Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Freedom District Elementary School 5

Posted February 08, 2012
- a parent
We moved from Howard County to Eldersburg recently, and my son has been happy from day one in his new school with new teachers. His achievement is outstanding. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the administration is dedicated toward student success. I'm very impressed with the positive attitude the teachers have toward learning, and their communication with parents is far better than anything I've experienced in HoCo. My only complaint is the GT program- it's virturally non-existent, which is mostly due to county budget cuts. Otherwise, we're extremely pleased with Freedom Elementary.

Freedom District Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Freedom District Elementary School 3

Posted July 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Freedom District Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 14, 2008
- a parent
My son is a third grader and came from carrolltowne elementary, so I really could compare. Freedom does not feel as welcoming to the parents and there is no parent contact from the teachers what so ever! Homework books are not being checked, don't know why they asked to get them signed. My sons particular class has to do all the teachers work including stamping other childrens homework and classwork which I totally disagree with. My child is tressed before he goes to school knowing he has to do these jobs.

Freedom District Elementary School 1

Posted March 31, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Freedom District Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 29, 2007
- a parent
In the three years we've had children at Freedom, we've NEVER been looked at as 'bothersome' parents. However, the facility's age is a distraction. Let's see if the low math score is an anomoly or a trend.

Freedom District Elementary School 3

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
Lowest Math scores in the county this year. It is not the great school it used to be. Parents are looked at as bothersome rather than a partner.

Freedom District Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2007
- a parent
I can only say good things about Freedom. The administration and teachers are all so caring and really seem to enjoy the job that they do. They have always been there for support whenever needed for whatever the issue may be. Parent volunteers are always welcomed with open arms at any of the various activities that are going on in the school. Again, I can not say anything negative about the school. Way to go Freedom I'm proud to say my daughter and son go to this school.


Freedom District Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2006
- a parent
We have had a wonderful experience at Freedom Elementary School. The staff and teachers are some of the nicest we've encountered. Due to moves, we've been at several elementary schools. We are hoping that we are here to stay. My children have been very happy here and have learned a lot. The teachers were very appreciative of parent volunteers and I was always welcomed into the classroom with smiling faces.

Freedom District Elementary School 4

Posted January 07, 2006
- a parent
Freedom is an old school that has been neglected over the years due to poor leadership. The test score are in decline, however because of the population are still high.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Freedom District Elementary School
5626 Sykesville Rd, Sykesville, MD  21784
(410) 751-3525
Last modified Freedom District Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Freedom District Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top