Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Barnaby Manor Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 507 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 8, 2010

This is my childrens first year at Barnaby Manor. The Principal, the teachers and staff make a great team. The parents are very well informed about anything happening at the school and the after school enrichment programs are a plus. Overall I believe Barnaby Manor is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

I think Barnaby Manor is the best school for my child. After leaving Genisus Learning Center he as learned so much. I am really impressed about all the reading and homework my child gets and he really enjoys reading now. The 25 book club at this school is the best thing since sliced bread. I love it. My child has more homework for the week and on Vac time than my 13 and 11 year olds who go to school in VA Beach. My son is in the K. I love Barnaby Manor. Keep up the great work. I will spread the word.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

I absolutely love this school. The Prinicipal, Vice Principal even the office staff are great. My son is leaving to go to another school this year although it's right down the street I am really going to miss the outstanding attention and education he received from BMES. I'm even thinking of applying for special premission so that he can stay. I hate moving - I will apply for special permission - After what I'm going to tell them about BMES they will have no choice but to let my son stay. If you are thinking about this school for your child. Don't think any further - Go for it you won't be sorry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2007

My son has been a student at Barnaby Manor Elementary school for two school years. My overall experience with the teaching staff has been spectacular. The teachers seem to go out of their way to contribute to your child's success. The enthusiasm they exhibit clearly demonstrates their love for teaching. Over the past two academic school years, I have been greatly impressed with the principal, Ms. Rhonda Gladden. While it is obvious that the school is in reform, the changes have been beneficial to the children. There seems to be an overwhelming focus on the MSA. The teachers and administration spend a great deal of time preparing children to take this very important test. I have been extremely impressed with the tutoring programs offered for the children with a focus on reading and math. It has been great to see the children pulling up the test scores. I love Barnaby.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2005

I have three son's that attend this school. This was there second year the first year i wasn't impress with the teachers. I was in the status of transfering them when i heard they were geting alot of new teacher and boy was that a big improvement. Two of my son's made amazing progress. Mr. Bell the 6th grade teacher was wonderful. She made them responsible and will to learn more everyday. My other child made honor roll all year long for the first time in his life. I would say i was not too impress with the pre-k my son had a thing with loosing anything given. His progress was never mention unless i ask never got any call from her unless i called. Eventally i end up missing graduation for my pre-k student there. For the most part 6th and 3rd were great. Well done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

I have two sons attending this school. The principal, guidance counsel and staff all treat the kids with respect and keep the kids in line. Ms. Barbee was definitely a blessing to the school. She has moved on to bigger and better things. She will definitely be missed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2005

The Principal, Assistant Principal, teachers, nurse, office staff are all great. My son will be leaving the school this year to start middle school next year. I'm going to miss him being part of the Barnaby Manor Family. The teachers and staff are just so caring and understanding and treated my son so well the entire time he attended the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2005

The Principal, Vice Principal and staff all show they care. They address each child by their name. I would have to agree they did make it happen during test time. Ms. Barbee is the best; she greets the children every morning. The teachers are great, so many of them go out of their way to help those kids. I have been with this school for 7 years and this school has truly been a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 89% 36%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Asian 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 3%
White 1% 43%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2411 Owens Rd
Oxon Hill, MD 20745
Phone: (301) 702-7560

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Genisus Learning Center
Temple Hills, MD





St. Ignatius Loyola School
Fort Washington, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT