Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Augustine Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 460 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Andover

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $459,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,130.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2014

I heard some parents talking about a review they disagreed with on this site about our school, so I came on and looked at it. This is our first year in this school, and as a working mom and dad, we've been overall satisfied this year, but will continue to watch the curriculum due to the post below. However, a lot of the posts about the community and family feel of the school leave me confused. Maybe as a first year parent, I'm not as in tune, but is a certain clique of parents that are very involved, and if a parent has different ideas on anything big or small, those parents often get bad mouthed or excluded socially. I volunteered in small positions a few times this year and felt a bit left out. Maybe because I work and don't really know a lot of people, don't know. I've heard some parents talk about others behind their backs. Due to this and a busy work schedule, I won't be as involved next year. I guess you can find this at any school, but the message of community just didn't seem to reflect my experience there this year. Maybe it will change next year. It really turned me off. Other than that, we're happy for the time being with the school as a whole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2014

I am a current parent of two of St. Augustine's finest. We have been members of this amazing school community for six years. Our first and lasting impression happened with our first meeting with the nursery teacher. Since then the dedication, knowledge and caring of each subsequent teacher has only increased. This school is not only a place where my boys go to learn to read and write but also a place where their morals and ethics are valued and further nurtured. We pledge alliance and we pray. We champion each other and we pick each other up when we are down. This mentality is fostered from the administration through the students and back to the parents. We are a team with the goal of creating the future leaders of our great nation. If you are looking for a quality education and a community of caring parents and staff - you have found it .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

I am a parent of a current student at St. Augustine and I and my child could not be happier at this school. This school is truly a community with caring teachers, administration and parents. I strongly disagree with the statement posted on jun 4th. I am unaware of any ill effects that my child has suffered due to this common core. In fact I have seen the opposite my child has been challenged to think about the answers to problems instead of memorization. I feel the change has been good. The school I feel is very challenging and rigorous. In addition to the academics my child is learning right from wrong and learning that there are consequences for actions. Morals and discipline are very much a part of the children's day to day life at the school. This you will not find at a public school in any town! I would recommend St. Augustine's to anyone who wants a top notch eduction for their child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

St Augustine is a very fairly priced parochial school with all the characteristics of the best schools in the nation; a caring staff, small class size, and one of the most committed school administrations a parent can find. I have had my children in top-rated private schools in Florida and New York City and St A's compares with these schools at a fraction of the cost. The school has been an Andover institution for 100 years, literally, and a large portion of the student body is made up of children of St A's alumni. I would suggest to the parent who made the Jan 9 comment that if she doesn't like how St. A's is run that she pick a school she likes better and move on rather than allow personal vendetta against the common core sully the reputation of a great school. New families should take the time to visit the school, talk to the faculty, staff and even children so they assess the quality of St. A's for themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

Unfortunately, St A's Andover, MA has gone the route of Common Core this school year 2013-2014 (Common Core Catholic Identity Initiative - which is CC infused with Catholicism) . As a St Augustine Andover, MA parent, I am beyond disappointed and feel utterly betrayed. St Augustine's decided without parental consent or knowledge to move forward with this unproven, untested, controversial curriculum despite having a choice to adopt it or not. So many parents are unaware of this 'change' in direction of the school that I feel obligated to let as many people know as possible before they pay a premium for what is essentially a public school education with a hefty bill. Would I recommend St Augustine's to new parents? No, not unless you want to pay a premium for essentially the same curriculum as your local public school system. Unless they reject Common Core outright, or reject and halt implementation until results come in from the public schools then I would suggest saving your money and paying for a tutor or a math school that can undo what Common Core is doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

Although Andover, MA has an excellent school system, we decided to send our children to St. Augustine Elementary School because we wanted smaller class sizes and daily religion class. St. A's more than met our expectations. The faculty and students formed a close knit, caring group that supports one another. Our children respected their teachers and the teachers respected them. Parents were welcomed to participate in their children's education. St A's was a great second home for our entire family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2012

This is a wonderful school with an excellent faculty and staff, caring teachers and a great principal. The parents are very involved with the school and many have attended here when they were young. This school has a warm family environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 20, 2012

Very rude crossing guard on duty for this school the afternoon of 3/20/12. Heavy set, blonde hair in a bun, aged 50-60. Rude and unpleasant to passers-by. Makes you wonder how she is to the kids? The kids deserve a kind and friendly crossing guard, not this grouch!


Posted September 26, 2011

I 'm very disappoint with this school.I was call the principle and leave her a message twice because I want to asked her about my child BUT she never return my call.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

I have sent 4 children to St. Augustine and though they are all different in their academic strengths and learning styles (2 with ADD), the three that have moved onto high school and college are way ahead of their peers in many subject areas. With respect to an earlier 'review' claiming discrimination, one of my son's best friends while attending there was African-American, and they never experienced (I asked) racial slurs or discrimination in the school. The school teaches Christian values of love for all people and the students spend time in and out of school in service of various charities such as Lazarus House, Hike for Hope, Pennies for Pesos, etc. I'm surprised that greatschools.com let someone write such an unsupportable and incorrect review of the school. If their child was truly discriminated against. Never would such behavior be tolerated by teachers or students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2008

I strongly discourage anyone from sending a child of theirs to this institution. As a parent who has sent two children of my own to this school, I have come to regret spending my hard-earned salary on their tuition at the school, when they could have gotten a superior education at a public school. The teachers lack understanding of students and parents, bringing my children to tears and my spouse and I to fits of anger. The school lacks basic facilities seen in nearly every school, even in Lawrence. Racial discrimination is also a key problem at the school. There have been several instances where there have been antisemetic and racial comments written in public spaces. This is unnacceptable, especially for a school that preaches a Catholic education based on reverence, respect, and responsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2007

Parent involvement is exceptional. If you're looking for a great education for your children in a loving, Catholic environment, this is it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2007

Excellent school ! The teachers are dedicated and outstanding. The students are motivated to learn. Strong parental involvement. Faith based learning provides a strong moral foundation. Impressive academics. Reasonable tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

I want to apologize for my previous statement. The episode was misconstrued by myself. I've received so much help from staff after the incident. The principal overall, is an exceptional leader. The school should not be held accountable for other people's opionions or behavior. A childs education first begins at home. The children are thought to be respectful and fair at St.Augustine. The principal of St. Augustine is a great leader. Her strength and encouragment gives you enlightment and direction. If you are thinking of sending your child, it's a good investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2004

If you are a parent of a minority background, I strongly discouraged you from having your child attending this school. My son was subjected to Racial incidents and Harassment from the students, which was tolerated by the staff of St. Augustine Elementary School. An educational institution has a duty to provide a nondiscriminatory environment that is conducive to learning. In addition to the curriculum, students learn about many different aspects of human life and interaction from school. The type of environment that is tolerated or encouraged by or at a school can therefore send a particularly strong signal to, and serve as an influential lesson for, its students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 6%
Hispanic 7% 16%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 2% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Boston
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Skiing
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Skiing

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26 Central Street
Andover, MA 01810
Phone: (978) 475-2414

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Shawsheen School
Andover, MA


The Pike School
Andover, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT