Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dr. Henry A. Wise Jr. High School 5

Posted October 24, 2014
- a student
this school is the best school ever. mr.blake always keeps it fun and the teachers and security guards are serious but helpful. they really want you to succeed and they have many more activities than any other school. step team, modeling,volley ball, football, basket ball,cross country etc. this school holds alot of attention obama has visited this school , famous viners, and also popular radio station such as wkys. we had a famous dj that plays for a foot ball or basket ball team i forgot and on fridays is free style friday they always find a way to keep you interested. the kids in rotc are very dedicated and are proud to wear there uniforms.

Dr. Henry A. Wise Jr. High School 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a community member
By far the best high school ive attended! Ive been to Bowie and Suitland high school and neither of them come close to Wise high school! They have great programs that focus on every type of student and make sure they stay on track or have the ability to get back on track! They dont limit troubled students to night school or summer school, they offer cheap online repeaters classes and the teachers are beyond amazing! and finally they really know how to "TURN UP" Im truly satisfied and I feel like I am being prepared for college. AVERAGE REALLY IS OFFICIALLY OVER AT WISE !


Dr. Henry A. Wise Jr. High School 3

Posted May 22, 2013
- a community member
Wise is one of the newest and best equiped schools in Prince Georges county. Unfortunately, Wise is in Prnice Georges county where the school board and the leadership of the school system is aweful. If you are considering purchasing a home in PG county, factor in the cost of sending your kids to a private school. The public schools are dismal - particurlarly the high schools.

Dr. Henry A. Wise Jr. High School 3

Posted June 08, 2012
- a community member
WOW! IT TAKE A VILLAGE AND MAJORITY OF THE PARENTS AT WISE ARE NOT ACTIVE IN THEIR CHILDS STUDIES. I MENTOR SOME OF THE KIDS AND THEY SAY THEIR PARENTS DON'T CARE SO WHAY SO I. I WAS CURSED OUT BY A STUDENT BUT THAT DID NOT STOP ME FROM TALKING TO THE YOUNG LADY AGAIN. SHE CAME BACK AND APOLOGIZED. PARENTS WHERE ARE YOU I AM A SINGLE PARENMAKE TIME FOR YOUR KIDS. THEY HAVE THE LATEST AND GREATEST BUT ARE FAILING IN SCHOOL. DON'T BLAME TEACHERS BLAME YOURSELF. WISE IS A GOOD SCHOOL AND JUST LIKE ANY OTHER SCHOOL YOU HAVE SOME GOOD KIDS AND SOME BAD KIDS. THE GOOD KIDS OUTWAY THE BAD ONES. I SEE KIDS THAT HAVE BEEN SUSPENDED AND ARE ASKED WHY ARE YOU IN SCHOOL MY MOTHER DON'T LIKE ME TO BE HOME BY MYSELF. WELL YOU CAN'T BE IN THE SCHOOL. I ENJOY SOME OF THE TEACHERS AND THEY WANT TO SEE THE KIDS SUCCEED BUT WHERE ARE THE PARENTS THEY CALL AT THE LAST MINUTE. THEY AREN'T CHECKING THEIR KIDS WORK ONLINE. I CAN SAY THIS BECAUSE I AM AT THAT SCHOOL SO MUCH THE KIDS THOUGHT I WAS A TEACHER. PARENTS WAKE UP YOU ARE YOUR CHILDS BIGGEST NEED IN THEIR TEEN YEARS. THEY NEED YOU TO GET INVOLVED. WORK WILL BE WORK BUT YOU SHOULD NEVER SACRAFICE YOUR CHILDS FUTURE FOR A JOB OR ANYTHING ELSE.

Dr. Henry A. Wise Jr. High School 2

Posted May 03, 2012
- a parent
Leadership is horrible. Students are talked to harshly by some of the administrators, some of whom curse at students; teachers lack control in the classrooms--some don't bother teaching and allow students to text on their phones and create other disruptive behaviors in class; way too many fights; too many students are still in the hallways after class has begun. Principal lacks effective leadership skills and should be replaced. Show up in the middle of the day and see for yourself before subjecting your child to the school's dysfunctional environment. Also, read articles about the school that have appeared in the news. A common thread is the impulsive and chaotic manner in which issues are handled, and the severe lack of communication and respect the principal has with parents. The assistant principals are much better at managing issues. Principal doesn't seem able to enforce a typical School Policies and Procedures and therefore uses brute force and arrests to control students, and apparently, according to one news article, parents too. If it wasn't for some of the good teachers, I would've rated the school 1 star.


Dr. Henry A. Wise Jr. High School 2

Posted February 27, 2012
- a parent
My teen is struggling at this school. I am at school everyday; busing still not set up after many weeks. School is way too large (looks like a mall), behavior of students is outrageous, behavior of staff at times not much better -- however, as I get frustrated only being there as much as I am, you have to wonder at what point patience is lost. Kids are always in the halls, can't tell if school started. Kids get off the bus and walk directly off campus despite staff intervention. Lunch room is crazy , meal does not look/ taste well. The lunch staff is nice & try to get kids to eat healthy. Many teachers really try. I find that as I meet the staff over time they are friendly, knowledgeable & concerned. However, they have so many kids they can't follow through in a timely basis due to chronic issues, staff & student changes or "problems". Front office staff are caught between students, parents, teachers & security. Honestly, my advice, if your child isn't self motivated, has solid values & high concentration despite terrible distraction; you might consider other options. Some things should not be taught vicariously; no time left for traditional ed. topics like math.

Dr. Henry A. Wise Jr. High School 2

Posted March 18, 2011
- a parent
This school certainly has the makings of a great school but is lacking in good leadership. perhaps with budget cuts and the new County Executive a positive change will happen. The principal this year is not at the school enough on a daily basis to be accountable. She leaves too much on the adminstrators to handle when she should handle it herself as this was the complaint from the principal's previous school, Gwynn Park. The school has some excellent teachers and some that need to go, like any school. The programs are excellent and the students need to take advantage. It seems to be overcrowded and compaints are many about the lunch and having enough food. Many kids in the hallway that should be in class. With a change in leadership the school could really live up to the great service that Dr. Henry Wise Jr's provided in our community.

Dr. Henry A. Wise Jr. High School 0
no rating

Posted October 01, 2009
- a parent
I enjoy working at Wise because it is one of the state-of-the-art schools in the Prince Georges County. The teachers are warm and friendly and the students have the potential of being outstanding students because of the technology and resources that are available to them.


Dr. Henry A. Wise Jr. High School 3

Posted September 09, 2009
- a parent
This is a very good school, it has excellent teachers. My son has attended this school for 3 years and the princial for the first two years had the kids in check and they respected her greatly. My only complaint this past year is that the new principal does not seem to be able to control the kids. On many occassions I have visited the school only to find the halls filled with kids as if it were time to change classes. The administrators were just walking past them as if this was normal.

Dr. Henry A. Wise Jr. High School 0
no rating

Posted August 24, 2009
- a parent
This high school is the pits!!!!!!!!! This high school needs better leadership!! It's sad when the students run the school!!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dr. Henry A. Wise Jr. High School
12650 Brooke Ln, Upper Marlboro, MD  20772
(301) 780-2100
Last modified Dr. Henry A. Wise Jr. High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dr. Henry A. Wise Jr. High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top