Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eastern Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 14, 2014

Great job Eastern Middle School on rewarding straight A students!! They deserve the recognition for a job well done.


Posted November 22, 2013

Okay, to start off.. Eastern MS is not the worst school; but it's not the best school either. I loved that school throughout my years there. The teachers were very nice & some..not so much. I had lots of teachers some that were a pain & others that were not so to be honest I actually think this school is good.. I remember through out my 6th grade year I wasn't doing good.. at ALL because I was so caught up with society and thought school was nothing & I shouldn't care about it.. Through afterwards in the beginning of my 7th grade year a teacher there actually changed my life. (Seriously.) Now I'm always doing work & my gpa went up so so high throughout 7th grade. Anyways Eastern isn't so bad.. just depends on how you act & who you decide to have as friends, because seriously every school had bad students.. & trust me this one did.. but it all matter on who you choose as friends. Though one bad thing I didn't like was how the teachers actually cared more the magnet students than the ones who weren't in the magnet program.. They should really change that.. Anyways. Great school. Also.. Thank you Mrs. Dobson for changing me, I will always remember that. From an old student.


Posted September 23, 2013

The staff and principal of Eastern middle schools are too focused on how the school looks, rather than how the students feel. One of the only aspects about i like about Eastern would be the staff. Some of the staff actually went over their requirements to help students. Improving the school would take a schools community to function as a whole. The Magnet program students are treat more "highly" or more "intelligent" than other students. Fixing this stereotypical gap, will make it a better school. Second, assignment of seats for lunch. I was shocked to find out this was even occurring, Why are middle school students being assigned to where to sit just like elementary school. If Eastern was functioned based on the students needs over perfection, they will will be overall better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

The school is ok, I had experienced many times being racially discriminated against not only students, but teachers as well. Some would pick on me and my friends, just because we liked to hang around a lot and they really just made it a hard time for me. One additional "class" called PBIS is I think, a failure. Students treat it like a joke, the set up is just terrible, and I really don't think people can learn anything from it. It's just a waste of time. And one more thing, there's this policy that requires you to stay at a 4.0 GPA , or increase from your previous GPA in order to be eligible to participate in fun activities. This is a huge injustice to all of the students of the school because what if there were kids who try really hard, but end up having a GPA just a little under their previous GPA? What if you got 4.0 first quarter and just happened to get a 89.4 in one subject?


Posted April 25, 2013

This school is pretty good, but there are some teachers who really don't try or aren't good, while there are some who work hard and actually teach you stuff. There is a fairly distinct line between comprehensive and humanities students, though not always. The band is really good even though small and under-funded. But it is still fun and a lot of people are nice. It has a 7-period day and a block schedule would be better, but whatever. The humanities program is challenging, especially in 7th grade with IDRP and NHD. 8th grade humanities get to go to NY for a week. It is usually a fun atmosphere, and you would normally expect a lot of cursing from middle school students, right? (Or maybe not I wouldn't know I've only been to Eastern). Overall it's not the best school but you should still go.


Posted April 12, 2013

Eastern is a terrible school with horrible administration. Ms. Crouse and Ms. Sandall are horrible administrators who do not do anything but crush the morale of the entire staff working here. The school does not care about the best interests of it's students and the overall atmosphere is apathetic. I would advise never to send your students here or work here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 9, 2011

Eastern was and is a very nice school. I used 2 go there aand i loved it the teachers were involed the learning enviorment was nice. And so r the students sure they are some bumps in the road in the school but overall it is a great school. The school has teachers in the halls or secerity so there should be no skipping or safety conflict. I miss Eastern.


Posted December 23, 2010

Hi! Um... I am a 6th grader at Eastern Middle School, and this is my first year at Eastern, and it is AWESOME! I am in the Magnet Program. The teachers are wonderful, and do their best. The principal and community also try to do the best for Eastern at all times. There are soo many fun things that students, staff, and parents can all enjoy. Honestly, every school has "bad kids", and probably, the "bad kids" are the ones saying bad things about Eastern Middle School. Every year, Eastern Middle School develops, making the learning experience even better! They have things like if you have a certain GPA or over that level, you are allowed to experience a full day of AWESOME activities! You also have many field trips that Humanities and Non- Humanities students can experience! I recommend this school for anyone. I LOVE IT!


Posted December 21, 2010

yes eastern is not the cleanest school. but you guys do not understand how much eastern means to us.


Posted September 21, 2007

I am an eigth grader at Eastern Middle and i w ould rate this school pretty average nothing special about it expect for that it has a magnet program.However the school is pretty diverse.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2006

Eastern Middle School is a great school. Our daughter is in the magnet program which serves to integrate the school while providing an outstanding, rigorous academic program for the magnet students. Taking an interdisciplinary approach to learning, the teachers provide a comprehensive education in a structured, caring environment. The teachers have been very flexible and understanding. The curriculum is highly creative and really engaged my child. There is a wide range of extracurricular programs that are equally creative in their offerings (e.g., book club, AM basketball, Scrabble Club, W.E.B. DuBois Honor Society). The mix of magnet and non-magnet students has gone well; the emphasis on multiple cultures is well-balanced. The only downside is the long bus ride for some students. I am convinced that Eastern's magnet program provides one of the best education programs, public or private, available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

I am sorry but, Eastern MS has got to be the worst school I have ever attended. Why in the worls would the county put a magnet program there? Parents may not agree, but, they didn't go there. Many of the school administrators have no idea what kids are like, and don't teach them discipline. There are not as many after-school activities or sports for girls as for boys. The bathrooms are in dire repair, the physical education program has absolutly no adequate materials, and the quality of education-well, the test scores prove themselves. The school gives no funding to music or sports programs, and scheduled their own fundraiser before the music department's, even though the music dept. scheduled first. Unfair and uncivilized I tell you. The students have no discipline and are beasts. Profanity, and inappropriate behavior turn this 'innocent' school into an R-rated catastrophe. Thank you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2005

The educational opportunities at Eastern MS are minimal at best. Most children are instructed below-grade level and teachers are not provided with necessary teaching tools. Discipline and structure are lax. Although there are some good teachers here in the magnet program, the over-all quality of instruction is poor. Children who leave to attend public education find themselves well below level and many are retained or put in remedial courses. Teacher morale is low because of really low pay and lack of any positive feedback from the administration. Priorities are not uniform and too much time is spent off task in some classrooms. For special education students, the options are VERY limited, but the real need of smaller classrooms is not provided. Teachers cannot meet the real needs of the children because of this. This is not a school for any child seeking to advance his/her academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

281 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

298 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 37% 12%
White 23% 42%
Black 22% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 6%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 University Blvd East
Silver Spring, MD 20901
Phone: (301) 650-6650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Bernadette School
Silver Spring, MD





Sligo Adventist School
Takoma Park, MD


Chelsea School
Silver Spring, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT