Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Springdale, MD
Students enrolled: 2,431

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Charles Herbert Flowers High School 4

Posted November 21, 2012
- a parent
Flowers has a strong leadership within the new Principal. We have not ran into any issues so far! We are military and have lived many places and have seen many schools. The success of the school is on the parents. Your students will get out what you as a parent put in!

Charles Herbert Flowers High School 5

Posted May 26, 2012
- a student
I love Flowers High School. I am in the 10th Grade and in the Science & Technology program. Although Flowers is a rough school, it has great programs. The science and technology program is sort of secluded form the general population of the school which is good because most of the general population is filled with ghetto and unsuccessful students. Science & tech provides its students with three tracks: biology, engineering, and computer science. I am on the biology track so it is mandatory for my to take bio/org chemistry and AP biology. It is also mandatory for all sci&tech students to take like physics, pre-calc, and engineering foundations 1 & 2. The program is VERY challenging but it is all worth it in the end. Like, our seniors have gotten into great schools like Harvard, Columbia, Princeton, Dartmouth, University of Maryland: College Park, UNC at Chapell Hill, UVA, UPENN, Penn State, UPITT, UMBC, GIT, NC A&T, Hampton, Howard, Temple, and more. This is a great school as long as you stay focused. Even though our principal of 12 years is leaving, this school will stay strong and keep doing great things.


Charles Herbert Flowers High School 2

Posted December 10, 2011
- a student
I want to keep this short, but honestly as a freshman starting in '11, I can say nothing good about this school. None of the good programs are available to 9th graders, and the children (they certainly act like children) are ghetto and totally uncontrollable. When the school first opened, everybody wanted to get in b/c it was a good school back in the day. But now it's turned to bad things happening every day. There are only a few security guards in the school, and they don't really care about out-of-place uniforms, or kids roaming around. I'm closing, but if I were a parent, I wouldn't send my kid to CHFHS unless we lived in a perfect world.

Charles Herbert Flowers High School 4

Posted April 27, 2011
- a teacher
As a teacher at CHFHS, I can attest that the school is indeed overcrowded, which only further confirms the high regard by parents of our school. At Flowers, there is a culture of learning that is matched at only very few schools in the county. The teachers are dedicated, the principal is excellent and there is a plethora of after-school activities for every student interest.

Charles Herbert Flowers High School 5

Posted April 09, 2011
- a student
I BELIEVE THAT FLOWERS IS AN EXCELLENT HIGH SCHOOL AND THERE MAGNET PROGRAM HELPS CHILDREN BECOME MORE SUCCESSFUL IN LIFE


Charles Herbert Flowers High School 1

Posted October 04, 2010
- a parent
I agree with the parent who said the principal is clueless about other staff. In my opinion the school is dangerous and parents should drop in as often as possible to let staff know that you are watching. The security staff is made up of former police officers who are not trained in dealing with children within the school. You must let them know that you will not allow your children to be abused. Flowers test scores are only average, but in a county where all but two schools are severely below average in scores, it isn't a great achievement. Students roam the halls at will with administrators only complaining that "there are too many students" for them to keep track of.

Charles Herbert Flowers High School 1

Posted July 26, 2010
- a parent
CFHS has poor leadership and is a horrible school for any student. The principal is clueless to the activities of staff and other administrators. There is no structure, as students roam and "hangout" in the hallways even during classes. There are a lot of ethics issues at this school...some go unaddressed. Review school crime statistics before considering.

Charles Herbert Flowers High School 3

Posted May 27, 2010
- a parent
The school is by far over crowded. The principle is excellent. She will address all issues but the teachers and staff is very relaxed.


Charles Herbert Flowers High School 5

Posted March 26, 2010
- a parent
Flowers High School has a great science and tech program that students exposure to college level course content. It is not to be underestimated and I'm happy that many of the teachers take interest in their work to help students achieve academically and prepare them for college.

Charles Herbert Flowers High School 1

Posted February 01, 2010
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charles Herbert Flowers High School
10001 Ardwickardmore Rd, Springdale, MD  20774
(301) 636-8000
Last modified Charles Herbert Flowers High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Charles Herbert Flowers High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top