Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. John's Episcopal School 5

Posted May 05, 2015
- a parent
Wonderful school! I have two children who have been attending St. John's for more than 7 years and the school has done an outstanding job preparing them for high school and beyond. They have an outstanding academic program overall with a very strong and dedicated staff and faculty. The foundation they establish for the students is pretty remarkable. The technology is very advanced when I compare with friends and family from other area schools. The campus is always clean and well maintained thanks to a very dedicated plant management team. And the head of school, Tom Stevens, is a one of a kind with such passion and dedication to operate a best of class school yet takes the time to know every students name.

St. John's Episcopal School 5

Posted May 04, 2015
- a community member
I have known of St. John's Episcopal School for over 20 years. Its students are top notch and follow the mission of the school. With the leadership and faculty in place, I would not hesitate to send my children there (but mine are grown). To prospective parents: Do put St. John's on your list of schools to visit and to which to apply.


St. John's Episcopal School 5

Posted May 04, 2015
- a community member
St. John's takes each child where he/she is and works to ensure that no stone is left unturned when helping him/her find success. Students at St. John's are happy, engaged, and challenged. The bar is held high, but because of constant encouragement and individual attention, no student is left behind. St. John's graduates are well prepared for high schools of their choosing, experienced in public speaking, and offered a variety of field trips and special programs that contribute to their leaving as well-rounded, confident individuals. It's a wonderful Pre-K through 8 school that lays a strong foundation for secondary education.

St. John's Episcopal School 5

Posted April 03, 2015
- a parent
St. John's Episcopal School offers excellence! The quality of academics, amount of personalized attention, extra curricular offerings and overall philiosphy of the school makes St. John's stand out above the rest. Our youngest child is a current 5th grader at St. John's and the difference is profoundly evident from the other school our older two children attended. At St. John's, our youngest has florished under expert educatonal instruction and the genuine nurturing values of the faculty.

St. John's Episcopal School 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
We decided to enroll our daughter in the St. John s Pre-K 3 class when traditional child care was not working for us. I assumed we would enroll her in St. John s for two years of Pre-K, and when the time rolled around for kindergarten, we would place her in a Montgomery County public school. However, the teachers and staff at St. John s have made our decision to stay with St. John s well worth it. Our daughter has had a wonderful time meeting new friends, and doing the activities that the teachers and staff painstakingly take the time to plan. We appreciate the small class sizes, and love that the teachers make our daughter comfortable and happy. We have also witnessed firsthand the success of the school s work on character development, as all of the students seem exceptionally polite, and friendly. Not only has St. John s provided a warm and fun environment, but it does not hurt that our daughter has really learned a lot in the course of her education. I never thought I would send my kids to a private school, because I could not understand the extra cost, but after two wonderful years, my husband and I have decided that no matter what, our daughter will stay for the long run.
2 people found this helpful


St. John's Episcopal School 5

Posted March 30, 2015
- a parent
St. John's Episcopal School is a wonderful caring & nurturing environment where students are gently pushed to their fullest potential by teachers who instill values that build confidence, social skills, and the importance of giving back to the community. This is our ninth year as part of the STJES community and we are very pleased with the well-balanced education our children are receiving ... we've observed our son & daughter stretch themselves academically and socially and spiritually. Opportunities to participate in declamation day, MAESA Fair, National Spanish Exam, Maryland State Solo & Ensemble Music Festival, International Festival, weekly Chapel service, Model United Nations, and community service trips abroad to New Mexico, Costa Rica and Belize ... and more to help develop the "whole" child! STJES is vitally committed to graduating students of character & faith, and prepares and inspires students for life-long success. Our son is well prepared to attend Georgetown Preparatory High School in the Fall. Our two children have blossomed at STJES! You have to visit the school to understand what a truly wonderful place it is.
2 people found this helpful

St. John's Episcopal School 5

Posted December 15, 2014
- a parent
Our sons have been at STJES since 2009. We are very pleased. They have both grown academically and benefit from the small class size and accelerated instruction. They have also grown as young men, which I think comes partly from STJES s emphasis on character. Our older son went to Costa Rica last year with his class and will go to Belize this year. We are confident that STJES has prepared him well for high school.
2 people found this helpful

St. John's Episcopal School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
My son has been in St. John since Kindergarten, he is in third grade now. It has been wonderful. There are a lot of great things about the school, but the number one on my list is how we feel safe in this school. The faculty and staff care about the students like they were their own children. Academic is excellent. We don't have to worry about this, the teachers made sure there is no kid left behind. I agree with previous post regarding the students, we too are very impress with their politeness.


St. John's Episcopal School 5

Posted June 08, 2014
- a parent
If you are looking for results from a school I can strongly state that as far as academics and supporting the development of good kids are concerned the school has succeeded admirably. There are many extremely strong teachers that can individualize their education to the child, most of which have been there for a long time, and beyond that they care strongly about them. The administration has been stable for the last three years, which has helped through the rough economic times that have impacted enrollment recently. In addition, having gifted kids, they are willing to work with the parents to try to find the best approach. Nothing is perfect at any school, but I feel this one is trustworthy in responding to hard questions and more than competent in getting good and sometimes great results. One small unsold fact is the aftercare program has been wonderful for our children in large part due to the lady that runs it.

St. John's Episcopal School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
St. John's Episcopal School in Olney, Maryland is more than a school. A school is simply brick and mortar. St. John's is a family - a welcoming community. When you enter you get a warm feeling everyone associated within the St. John's community is totally committed to helping students become well-rounded, and well prepared for future educational opportunities and a chance to make a difference in the world. The students are challenged and they respond - both in the classroom and the local and global community. We love the teachers and staff are so passionate about what they do every single day and their responsiveness when questions or issues arrive. Make no mistake; St. John's is not perfect. They strive to be, but more importantly they teach the diverse student body to accept mistakes and be tolerant of others, as well as giving everything you do your best effort. The classroom sizes are small by design and it really gives each teacher the opportunity to get to know the strengths and weaknesses of each student. We are blessed to be in such a wonderful learning atmosphere and embracing community. St. John's is an oasis for those looking for educational and spiritual harmony.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. John's Episcopal School
3427 Olney Laytonsville Road, Olney, MD  20832
(301) 774-6804
Last modified St. John's Episcopal School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. John's Episcopal School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top