Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lesley Ellis School

Private | PK-9 | 68 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Arlington

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $430,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 27, 2014

This is the best school ever! My son attended and it gave him such a great foundation and love for learning. It gave our family an amazing sense of community and great life-long friends. He still goes back to visit his favorite teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2014

Great Early Childhood Program! This is our first year at Lesley Ellis and couldn't be more happy. Our daughter is in Pre-K this year and she's learning so much. We were in another program last year and the quality of education is so much higher than her previous school in Brookline. She does the afterschool program and because of that so many teachers know my daughter so well. Its nice that care is offered until 5:30 and we look forward to when she's in the Elementary Program, as she'll then be able to do Ski Club, Rock Climbing and so many other fun activities in afterschool. Not only does our daughter enjoy her experience, my husband and I feel part of the school community. We've been able to get involved on many levels and have met so many other families - so we're really not missing out on the "neighborhood school" experience. All around - this is a great school and we're thrilled to be part of the community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2014

Our family loves Lesley Ellis. We have two kids who go to the school, one in Elementary and one in Early Childhood. We love the caring teachers who not only know their stuff but also know kids as individuals. In the Early Childhood program, the teachers grow the curriculum out of the interests of the children; they make sure kids are getting all of the important skills they need but are very creative in how they get there.And the young kids get to benefit from being in a school with older children. They get weekly Spanish classes with a native speaker, time in the library, music, and movement! In Elementary, the multi-age classrooms (Grades 1&2, 3&4, 5&6, and soon 7&8) give the kids a chance to learn from others, and then in alternating years, practice being leaders. There are lots of chances for students to interact with each other- my little one waves excitedly to his older "buddy" when we see him on the playground after school. Because classrooms are team taught, kids get a chance to learn from and connect with a variety of adults. All school assemblies led by the older kids, the great anti-bias curriculum, and teachers' focus on the whole child are a few favorite parts of LES
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

We sent our child here for two years in the early childhood education program and it was a $40K mistake. The emphasis on high quality early education seems to be getting worse as the school expands. While the enrollment in the school is highest for preK and lowest (i.e., less than 10 students) in grades 5 and 6, the efforts of the administration are seemingly reversed. The effect of this seems to be very high turnover in the early childhood classroom and directors. Lesley Ellis is definitely not the place to send your young child if you are from a family with two working parents. A preschooler who is there for the whole day could experience 4 different classrooms and teachers combinations in a single day (early dropoff, assigned room, merged room, and afterschool). The teachers from 8:30 to 3:15 will be the same each day, otherwise they change everyday. The quality of early education afterschool program leaves much to be desired - many days there is an education student looking at the phone. There are a lot of half days and extra holidays, all of which require extra money and forms and, again, of which the quality of the program and teachers, highly varies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

My daughter has been going to Lesley Ellis for 3 years now, & I feel so lucky to have found this place. Every teacher is extremely talented so you never have to worry about which classroom your child is assigned to each year. They are wonderful at engaging each child and quickly figuring out your child s strengths & how to best teach them. This is not only from the small class sizes, but the multi-disciplinary, project-based learning that goes on at LES. For example, my 3rd grader learns about what life was like for Native American children in Social Studies & then is creating a doll from a corn husk as an Art project. Or they will learn how settlers imposed laws on Native Americans unlawfully & without warning. Later in the week, teachers are imposing new rules on the children when the class plays Uno together. Then of course the class discusses how they felt and how the Native Americans may have felt too. This example also touches on the strong anti-bias program that is a cornerstone of the school s curriculum. The school and parent community are truly partners working together to create thoughtful, caring, & responsible children. So glad LES has expanded through middle school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

Our daughter is a third grader at Lesley Ellis School & has been there since Kindergarten. Here is a summary of what we most like about LES: The great teacher/student ratio enables them to teach in even smaller groups at different skill levels. The teachers are truly dedicated to their work in a way that makes it a fun, creative and very involved experience for kids. The school invests in technology without forgetting how important it is for the kids to do things hands-on, the old way,as well. The way the teachers work as a team and integrate their class time for a common goal. The parent community:Open and caring,which creates a fast feeling of belonging for the new kids as well as their parents. The head of the school listens to parent feedback, takes actions accordingly. The fact that the school will be adding 7th grade (2014) and 8th grade (2015) gives us peace of mind. I think above all, what we appreciate the most about LES is how our daughter is growing up to be a kind, respectful individual with curiosity and love for learning as well as an awareness and appreciation for different cultures and backgrounds while having fun and laughter in Lesley Ellis School environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2012

Okay school. Lousy grounds and so so building. The pre k teachers are really inspiring, at least two I know of, and every penny was well spent. The pre school teachers....well, not so good. Funny that that is the weakest group given that most parents seek preschool from Lesley Ellis. First grade and second grade teachers are strong. The administration Is okay. We hung in there at LE for three years but really in hindsight would have been fine at a local preschool at half the cost. That said the pre-k was quite good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

Our daughter has been at Lesley Ellis since preschool and, in June, completed her fifth grade year, graduating with four other students. We could not have imagined a better combined preschool and elementary experience for her ... the small classes, terrificteachers and the care and attention paid to her spirit have provided a wonderful foundation. She always reveled in the fact that 'everyone knew her' as she walked the halls of 'her school'. We wondered how she would adapt moving into a very large public middle school ... it has been great. The foundation was laid at Lesley Ellis - she is now building on that foundation with new friendships, excitement over bigger classes and a strong sense of self as she moves within this new and complex social world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

My son is in his 6th year at Lesley Ellis. At first we thought it was just a great pre-school for him, and then we realized the value of the education he was receiving. He has become a socially well-adjusted, kind and well rounded student due to the education he has been given. He is so fortunate. So too will your child if you send them to this incredible school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2008

My daughter attended Lesley Ellis for 5 years. The best things about it were: 1. Terrific teaching! They get to know your children and teach them as individuals! 2. Simple gifts! This is not a fancy school--these kids appreciate simpler things, other people, play and ideas not name brands and who has the fancier sneakers. 3. Social guidance. Very clear about how you treat other people, manners, how to interact, etc. and sets clear expectations. 4. Ambitious academics. Writing, math, sci, especially. 5. You will get into your next school EASY!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 67%
Two or more races 14% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
Hispanic 5% 16%
Black 2% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 5:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Deanne Benson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • AISNE
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (781) 641-1052

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

41 Foster Street
Arlington, MA 02474
Website: Click here
Phone: (781) 641-1346

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Dearborn Academy
Arlington, MA




St Agnes School
Arlington, MA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT