Advertisement
Advertisement

Baltimore Middle & Upper School

Private | 6-12 | 225 students

BLS is known for good sportsmanship and serving Christ in all we are and do.

 
 

Living in Towson

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $238,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2012

Both of my children graduated from Baltimore Lutheran School within the past 5 years. My oldest child received a full scholarship to college and my youngest was accepted into the honors program with an academic scholarship, and was also accepted into an elite computer science group which is now working on a presentation for the Smithsonian Institute in Washington, D.C. I am thrilled with the education that was provided by Baltimore Lutheran School, I love how the spiritual teachings joined with our home and our church in helping them grow in their faith journey, and I love the family atmosphere and support that we experienced throughout the years. We are still active with the Baltimore Lutheran School Alumni Association, and we will forever be proud to be called Baltimore Lutheran School Saints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2012

My son was a transfer student from a highly rated public school. We needed to make a change for social and academic reasons. BLS offers students of all academic levels the opportunity to excel. The teachers are qualified and choose to teach in a supportive and caring environment. From an activities perspective, the eliticism found in many public schools is absent. If you have an interest there is a place for you. More importantly we have found the student body to be amazing. These are kids with character and tolerance who welcomed my junior who felt at home from his first visit on a shadow day. He has grown immensely because of the kind community. In this supportive environment he has stepped up to the high academic expectations. BLS also offers plenty of opportunities for parental involvement. If you are considering Baltimore Lutheran School ask for a parent reference and you will learn first hand how this environment helps kids flourish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

BLS is a fantastic school! Qualified, caring teachers. A wonderful Christian environment with an outstanding academic program. Many opportunities for extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2009

I have two daughters at BLS - one in middle the other in high. Both girls are very happy socially and doing well academically despite the challenging academics. We LOVE the culture at Lutheran - small school that is very focused on Christian values. They do not tolerate bullying and ugly behaviors that tend to surface with teenagers. They do much with the students despite the challenging economic times. My only criticism is that the school needs to enlist and encourage greater support and participation from parents and alumni as well as volunteers willing to assist the school in any way possible. Regardless, I do see BLS evolving in a positive way. I hope to award them 5 stars in the year(s) to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

I currently have a child in the high school and a child in the middle school at BLS. My children are very different in the educational styles -- one needs assistance and one is an honor student. I feel very strongly that both students are getting exactly what they need educationally. The class sizes are small and that serves my students well! The staff is available for parents and students alike. The school is focused on it's mission statement and Christian values are the utmost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

From a parents standpoint, this school could be much better. I would love it if they would survey the families for input like other schools. To me, this shows a lack of regard for our opinions as a customers. Areas that need improvement are athletics and teacher websites/Edline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

I have a middle school boy with mild learning disabilities. He is in the STAR program. We find that program to be lacking in its willingness to provide timely information to the student and parent regarding tests and homework. The school also has the wonderful EDLINE system - however hardly anyone uses it and in fact we've been told by some teachers that they refuse to use it. Athletic offerings for the middle school are difficult to get into unless you are an outstanding athlete. Also there are no A & B teams like most of the schools we play have even though parents have offered to coach. Communication between the administration and the families is sorely lacking and often results in much confusion. Questions to the administration seem to be unwanted. Social functions are minimal and do not compare to other local private school functions. Arts are minimal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

I'm a class of 2007 alumni, and I absolutely love BLS in retrospect. While it may not always have been perfect while I was there, I was shocked at how far ahead of other students I was when I began college. The values (both religious and academic) made the transition to the college academic world much smoother than it was for my public-school-educated peers. Classes that others found difficult I breezed through, thanks to what I was forced to learn during high school. Most of the teachers are wonderful. All are very unique, and often fun, characters. The school has always felt very safe to me, and (serious) rules are always stictly enforced. Illegal and inexcusable behavior will result in suspension or expulsion (I count at least 6 class members expelled though all four years), as will terminally failing grades, so irresponsible or dangerous behavior are seldom found on campus without punishment.


Posted July 12, 2008

I am the parent of a high school girl and a middle school boy as well as my oldest son graduated from BLS in 2006. He is now in college as a junior and believes that BLS was the greatest move that he could have made as a senior, having went to another extremely college prep. private school. My daughter absolutely loves the school and it's challenges as well as my younger son who definately gives the teachers a run for their money. They are all very wonderful and caring, yet strict when they need to be. I would refer anyone looking for a great school and well rounded childhood upbringing to visit BLS. You won't be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

I am a parent of a middle school girl at BLS. My experience with BLS has been very positive, my daughter and I both love the christian environment and she especially loves chapel and the weekly bible verses. The teachers and staff are all friendly and very helful and caring. BLS is a very nurturing environment. BLS offers rigorous academics and extracurricular activities. So far BLS is the right place for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2005

I am the parent of a middle school boy at BLS. Our experience there has been positive in some ways and difficult in others. We like the smaller and Christian atmosphere. Most of the teachers are very interested in being helpful, although a few are bent on being strict task masters. While I understand that coddling isn't best advised, I feel it is important to recognize that you are dealing with middle schoolers and not adults. The academics are extremely rigorous and require loads of time at the expense of having what I feel is adequate free time to enjoy still being a kid. Although I want a challenge for my child, I want him to also have a life. It needs to be noted that family, worship and recreational time can be as important as academics. He doesn't need to be ready to enter college in the 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2004

Well, I am not a parent of a student who goes or went to Baltimore Lutheran. I am an alumni who graduated in June 2003. Lutheran provided me with the wisdom to further pursue my walk with Christ. The school gave me confidence and helped me to overcome the obstacles that life may throw our way. There are great extracurricular activities such as sports and 10 differnt club meetings held throughout the week. The teachers lead the club meetings in prayer and devotionals as well. Teachers are very encouraging and supportive of decisions made by students regarding personal problems and are always available to talk to a student.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 45%
Black 12% 40%
Two or more races 2% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 10%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Calvary Lutheran Elementary
St. Peter's Lutheran Elementary
Pine Grove Elementary
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Portuguese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Distinguished Secondary Educator (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: German

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • SADD

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8-8:15
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Alan Freeman, Headmaster
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (410) 825-2506

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Foreign language club: German
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • SADD
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on Middle States Reaccreditation
More from this school
  • We are a Christian school in more than name only - religious instruction is considered a part of our core curriculum, servant events a part of our extra-curricular offerings. Students study theology on some level each day that classes are offered here. We attend chapel once each week, open our days with devotions, say grace, return thanks after meals, and close our days in prayer. God lives here!!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Calvary Lutheran Elementary
St. Peter's Lutheran Elementary
Pine Grove Elementary

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2011-2012 school year
$9000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Villa Julie College
Towson University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1145 Concordia Drive
Towson, MD 21286
Website: Click here
Phone: (410) 825-2323

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT