Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Charles Herbert Flowers High School 3

Posted June 22, 2016
- a community member
My experience at this school was average. I wished they had better prepared me for college.

Charles Herbert Flowers High School 4

Posted November 21, 2012
- a parent
Flowers has a strong leadership within the new Principal. We have not ran into any issues so far! We are military and have lived many places and have seen many schools. The success of the school is on the parents. Your students will get out what you as a parent put in!


Charles Herbert Flowers High School 5

Posted May 26, 2012
- a student
I love Flowers High School. I am in the 10th Grade and in the Science & Technology program. Although Flowers is a rough school, it has great programs. The science and technology program is sort of secluded form the general population of the school which is good because most of the general population is filled with ghetto and unsuccessful students. Science & tech provides its students with three tracks: biology, engineering, and computer science. I am on the biology track so it is mandatory for my to take bio/org chemistry and AP biology. It is also mandatory for all sci&tech students to take like physics, pre-calc, and engineering foundations 1 & 2. The program is VERY challenging but it is all worth it in the end. Like, our seniors have gotten into great schools like Harvard, Columbia, Princeton, Dartmouth, University of Maryland: College Park, UNC at Chapell Hill, UVA, UPENN, Penn State, UPITT, UMBC, GIT, NC A&T, Hampton, Howard, Temple, and more. This is a great school as long as you stay focused. Even though our principal of 12 years is leaving, this school will stay strong and keep doing great things.

Charles Herbert Flowers High School 2

Posted December 10, 2011
- a student
I want to keep this short, but honestly as a freshman starting in '11, I can say nothing good about this school. None of the good programs are available to 9th graders, and the children (they certainly act like children) are ghetto and totally uncontrollable. When the school first opened, everybody wanted to get in b/c it was a good school back in the day. But now it's turned to bad things happening every day. There are only a few security guards in the school, and they don't really care about out-of-place uniforms, or kids roaming around. I'm closing, but if I were a parent, I wouldn't send my kid to CHFHS unless we lived in a perfect world.

Charles Herbert Flowers High School 4

Posted April 27, 2011
- a teacher
As a teacher at CHFHS, I can attest that the school is indeed overcrowded, which only further confirms the high regard by parents of our school. At Flowers, there is a culture of learning that is matched at only very few schools in the county. The teachers are dedicated, the principal is excellent and there is a plethora of after-school activities for every student interest.


Charles Herbert Flowers High School 5

Posted April 09, 2011
- a student
I BELIEVE THAT FLOWERS IS AN EXCELLENT HIGH SCHOOL AND THERE MAGNET PROGRAM HELPS CHILDREN BECOME MORE SUCCESSFUL IN LIFE

Charles Herbert Flowers High School 1

Posted October 04, 2010
- a parent
I agree with the parent who said the principal is clueless about other staff. In my opinion the school is dangerous and parents should drop in as often as possible to let staff know that you are watching. The security staff is made up of former police officers who are not trained in dealing with children within the school. You must let them know that you will not allow your children to be abused. Flowers test scores are only average, but in a county where all but two schools are severely below average in scores, it isn't a great achievement. Students roam the halls at will with administrators only complaining that "there are too many students" for them to keep track of.

Charles Herbert Flowers High School 1

Posted July 26, 2010
- a parent
CFHS has poor leadership and is a horrible school for any student. The principal is clueless to the activities of staff and other administrators. There is no structure, as students roam and "hangout" in the hallways even during classes. There are a lot of ethics issues at this school...some go unaddressed. Review school crime statistics before considering.


Charles Herbert Flowers High School 3

Posted May 27, 2010
- a parent
The school is by far over crowded. The principle is excellent. She will address all issues but the teachers and staff is very relaxed.

Charles Herbert Flowers High School 5

Posted March 26, 2010
- a parent
Flowers High School has a great science and tech program that students exposure to college level course content. It is not to be underestimated and I'm happy that many of the teachers take interest in their work to help students achieve academically and prepare them for college.

Nearby schools

Charles Herbert Flowers High School
10001 Ardwickardmore Rd, Springdale, MD  20774
(301) 636-8000
Last modified Charles Herbert Flowers High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top