Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Candlewood Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 342 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 29, 2013

This school has the best teachers for 4 and 5 grade. They are serious about teaching and don't make stupid math mistakes. I was not impressed with school at the beginning but now I feel that they give real impression of kids knowledge and I think it is the most important aspect of successful learning. They do not praise everybody for everything but ask for serious work to deserve a praise. They give foundation for lifetime learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2013

I have become very displeased with Candlewood. They are not inclusive of all students and only recognized the few. They have made it more difficult to make honor roll than the county standard, their reasoning being, "too many children were making honor roll". I really don't understand this line of thinking. One would think the administration would want to promote the fact that a large percentage of their student body earn honor roll. The enviornment has become more rigid and punitive as the years go by.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2013

Given the high number of disheartened Candlewood parents you'll meet at pickup, it is surprising to see so many 5-star reviews here. The quality of the school has deteriorated significantly in the last few years. Part of the problem is district-wide and greater than the school itself, to be sure: excessive standardized testing, a vapid 2.0 curriculum, etc. But even at the school level, I can say that the principal (who has been in this post since forever) is fairly incompetent and has negatively impacted teacher morale. The enthusiasm is just not there, and the academics are woefully lacking. With two Candlewood kids (one now in middle school), my wife and I are now looking to move so our one Candlewood kid can attend a better public elementary school. It is true, as some reviewers have pointed out, that many Candlewood parents are involved, which is nice. The school is small (though it's about to undergo major construction to expand) and has a neighborhood-y feel, which is also nice. But at the end of the day, I would say this is an "average" school and nothing more. Hence the 3-star rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

Small community of highly committed parents and teachers. The staff are dedicated to enriching children with academics, the arts and positive social relationships. The community also aims to educate children to be responsible and caring citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

Great school. Excellent teachers. My daughter love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

I have two kids at Candlewood. They both love it. They're learning and are challenged. The teachers send out regular emails to keep us informed of what activities are going on and what homework is due.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2009

Motivated teachers and small class size keep the focus on the students - we've been very pleased thus far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

This is an amazing school. My daughter is in kindergarten and I couldn't have asked for a better school for her first year. The teachers are always availbale, give great feedback, & parent involvement is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

The best thing that could ever happen to my children is enjoy their elementary years in such a wonderful school. The PTA is always looking for original ways to keep parents involved and have the kids happy. But the best part of the school are the amazing teachers in every single grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

I love this little school. My oldest child just graduated this year and the kids (as well as some of the teachers) left with tears in their eyes. The teachers are really great and are able to keep a great deal of discipline in the classroom and, consequently, the kids learn well. A new principal came last year which did change the school a bit, but it's still a positive experience. The parents are very involved in the classrooms as well as fund raising and providing extra activities for the kids. there are a lot of extra-curricular activities for the kids, both during the school day and after. Classes and the school are small. Special requests are also considered and parent's positions on issues are generally respected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2006

Parental involvement is extraordinarily high and friendships are the norm rather than the exception. The school honestly feels like the kind of extended neighborhood and community that most of grew up as a part of in the 50's and 60s'and 70s. The faculty and staff are enthusiastic, experienced, and dedicated, but they take a no-nonsense approach to education. Discipline (in the form of order and structure) in the classroom leads naturally to academic achievement and the school's test scores reflect that commitment to education for every child at Candlewood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

The teachers at Candlewood are great. My daughter loves the school, her teachers, her classmates, and both academic and extracurricular activities (she's in dance club now). As a kindergartener, she started to think about behaviors and consequences, reasoning, and safety very quickly after she enrolled in Candlewood. We're very happy to see her progress steadily and quickly at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2005

My two daughters have attended Candlewood and loved this school. The teachers and administrators are wonderful people that really care for the students. The whole Candlewood community is very caring and committed to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 43%
Asian 18% 6%
Hispanic 16% 12%
Black 9% 36%
Two or more races 8% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7210 Osprey Dr
Rockville, MD 20855
Phone: (301) 840-7167

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Covenant Life School
Gaithersburg, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT