Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

God's Church International Higher Learning

Private | PK-12 | 35 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in...

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $46,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,170.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2014

My son attended this school after being in public school for nine years, and failing every subject. GCI helped my son to excel in every grade level. I am so proud of him. He graduated from GCI with honors, and went on to attend UDC. He made the Dean list every semester. Now my son is in the top of his career field. If it had not been for GCI my son would not have graduated, he would have been a dropout. They taught him to love learning, and built his self-esteem. Thank you GCI
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

My daughter is in the head start program at this school. It is a great place for her. She has been in the program for two years and she is reading, writing, and doing math at five years old. I did not believe that she would be able to do the things promised by the director when we enrolled in the school. I was actually looking for daycare for my child when she was three and a parent of the school suggested I take my child there. I am glad I listened! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

My son has attended GCI from the age of four until now. He is several grades above what he would be according to his standardize testing and he constantly amazes me when he reads a passage or recite a fact that is beyond the intellect of a child his age. I was concerned about the small size of the school and the family environment but I have found that it works and I am completely satisfied with the education that my child is receiving. It is a little presumptuous because my child is still young but I currently have no plans to transfer my child to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

horrible school to even say they are on the level of an educational institute. my daughter was there for 1 year, their promises were given she would learn how to read an so forth basically criteria a three year old should know. also the fact that the school allows them to play in the back of a condemed area with glass and rubble. I was furious when this was told to me after seeing her clothes were filty not to mention my child continuosly came home with bruises and cuts and smelled of urine. and the sad thing they could not tell me most the time why she was dirty or of her cuts and bruises or even seemed to care. the family owned facility also lacked commuincation skills they were never welcoming and sent home only colored pictures and never no work showing progress,


Posted May 18, 2010

OUTSTANDING! My child is a graduate of God s Church International Higher Learning School. The curriculum is the best it s challenging and Godly. Students are challenged with basic studies, foreign language/cultures, and Pre-Law/Moot Court. As my child grew older the challenges kept coming and today as a college student they are paying dividends. A Sociology Professor asked his 52 students, Who knows what the Thirteenth Amendment to the Constitution states? One student stood and recited it verbatim flooring everyone. That student was my child/a graduate of GCI Higher Learning School. Prepare yourself, your child, your family and friends, to be shocked and amazed by the excellence that is offered by this pearl of a school. My only bad comment has to do with the lack of involvement of most of the parents spectator behavior. It is my hope that they become more involved in the school and its activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

I am a former parent, my son attended the school for approximately 6 years. As a high school freshman he is below grade level in every subject matter. Testing has found serious flaws in the basic subject matter foundation, principles that he never mastered at the elementary level. The family based nature of this school did not lend itself to an adequate system of checks and balances between classroom and administration. We are now having to pay to help my son catch up with the other public school students, and get all the basics he was never taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

This school is really a family business with lots of day to day issues that take away from school learning. As a parent finishing up a 'first' year I don't know if I feel comfortable with trying a second year. Everyday you drop off your child you are faced with a different issue. I am happy to say the reading method for teaching children to read is very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

They have a good curriculum but, it's not followed correctly. They grade work quarterly, how do you or your child know how they are doing? It's a lot of issues going on there. Also, it's a family business, so every sticks together, which is not always right. However, my child did test above his grade on the standardlize test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2006

There are a lot of misleading qualities about this school that leave parents with an uneasy feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 100% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Two or more races 0% 4%
White 0% 42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4650 Suitland Road
Suitland-Silver Hill, MD 20746
Phone: (301) 568-6200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Suitland High School
Forestville, MD


New Horizon CDC Summit
Forestville, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT