Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Takoma Academy

Private | 9-12 | 53 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Takoma Park

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $349,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,250.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2014

Most of the students are shallow, extremely rude, worldly and overprivileged. Some of the parents are even worse. Complete snobs. Yeah, no one is a perfect but it's not about perfection. It's about character. I was absolutely shocked at their behavior. The best thing about TA was the week of prayer. It brought me closer to God. Overall, I don't regret going there. That experience made me stronger.


Posted May 30, 2014

The new principal does not seem to put an emphasis on the academics, it seems like basketball is the focus. The blame game for when things go wrong shows a lack of leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

The school has really gone down over the past few years. The principal they have now is sure not making the school look any better and not making any improvements. This school only glorifies basketball and does not even acknowledge any other sport. A few teachers are good but overall the education is horrible and too much drama in the school. Would never send my child here and I wouldn't recommend anybody to send their child here either.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2013

I am totally inlove with this scool,my oder daughter graduated from TA four years ago and is doing extremely well at Washington Adventist University.The ephasis that is place on Christianity is awesome,the mission trip they do each year has encouraged her to choose her career in nursing.My youngest daughter is now a junior there,expensive you bet it is!! but it is a priceless investment. i would not have sent my daughters anywhere else.Takoma Academy is family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

High school is definitely what you make out it! Takoma Academy is diligent in having many events and programs each year. If you don't like something, get involved in student government and try to fix it! The cafeteria food is very tasty for being vegetarian and most of the teachers are willing to build friendships and help their students. The only thing I did not like was the small variety of classes, but that is something that couldn't really be changed due to the size of the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2013

I've been a parent of two students who passed through TA between 2007 and 2012. My children both excelled at TA. Their SAT scores were high enough to earn them high scholarships in college. Both students took advanced classes, and are now excelling in college-- I waited to see the sufficiency of their academic preparation before posting a review. The leadership opportunities are many-- both were involved in student leadership and other various roles. The sports program is broad and varied, and allowed for some travel. Other extra curricular activities such as the performing arts program -- voice, drama, and band (and ceramics!) were opportunities you don't see in all private schools. My children took advantage of all except band... but were also involved in the worship and praise band. Some of the staff and teachers have become personal friends. The school has done some purging of teaching staff that from a parent's perspective was needed. The physical plant has also had about a million in rehauling, and the place is looking quite nice. If I had a third child, which I"m glad I don't, they would definitely be enrolled at Takoma Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

I am currently attending Takoma Academy as a High school as a freshman. I feel like an outcast at this school. The students treat each other, their teachers and me with the utmost disrespect by complaining and insulting behind backs. Whenever I think about this school - I want to cry because it has genuinely been a waste of my time. I have learnt near to nothing academic wise. Compared to my middle school education, I have pretty much repeated 8th grade. Plus freshman are not allowed to take Advanced Placement Classes which I think is absolutely absurd. A well practiced tradition at Takoma Academy is Chapel time, where the students and teachers gather together and worship God. Well, everyday there are presentations, singing, sermons and activities of the like such that are presented on stage. The presentations are excellent, however the audience will laugh, taunt and mutter and the slightest mistake you make. Now you may find my review of this school biased. I am telling you that unless you attend the same churches, hold the same belifes, are the same ethnicity, and speak the same way they do - then be prepared to feel like a weird misfit.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2012

This school has had 3 principals in the last 4 years... nuff said. You have no idea ehat next year willl be like. They have no accountability and the blamegame is played all day. They flat out give Sevent-Day adventist a BAD name and it's a shame. I have removed my kids from this school and I wouldn't send my enemy their. Its sad
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

Takoma Academy is a family oriented school in which the staff is very close because they attend the same church and this is all well and good, but there is a down fall. They don't handle their business. You have to constantly stay after the staff/teachers to get things done concerning grades, etc. and practically stand over them. If you don't, it will never get done. You have to make sure that your child is getting credit for the work they are turning in - I feel as a parent I should not have monitor the teachers and staff to make sure they are doing their job. It is very frustrating dealing with them. To sum it up it is great to have a nice friendly atmosphere but their top priority should be to make sure the business of the students is taken care. They do not handle their business at Takoma Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2012

If you are looking for a christian school to develop your child's spirituality, look elsewhere. In fact, you will find no benefit in sending your child here. The only program worth anything at this school is the men's basketball program. But all else is not worth the money. I am not sending my child back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

I am a former employee of Takoma Academy. Sadly to say, this school is being led in the wrong direction. The atmosphere of the school has changed for the worst. It definitely appears that the Spirt of God has left the building. I pray that things get better.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 17, 2011

One of the student that attended last year, who I also baby sat when he was younger, now goes to another school. He is much better off at his present school I believe that the current leadership at TA is bringing the school down spiritually.


Posted November 17, 2011

I attended TA. It was one of the worst experiences in my life. I was treated unfairly in the worst way. I enjoyed the students, but the school sucks rocks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2011

I have heard nothing but horrible things about this school. A student who no longer attends this school is now excelling when they were doing poorly at TA. I'm surprised that as a SDA school they really don't practice what they preach.


Posted November 15, 2011

TA is not a true Christian school. The leadership at the school, namely the principal has done things that are unfair, spiteful, and hurtful. His behavior has reflected on the school as a whole. I will never send my child to this school and cannot recommend a parent sending their child to this school either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

I have had the opportunity to speak with the principal of this school and many of the students. Nothing I have heard would allow me to rate this school as satisfactory. The Principal avoided many of my questions regarding the spirituality of the school and some of the questionable policies of the school. Some of the staff who asked to remain anonymous, expressed that they were extremely unhappy. The overall impression is that the atmosphere at the school is abysmal. The students were not pleased with the school and the focus of the school in general appeared to be geared towards their basketball program, not education or Christian principles.


Posted June 9, 2011

Takoma Academy is a great school!!!! You meet so many different people they also help you financially with the tuition Strong leader in academics, sports and music I thank God for Takoma Academy Your child WILL be ready for college and in will have the learning tools for eternal Life !!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2011

I went to TA last year, and I thought it was a pretty exceptional school. The spiritual emphasis was amazing and being there really got me closer to God through the chapels, gospel choir, and the week of prayers. As for educational standards, its okay. Although the teachers are great and the principal really wants the students to succeed which is good, the tuition cost is too heavy. If you want your children to go to college after attending TA, you'd better have pockets overflowing with money.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2009

The school spirit at Takoma Academy this year has been outstanding under the new administration. My freshman daughter loves going to school! We've attended Georgetown Day, Washington Episcopal, and other fine schools in Arlington and Howard counties. TA has made great strides!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

After 4 years of being bullied in this school, I was glad to leave. I can honestly say that being enrolled in TA is one of the worst things that have ever happened to me. Now my family is in debt, and I feel like I wasted 4 years of, what could've been, the best years of my life.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 83% 35%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
White 2% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8120 Carroll Avenue
Takoma Park, MD 20912
Phone: (301) 434-4814

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Chelsea School
Silver Spring, MD


The Nora School
Silver Spring, MD



Northwestern High School
Hyattsville, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT