Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Upper Marlboro, MD

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Excellence Christian School 5

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
Excellence Christian School is AMAZING!!! Dr. Lee, the principal is the best principal that I have ever come in contact with. She truly cares about each student and even the staff. The curriculum is awesome and children are learning above grade level. I saw complaints about them not handling children with disabilities, but they clearly tell you that when you register so I don't get the complaints. I love it and my child will be here until they make her leave.

Excellence Christian School 3

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
My child has attended ECS for two years. The first year was good; however, the second year was a huge disappointment. First, we were deeply disappointed with how the teacher and administrators handled class conflict and class dynamics. As a previous rating stated, the teachers and administrators do not go the extra mile to truly nurture your child(ren). My child is elementary school age and he was not nurtured or encouraged and his teacher did not spend a lick of extra time with him for anything. The teacher hardly followed up with parents and hardly ever provided voluntary feedback. Unfortunately, it appeared that the administrators/teachers' children were not disciplined the same as other students. The administration seemed to turn a blind-eye to the wrong-doings of their children but readily disciplined other children for the same behavior. Because this is supposed to be a Christian environment, we were very surprised at the school's actions and way of handling matters. Needless to say, we are happy this school year is over so we can move on. It is my understanding that the school will be losing a good number of students for similar reasons.


Excellence Christian School 5

Posted March 08, 2014
- a parent
Dr. Lee is my principal and she is awesome. She listens to the students & cares about our grades. Dominique Weston 3rd Grader ECS Rocks!!!!

Excellence Christian School 4

Posted March 07, 2014
- a parent
Latest Good News: -Principal s Scholar Luncheons - Media Center Grand Opening - NASA visit and field trip for upper school. - NSA workshop for 6th -upper school (2 hour Mission Impossible STEM activity) -LEGO STEM sessions - NASA to establish a more consistent relationship with ESC in terms of implementing the NASA STEM curriculum in grades K-12. This curriculum would provide our students with weekly hands on project based learning activities in the areas of science, technology, engineering, math and also incorporate art design as well. The funding for this initiative has been the focus of the PTO fundraising goals for the 2013-2014 SY and we are anticipating the launch of the school wide STEM program next year. Once funding for the program is secured, our staff will be trained at the NASA site in Greenbelt on the effective implementation of the program.

Excellence Christian School 4

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
Excellence Christian School has provided a great opportunity for my child to receive a great education. All of the lower graded classroom sizes are small and they include a Teacher s Assistant. The facilities are kept impeccably clean and modern. Dr. Lee the principal is outstanding. It means a lot when you can attend a school that the principal has an open door policy. The school has a very active and present PTO that supports the children and families working with the schools administration. This school would be a great choice for any family!


Excellence Christian School 5

Posted October 01, 2013
- a parent
Excellence Christian School is exactly what the name says; it is an excellent school, with an excellent principal, excellent teachers and an excellent staff. The schools foundation it set in Christianity. The environment is warm and loving, and the students excel spiritually, academically and personally. Students and parents are greeted each morning with a smile from the principal and surrounded throughout the day by educators who have the children's best entrances at heart. Imagine a school filled with loving family members and great friends - now you know what it's like to be a part of the Excellence experience.

Excellence Christian School 4

Posted October 01, 2013
- a parent
Excellence is the best of homeschooling and private schooling in a truly safe and Christian atmosphere. The facilities are well maintained and modern. Even though the school has only been in exsistance for 10 years, it has surpassed other private schools in the area. Dr. Lee, the principal, is an educator with a heart for her students and teachers. Check out their website. It is our family's choice. As this school attracts even more dedicated families that give to the school more than just paying the tuition, the school will florish to attract families all over the DC Metro area and some international families that move into the area. Elementary grade classes have grown in size as a wave of new families come to ECS and stay. Enroll early.

Excellence Christian School 4

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
ECS, we call it, is one of the most family friendly schools I know. The education is great. The Principal is personable and always available. The PTO activities, e.g. drive-in movie night, fall social, etc. are a wonderful way to keep the socialization of the parents fun. A little more parental involvement would top it off.


Excellence Christian School 4

Posted June 26, 2013
- a community member
This is a wonderful school. The Staff will put in the extra time to help the students. The Principal's Open Door Policy works well for working parents. The tutition price increase is a bit much especially if you are a returning student I personally think it should be a discount for returning familes.

Excellence Christian School 5

Posted January 17, 2013
- a parent
First year of my son being enrolled at ECS. Faculty and Administration are approachable and easy to talk with. Real sense of family and community here. I had high expectations when enrolling my son and ECS has not disappointed. Communication is their top priority. There is no excuse for any parent claiming they didn't know about something. Grades and assignments are posted online for you to access and teachers/principal will respond to emails almost immediately. Looking forward to future school years at ECS

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Excellence Christian School
9010 Frank Tippett Road, Upper Marlboro, MD  20772
(301) 868-1873
Last modified Excellence Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Excellence Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top