Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
410 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

SFIS a national award winning Catholic schools in its sixth year since we merged the former St. Mark and St. Camillus School communities together. We have gone through a huge amount of growth and change since opening in 2010. Our programs are very strong and our reputation for being a caring community that serves a diverse population of students is well known. We continue to grow as a school community and our future is very bright!
May 04, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grateful to:
SCHOOL LEADER
Our school owes a huge debt of gratitude to Ms. Teresa Perez who is our Coordinator of Enrollment. Ms. Teresa works tirelessly to help families feel welcome at SFIS and ensure that beyond the application and enrollment process that the school continues to work with each family to ensure that their child's education is as affordable as possible for their entire time as part of our community.
Posted May 04, 2016

Teacher effectiveness:
SCHOOL LEADER
SFIS has an amazing faculty and staff. Throughout each school year our faculty meetings regular in team and whole-school faculty meetings to plan together and support one another. During each year our teachers also have opportunities for school-based and archdiocese-wide professional development that includes and annual retreat. Teachers are also constantly learning as part of ongoing courses to maintain certification as well summer programs sponsored by the school like Responsive Classroom training academies.
Posted May 04, 2016


Amount of homework:
SCHOOL LEADER
Homework is a complicated part of the American academic tradition. On one hand homework is valuable for a certain amount of practice and review and sometimes it can be used to introduce new topics. However, many studies show that homework alone - especially in early elementary school - has limits to its academic value. Homework, also has som behavioral value beyond it supporting specific academic outcomes. Homework helps to teach students self-discipline, time management, and it builds important skills for learning at home. SFIS prepares students to succeed in the highly competitive world of Washington, DC, area college preparatory high school programs. Because of that we believe that students must be prepared to use homework as a tool for being successful throughout their academic careers. We work hard to balance the competing goods and challenges of homework while respecting that regardless of recommendations based on research homework is a part of high school and college in the United States that students must be prepared to succeed at.
Posted May 04, 2016

Develops grit:
SCHOOL LEADER
At SFIS we believe in engaging each student in a such a way that they are challenged to push themselves while knowing that they are within a loving and caring community that is there to help them if they struggle. One example of how we do this is through our annual challenge course adventure for our 8th graders where they travel to setting in the forest to take on individual obstacles like climbing heights or going on a zip line along with team-building puzzles that push them to use their relationships to accomplish a difficult task.
Posted May 04, 2016

Develops respect:
SCHOOL LEADER
Respect is a core value at SFIS. Student behavior and self-discipline are major areas that are addressed throughout the school on a daily basis. We believe students' character is just as important as his or her academic achievements in ensuring long-term success for each child.
Posted May 04, 2016


Develops empathy:
SCHOOL LEADER
Our diverse community works to teach children that they are like family to one another. Daily activities like communal prayer and homeroom morning meetings give students the opportunities to connect with their classmates on social-emotional levels. While care and compassion for each other within our community is very important, we also believe that as global citizens students need to look outward too. We employ a servant-leadership curriculum that includes intention community service experiences include regular volunteering in a church food pantry, seasonal collections, and off-campus experiences at charities and community organizations.
Posted May 04, 2016

Develops honesty:
SCHOOL LEADER
Character and community are both major focuses at SFIS. We believe that every child should be challenged to be the best person that they can be in MIND, BODY, and SPIRIT. Throughout our school we utilize the Responsive Classroom and Developmental Designs frameworks to inform our efforts in nurturing the social-emotional development of all of our students. We employ a unique, award winning peacebuilding curriculum throughout our school community that emphasizes self-understand and interpersonal skills in concrete ways.
Posted May 04, 2016

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
SFIS a national award winning Catholic schools in its sixth year since we merged the former St. Mark and St. Camillus School communities together. We have gone through a huge amount of growth and change since opening in 2010. Our programs are very strong and our reputation for being a caring community that serves a diverse population of students is well known. We continue to grow as a school community and our future is very bright!
Posted May 04, 2016


St. Francis International School 2

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
I am very disappointed with this school. It does not seem the administrations is on the same page. After the Brother left the school there does not seem to be any life. Why has there been so much turnover of teachers? Why did five teachers quite since the beginning of the school. I only see the principals in their offices. The teachers seem to care, but why do they leave?

St. Francis International School 5

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
This school offers great academic and culture programs. The teachers and school staff are great and very pleasant to work with our kids.

Nearby schools

St. Francis International School
1500 Saint Camillus Drive, Silver Spring, MD  20903
(301) 434-2344
Last modified St. Francis International School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top