Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
136 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Excellence Christian School 5

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
My son is currently in K5 and has attended since K3. This is an amazing school, with quality teachers and administration. They truly show care and concern for their students. I'm quite pleased with my son's progression thus far and I'm confident he will continue to do well. Dr. Lee is an excellent principal and as others have mentioned, she knows every student by name and that means so much to the students and their parents. This is truly a great school!!

Excellence Christian School 5

Posted February 09, 2016
- a parent
My Daughters have been attending ECS for a while now {they started in K4} and I could not start to express the amount of pleasure I feel knowing that they are a step above the rest. I hear a lot of stories about other schools in the area and it always makes me smile to know that I never have any of their shared concerns. ECS has been and continues to be a blessing with the great Teachers of every grade level, the small classroom sizes, great after school activities all located at the school and wonderful family feeling felt by all. I don't know how the tuition compares to other schools but that is always a pain but truly worth every dime!


Excellence Christian School 5

Posted February 07, 2016
- a parent
My son is currently in kindergarten at this school. I have definitely been very pleased with them. His teacher is wonderful, knows all of her students specific needs, strengths, weaknesses, etc. They are very patient with the kids and do their best to make sure they all succeed. I love the approach they have to teaching the kids how to read. They focus a lot on phonics. After only a couple of months my son was reading and is very good at sounding out words. The school is very big on safety and take extra precautions when visitors enter the building during school hours. The principal is wonderful too and knows all of the students by name when she greets them. Communication is great, they send out emails about everything that's going on with the class and the school overall. They do seem to ask for a lot of money for things such as fundraisers and other things. Other than that I have no complaints at all and my son will definitely be returning there next year.

Excellence Christian School 5

Posted April 09, 2015
- a student
This is my school. I got here last year and ever since they are so fair and caring to all students. They do the best they can to get every student to achieve in education. Ever since my grades have stayed awesome. The principal and while administration is amazing and handles everything amazingly. These people obviously care for every person that walks through the door. They reward the students with praise referrals and Principals Scholar luncheons, which I have attended many times staffed by the one and only principal, Dr. Lee. She is such a loving and caring person. She takes the time to actually listen to all of our needs. The staff and teachers are amazing as well. They make learning fun, well at least most of the time. Some people are even sad when the day is over. Some are even sadder when we have school breaks and/or holidays. In short this is a great school anyone is lucky to attend to.

Excellence Christian School 5

Posted January 18, 2015
- a parent
From the moment I went to do a visit at ECS I said I do not care of the cost my child will be going here. He went to a daycare center where he did not learn anything it was not prepared for K5 the teachers there suck. But since he has been at ECS its the best thing since slice bread he can read, write and he knows way more than I knew at his age. The principal is the bomb.com I wouldn't trade her in for no one else. They are very professional and caring about the kids. I feel like he is in a safe and loving environment. I saw a comment that the teacher did not do a lick of one on one studies or tutoring. Well I had a different experience my child K5 teacher takes time with my child every Tuesday and Thursday. Bottom line hands down my family and I love love love love ECS he will be attending in the fall.


Excellence Christian School 5

Posted October 23, 2014
- a parent
Excellence Christian School is AMAZING!!! Dr. Lee, the principal is the best principal that I have ever come in contact with. She truly cares about each student and even the staff. The curriculum is awesome and children are learning above grade level. I saw complaints about them not handling children with disabilities, but they clearly tell you that when you register so I don't get the complaints. I love it and my child will be here until they make her leave.

Excellence Christian School 3

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
My child has attended ECS for two years. The first year was good; however, the second year was a huge disappointment. First, we were deeply disappointed with how the teacher and administrators handled class conflict and class dynamics. As a previous rating stated, the teachers and administrators do not go the extra mile to truly nurture your child(ren). My child is elementary school age and he was not nurtured or encouraged and his teacher did not spend a lick of extra time with him for anything. The teacher hardly followed up with parents and hardly ever provided voluntary feedback. Unfortunately, it appeared that the administrators/teachers' children were not disciplined the same as other students. The administration seemed to turn a blind-eye to the wrong-doings of their children but readily disciplined other children for the same behavior. Because this is supposed to be a Christian environment, we were very surprised at the school's actions and way of handling matters. Needless to say, we are happy this school year is over so we can move on. It is my understanding that the school will be losing a good number of students for similar reasons.

Excellence Christian School 5

Posted March 08, 2014
- a parent
Dr. Lee is my principal and she is awesome. She listens to the students & cares about our grades. Dominique Weston 3rd Grader ECS Rocks!!!!


Excellence Christian School 4

Posted March 07, 2014
- a parent
Latest Good News: -Principal s Scholar Luncheons - Media Center Grand Opening - NASA visit and field trip for upper school. - NSA workshop for 6th -upper school (2 hour Mission Impossible STEM activity) -LEGO STEM sessions - NASA to establish a more consistent relationship with ESC in terms of implementing the NASA STEM curriculum in grades K-12. This curriculum would provide our students with weekly hands on project based learning activities in the areas of science, technology, engineering, math and also incorporate art design as well. The funding for this initiative has been the focus of the PTO fundraising goals for the 2013-2014 SY and we are anticipating the launch of the school wide STEM program next year. Once funding for the program is secured, our staff will be trained at the NASA site in Greenbelt on the effective implementation of the program.

Excellence Christian School 4

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
Excellence Christian School has provided a great opportunity for my child to receive a great education. All of the lower graded classroom sizes are small and they include a Teacher s Assistant. The facilities are kept impeccably clean and modern. Dr. Lee the principal is outstanding. It means a lot when you can attend a school that the principal has an open door policy. The school has a very active and present PTO that supports the children and families working with the schools administration. This school would be a great choice for any family!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Excellence Christian School
9010 Frank Tippett Road, Upper Marlboro, MD  20772
(301) 868-1873
Last modified Excellence Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Excellence Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. Top