Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Mary Catholic School

Private | K-8 | 256 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hagerstown

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2014

St. Mary Catholic School is a faith centered, welcoming community that is the ideal place to educate my son. He is not only learning math facts, grammar rules, and reading comprehension, but he is also developing spiritually in his faith. As a graduate of SMCS I would not have chosen any other school, public or private, for him to go to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

I have two children that attend St. Mary Catholic School and they both absolutely love it. I like that they keep me updated with their interim reports. I just feel really good about this school overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2013

All of the staff here is to be praised. The teachers and the nurses have really been a help to me and my child in the past year. Not only do I feel my child is safe here because of these people, but I feel that he is receiving the best education possible to prepare him for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

St. Mary Catholic School is a faith centered, welcoming community that is the ideal place to educate my son. He is not only learning math facts, grammar rules, and reading comprehension, but he is also developing spiritually in his faith. As a graduate of SMCS I would not have chosen any other school, public or private, for him to go. Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2012

I think the school community is fantastic and that our children are receiving a very good education. I really like how they keep the parents involved and the safe community in general!


Posted November 15, 2012

The community at St. Mary Catholic School is fantastic! I believe our children are receiving an outstanding education. Great atmosphere too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2010

Fantastic school! Fantastic principal, teachers and students!!! The best school in Washington County. Transferred from public and best move we ever made. Our child is learning so much more. Strong foundations, real classwork, the way it should be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2010

This school is the best school in Washington County (for grades k-8). It's an amazing school that teaches you so much. I highly recommend taking a tour and having your child shadow for a day if they're interested. I'm sure they'll love it and learn a lot!! I'm going into high school now but I loved St Mary.


Posted June 24, 2008

This is one of the best elementary/middle schools in the area. All of my children have attended. St. Mary stresses the basics and their math, science and English classes are exceptional and prepares children well for high school. The new principal is wonderful. Faith, morality and discipline are highly stressed (a great thing even for those who are not Catholic.) It may not have all the bells and whistles as the public schools but it offers much more - a firm grounding in academics in an environment of loving support. Do you children a favor and consider St. Mary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

St. Mary's is a wonderful school! They offer excellent academics, plenty of extracurricular activities such as volleyball, softball, basketball, and drama productions. The principal and staff are all extremely dedicated to the entire school population and the mission of catholic education. There are many volunteers involved in the school on a daily basis and serve a very important role in the school's success. My children have been here for 2 years and we are thankful every day that we made the move. This is a great school that deserves great children to be enrolled here!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 45%
Asian 9% N/A
Hispanic 3% 10%
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 1% 40%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Baltimore
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

218 W Washington St
Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone: (301) 733-1184

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Marshall Street School
Hagerstown, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT