Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
390 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Thank you for showing interest in St. Bernadette School in Silver Spring, Md. We are a vibrant, safe, Catholic community that is changing and growing. Our test scores reflect the academic rigor delivered by our state certified teachers. In the Fall of 2014, 71% of our students scored above average in Mathematics and 81% of our students scored above average in Reading. Over the last five years, our 8th grade students have a 98% acceptance rate and received an average of $200,000 in four-year scholarships to area private and Catholic High Schools. Come by for a private tour at any time. We have open enrollment for many grades at this time. We look forward to meeting you!
February 04, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
54 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 75 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Bernadette School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted August 02, 2016
- a parent
Principal Wood has stepped in and improved every aspect of the school. The educational results for the entire school have skyrocketed over the past several years.

St Bernadette School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 02, 2016
- a parent
The school teaches the Catholic principles and the staff follow the doctrine. The religious education teacher is involved in the development of each student.


St Bernadette School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted August 02, 2016
- a parent
A strong faith based environment and careful supervision by the teachers and staff have resulted in positive character building.

St Bernadette School 5

Posted August 02, 2016
- a parent
The attention given to my 4 children with different educational abilities and needs have been addressed and the results have been great. The school is truly a family community resulting in a fun, safe and caring environment. The school provides an academically challenging learning experience addressing all levels of the students abilities in a strong faith based environment.

St Bernadette School 5

Posted February 13, 2016
- a parent
Saint Bernadette is a loving community with dedicated teachers and strong academics. My child feels happy to go to school, cared for by his teachers, and part of a strong community oriented educational environment. Greater Love is an excellent addition to teach the value of service to the whole school.


St Bernadette School 5

Posted July 02, 2015
- a parent
I disagree with the postings on June 12th. The discipline code is consistent and fair with high expectations and the teachers are evaluated and respond or are no longer in the school. Disgruntled parents will try to negate the good in schools.

St Bernadette School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
I think that the parents and some of the teachers do---the school requires submission from the students.

St Bernadette School 2

Posted June 12, 2015
- a parent
Our family pulled our child out of this school after we reported and tried to work through a multitude of issues surrounding a faculty member who ran the classroom in a stern and negative way that made the children scared and uncomfortable--hardly the optimal learning environment. Our child did not feel safe in the classroom and administration did nothing but deny, avoid and deflect the issues we presented. Administration has not proven to be receptive in general to parent feedback--their attitude is my way or highway. There are some truly wonderful, dedicated teachers at this school, but if you get one who doesn't fit the bill, you're out of luck. The cheerful comments listed below about the school are the result of a push by administration to bury the negative comments on this site and raise the overall GS rating, so read them with a grain of salt. My children are now at another local school where they are thriving. Make sure you read all of the comments--including the ones far down on the list so that you are able make an educated decision about this school.


St Bernadette School 5

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
Saint Bernadette is a wonderful school environment. This school goes out of its way to be inclusive to others. Service and Catholic Identity is interwoven into all that they do. Saint Bernadette has established a House system where the school community of all ages can come together. Academic excellence is an important aspect of our child's school day. Teachers expect their students to achieve to the best of their potential and celebrate their academic success. We are so happy at St. B's and know you will be to!

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Thank you for showing interest in St. Bernadette School in Silver Spring, Md. We are a vibrant, safe, Catholic community that is changing and growing. Our test scores reflect the academic rigor delivered by our state certified teachers. In the Fall of 2014, 71% of our students scored above average in Mathematics and 81% of our students scored above average in Reading. Over the last five years, our 8th grade students have a 98% acceptance rate and received an average of $200,000 in four-year scholarships to area private and Catholic High Schools. Come by for a private tour at any time. We have open enrollment for many grades at this time. We look forward to meeting you!
Posted February 04, 2015

Nearby schools

St Bernadette School
80 University Boulevard East, Silver Spring, MD  20901
(301) 593-5611
Last modified St Bernadette School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top