and B's because their parents are paying tuition. 4. Elementary students have daily recess. . They also have weekly art, music, PE, computer and library classes. Middle/High school students can participate in a number of electives , such as, choir, hand bells, yearbook, drama, art, Spanish, and computer. (Anything stated to the contrary is simply no true). 5. Standardized test scores show students are learning! My children will be staying at LCS!

Lanham Christian School 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
My children graduated from Lanham Christian School. I couldn't think of sending them anywhere else. I hold the teachers and administration in the highest regard. The teachers work diligently to provide a high level of education including college prep classes. They are always willing to stay and help any student requesting help in any class. Also, the administration worked tirelessly to insure the school become state certified. The school teaches Godly, academic excellence to any student willing to strive to achieve his/her best. I love this school and encourage anyone interested in sending your child/children to a school which promotes Godly, Christian character and academic excellence to seek out this school today.


Lanham Christian School 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a community member
I am a graduate of Lanham Christian School(LCS). Having attended LCS 5 years prior to graduation, I was involved in multiple extracurricular activities such as: volleyball, softball basketball, choir and drama. I also was a member of my class student council for my jr and sr year. The faculty, staff and administration played supportive roles in my academic and personal life,most of these relationships are still active today. Personally, I could not have chosen a greater Christian school to attend and graduate.

Lanham Christian School 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
In response to posts here that claim LCS has very little to offer, some of the accolades include: 1. Only one of TWO private schools in PG County with State Certification. 2. AP classes in English and Calculus, Honors classes (no need SAT elective; coursework prepares) 3. National Honors Society chapter. 4. All teachers in high school have a B.A. or B.S. degree or higher from an accredited university (all teachers are required to have at least 125 college credit hours, in accordance with MD state law). 5. 80% of graduates accepted into colleges; many with full scholarships. 6. Basketball Division II State Champions, Volleyball Division II State Champions (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014) 7. High recognition high school drama program at the Folger Shakespeare Festival. 8. Elementary electives: art, music, Spanish, computer, and PE 9. Junior high / high school electives: art, choir, handbells, chess, drama, yearbook, journalism 10. Caring and loving faculty who go beyond the duties of classroom education to teach the value of Christ-centered relationships

Lanham Christian School 1

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
The board and Administration at LCS have truly run this school into the ground. Their decision to terminate good teachers with no explanation other than finances...the board/administration has terminated the 4th grade teacher and then have the nerve to have outgoing third grade parents come to school for a farce of a meeting, The offer from administration was to offer my child a teacher for half a day and then to have teacher assistants have my child complete paperwork and music and P.E. for the remainder of the day....half-time education for full price tuition.. We have decided to move on and apply to Berwyn Baptist School.


Lanham Christian School 1

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
I have been a parent at LCS for many years and I am pulling my children out after this school year. I am disappointed in the decisions made by the board to get rid of good teachers and keep others who don't even complete the curriculum for the year. They have shown no consideration for the parents who pay tuition, instead they continue to cut and replace teachers with lack of experience. There is no outlet for the students, gym is once a week, and there are no extra curriculum activities. If LCS doesn't get it together, I see their doors closing very soon!

Lanham Christian School 1

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
No longer a great school because of financial issues that the Board refuses to share with parents. For $7,000 you get books, that's it. They promise the world and give your kids NOTHING--they are not ashame of that fact. No recess, cafeteria, P.E., choir, clubs, sports, art, music, choir, band class, HS Math Teacher, etc. The kids are unhappy, depressed and are not having a fun school experience. We really don't know if they are really learning anything because they have gotten rid of the great teachers and Dean of Students. Kids are out of control becuse they don't get to do anything. My family is leaving and will just drive further out for a great private school. Sad to see the school fall apart.

Lanham Christian School 1

Posted May 21, 2014
- a parent
This school is not compassionate at all especially to be a Christian school. They want you to understand why they fired a handful of teachers on the second week of school, or why my child has had 4 different math teachers in 1 year, or why there is no SAT prep but chess as a school elective, or why the principal has been out for 2 months, or how they mislead us and told their parents with was going to get this great coach for the basketball team and that never happened either but everytime I have a issue with one of their teachers there is NO resolve from administration. They allow their teachers to do anything they want anf their teachers are very harsh, petty and unprofessional. When one of children does anything it is addressed by me but when one of teachers is inappropriate or wrong NOTHING is done on numerous occasions. As a small school, you would think they would be concerned with their retention rate. Because of your lack concern about for your parents which are your customers...you are losing 5 tuition payment for next year because you show no concern to compromise with 2 parents on numerous occasions. I give this school 3 more years.


Lanham Christian School 1

Posted May 20, 2014
- a community member
This is not a caring school. They take everything out of proportion. They will take a good student and punish them severely for one simple mistake. People are not perfect and this school fails to realize that. They want themselves seen as caring people but in reality all they care about is image and do not try to understand where people are coming from. They claim to be a school of Christian character but Christians reach out. They don't try to understand a problem they just simply kick you out. They have no nurse, no guidance counselor, no SAT prep class, no cafeteria. The students eat in their classroom and aren't allowed to socialize with people other than the ones in their grade. During lunch time.They have no gym. During P.E, the students are outside in the parking lot, with a make shift basketball court. The only sports team they have are Girl's volleyball and Boy's basketball. But the games were held in the gym that belongs to the Bible college across the street which is now closed down. This school does not prepare you for college or the real world. Most of the administration are like the way previously described but there are only a handful that actually do care.

Lanham Christian School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
My son is curently in K-5 and has been going to this school for two years. i love the teaches and staff as well as the curriculum. The teacher to student ratio is 1:14 compared to 1:25 in the area public schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lanham Christian School
8400 Good Luck Road, Goddard, MD  20706
(301) 552-9102
Last modified Lanham Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Lanham Christian School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top