Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Morningside Elementary School

Public | PK-6

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 1, 2009

I am a parent who has 2 children at MES one in kindergarten and the other in 2nd grade. I have never seen a kindergarten come home and do their homework without asking for some type of help. That shows you how great the teachers are!!!! I think this school is wonderful for people who want the best education for their children. They have a wonderful staff from the principal down to the lovely lunch ladies. They are always putting the children first and the extra mile they go for us is just outstanding. I only wish that they(the school board) were not closing this school. Our kids will be the ones most effected from this transition. I truly think this plan is a disaster just waiting to unfold on everyone. I just pray that someone in the school board sees this before it's too late. We love this school!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

My daughter attends Morningside Elementary and loves it there. They have an excellent Principal and Vice Principal who have the childrens best interest at heart. My daughter has had two great teachers who are very hands on with the parents. I also like the fact it is a small school with just over 200 students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

My daughter is a recent graduate of MES and it was a wondeful educational experience. The Principle and Vice Principle were absolutely top-notch! The school is ran with great stern yet compassionate leadership & this trickles down to the teachers and additional staff as well. I highly recommend Morningside for any child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

This was my childs first year at morningside, and I feel that was the best move I made. His teacher along with the principle always puts education first. They also have after school activities that focus on education more so than playtime. All of the classes have no more than 15 kids per teacher,so it is almost like a private school class setting. Moringside is the best elementary school in the Suitland/Forestville area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2005

Morningside was the best elementary school I attended! The teachers were wonderful. They always encouraged us to do and be our best. I was an Honor Roll Student in grades 4-6. The prinicpal was also very active in the students lives. I will always remember that school for making me the responsible teenager I am now. Thanks Morningside!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 30, 2005

I love Morningside! My sons teacher did a wonderful job encouraging and challenging my child to be successful in and out of the classroom. He has developed so much confidence and a since of ability. The classroom size was appropriate and allowed my son to get the attention he needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6900 Ames St SE
Suitland, MD 20746
Phone: (301) 817-0544

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Free Gospel Christian Academy
Capitol Heights, MD







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT