Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Children's Learning Center

Private | PK-5 | 86 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Rockville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $320,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,550.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2013

I love this school! They have wonderful teachers who don't just teach your kids but loves them. All my children went their for preschool and when it was time to go onto elementary school, they all tested at least a year ahead of their peers. They screen children for speech and language issues. They have a peanut free enviornment that puts any parent worries at ease. We are not jewish, but their program reinforces the belief in God. Plus, they learn about the Jewish faith and how to respect all other faiths. As a mom of four, sending my kids to CLC was one of the best decision I ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

I have two children at CLC and we've had a very positive experience. When we moved to the area, we were looking for a school that would provide part-time childcare with a great preschool setting for our older child and warm loving care for our infant. We found just that. The teacher to student ratio is excellent, especially in the infant and toddler rooms, and there is very little staff turnover. The school truly has a "family" feel, where everyone knows all the children. We love the play based nursery school curriculum. There is no question that our oldest will be ready for kindergarten, as reading, math, and important social skills are integrated into the day, but the emphasis is on fun and play. We also love all the outdoor space, large indoor gym, and big classrooms, which allow the kids to get their energy out! The flexible beforecare and aftercare options have worked out well for our family. The only downsides for us have been the cost and the fact that compared to standard day cares, the school has many days off (it follows the MCPS calendar, plus has extra days off for Jewish holidays). Our family is not Jewish, but we feel very welcome there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2011

I had 2 kids that went to CLC for the past several years. While I was pleased with the teachers warmth and kindness, I do have to agree with the comment posted on September 7 that most of the teachers were, in fact, unprofessional and most of them did not have a degree in education or even a teaching diploma. I also found the CLC contract to be unfair towards parents and I was ripped-off by the school. You can go and compare the contract and terms with ANY Jewish school in the area and see that I am right. I know for a fact that other parents were not satisfied with the management as well, and called the way they were operating in the office "Shady". Not to talk about the outrages prices and all the other fundraisers/donations, etc. that we were required to attend and donate regularly (way too much to my opinion). While the director may give you a good first impression as a warm and kind educator, she is FAR from it once you see her true colors. I will not send my third kid there for sure, and I will not recommend this school to anyone I care about. I think that the last commenter just started at the school and didn't have a chance to have a full impression of the school yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

WE COULD NOT BE HAPPIER WITH THIS PRECIOUS SCHOOL. Please do not pay attention to the previous review because this school excels in every way it possibly could. The teachers are absolutely oustanding for many reasons: (1) nurturing; (2) deeply insightful to the needs of children; (3) deeply committed to learning and fostering a life long love of learning; (4) patience and excellent discipline. My son loves school so much he wants to go even on the weekend. And he is learning so much! They teach kindness and responsibility. They are even teaching the 50 states to 4 year olds. The kindergarten preparation for the pre-K is the best. The cost is on par with other private parochial Jewish schools in the area. What you get is priceless--a life long love of school and of learning, in a safe and nurturing environment. The staff, including the principal and the principal's husband are first rate--kind, flexible and responsive to individual needs of each family. Yes, the school has financial issues--because of the economy it has taken a hit. Many parents who would love to send their children there lack the resources now. But if you have the money to do it, you will be happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2011

DO NOT SEND YOUR KIDS THERE !! They are understaffed with mostly nice BUT unprofessional people. Most of the teachers do not have a teaching diploma, non a degree in anything related to education. The lead teacher in eaxch class is not determaied by his/her ability or qulifications, but by have a degree no matter in which field!! That all they need in order to get certified! redicilus! They overcharge parents. Their rates are thorugh the roof expensive compared to other similar preschools. the director's husband deals with all the money issues. I did not feel comfortable that someone related to the director of school was dealing with the finances. It seems like a conflict of interests. He was also very unpleasant to talk to. It's a source to all kinds of financial issues. I know that the school almost closed two years ago. They are on a very shakey ground regarding their finanaces and staff. I didn't want to sign up my kids to a school that will not last for very long. This year they had only 47 kids and the number seems to be declining each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

I have 2 children attending CLC (one in the preschool and one in the elem. school). The preschool; in particular the PreK program, is superior. The teachers are wonderful. I know several public elem. school teachers and they all agree they can tell the CLC kids upon entry into public K as they are very well prepared. The Elementary School is equally superior. If you are looking for a small school, with a good student/teacher ratio, and a warm loving environment where the education is individualized then please consider CLC. Most of the staff has been there greater than 20 years. The staff is very committed to the school, the director and most importantly, the kids. - where it matters most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

Fabulous school. Amazing caring teachers. A wonderful place for children. Just a great place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

We were very pleasantly suprised with how well our son (8) has adjusted to CLC. Not coming from a strong religous backround, we thought it would be a little intimidating, but the loving, nurturing, inclusionary model utilized at CLC quickly enveloped us and our son is doing great. This is our second year. He is one of children in second grade in a combined classroom with older students for a total of 19 students with one teacher, one hebrew teacher and one assistant. You can't ask for a better ratio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2008

I moved my 2 year old daughter to Childrens Learning Center (CLC) last January when she was finding our synagogue's preschool too overwhelming and chaotic. Within one week of being at CLC, she was participating and more engaged in school than she had been for the first half of the year. CLC is a truly unique school. Since it is located in a former elementary school, the classrooms are very large and enable the teachers to keep the rooms much more organized than a traditional preschool class while having far more supplies on hand. The teachers are incredible. Many have been at the school for over 10 years and are wonderful at working with kids at different stages of development. They are warm and caring people who are as invested in my child's development as I am. I cannot recommend this school highly enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2008

My son attended preschool and preK at CLC for 4 years and now my daughter is in preschool at CLC. She was also in the first toddler class. You cannot ask for more loving teachers, a wonderful educational and playful curriculum and a school environment with lots of land and playgrounds. You can't go wrong at CLC!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2008

Both of my children (ages 4 and 1) attend CLC and I've been thrilled with the school for so many reasons. The teachers are fabulous - very dedicated, caring, and warm. Many have been there for 20 + years. All of the staff know the children, and the sense of community is very strong. The curriculum is wonderful; the hands-on, play-centered focus has helped my children to become self-confident and more independent. Day care is available both before and after school and is very flexible. Optional after school activities for the Pre-K aged classes enrich the program. I'm grateful that my children have had such a wonderful preschool experience. I am a teacher in MCPS and looked long and hard at preschools before choosing CLC and have been happy since our first day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2008

Our son was diagnosed with a developmental disorder at 2, and we withdrew him from a nearby Montessori school when the staff was overwhelmed by his behavior. CLC was highly accomodating and supportive of our requests for guiding his behavior and allowing shadows to be present in the classroom. Some of the staff have specific training for such developmental disorders. More than anything, CLC is much more nurturing and attentive to the individual child than most other preschools, exactly at the time when they need it most. Our son, as well as our daughter (who is presently enrolled in the preschool program), have benefitted tremendously from CLC.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Black 0% 35%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • NAEYC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4511 Bestor Drive
Rockville, MD 20853
Phone: (301) 871-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Patrick School
Rockville, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT