Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North East Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2009

Hay I'm a 6th grader at north east middel school in Maryland and it's a realy good school and they have to though help kids like my with there reading realy arm help in math also but I rate the school 9 yeah
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2009

One of the worst schools i have ever seen bad location bad teaching bad everything
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2008

I love this school there are so many people and so noce teachers. Already, I have learned a lot by going to this school for only a few months now and I think that I will learn A LOT more than what I already know from the past. The teachers are so nice and they have really taught me a lot. I never want to leave this school before I go to high school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2008

My daughter has just started her first year of middle school but I am pretty impressed with the school and staff for the 6th grade. The grades to go program is an excellent way to track her grades and progress. All of her teachers have been easy to communicate with and have all reached out to me. They keep in touch with most parents by email and do a great job of notifying us of upcoming events, projects, quizzes and tests and due dates on such assignments. I have had a good experience so far and will let you know later in the year how I feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2008

a good school with great teachers =]
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2008

I feel that this school has a excellent curriculum which helps to prepare my child for high school and college. My son complains that he would like to see more after school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

The variety of sports for the children to participate is poor and the communication regarding the safety of the school is almost absent. Research the school before sending your child here. The math and reading scores are low and it is almost imperative to move out of this area if you want a decent education for your child. Good Luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

This is a great school, but does not have enough parent involvement! Teachers are of great quality, and the principals are very involved. It is a very safe school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 42%
Black 7% 35%
Hispanic 3% 12%
Two or more races 3% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 East Cecil Ave
North East, MD 21901
Phone: (410) 996-6210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Tome School
North East, MD







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT