Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Berkley Middle School

Public | 5-8 & ungraded | 382 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 24, 2014

I'm entering 8th grade this year, & the past 3 years of this school were truely amazing! The achedemics were very helpful for later on in life and so are the teachers. The teachers are always there for you when there's something wrong and most of them are super kind. Also, the guidance councelor is truly sweet and easy to talk to. The school is also very easy to get around because it's kinda small. They also have a cheerleading squal, a basketball team, a soccer team, baseball & softball teams for you to try out for. So if your looking for a school to send your kids to, I definetly suggest Berkley Middle School. Go Eagles! :)


Posted May 12, 2009

Berkley Middle School is awesome! They have really great teachers that help you and theyre like so awesome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2008

i am 14 and just graduated from 8th grade, and some of my favorite memories are in this school, and even though i had problems learning math i know mrs.howell, mr.welch and mrs.lobo were there for me and just because computer class is not pulling through dont blame the school plus we do learn the basics because i have been learning for the past 4 years and dont blame the teachers for your childs and or friends childs problems and drug uses because its there choice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2008

parents in berkley dont want our limited funds wasted on social programs. we're more interested in academics.parents are to do their job, let the school do theirs. we're very fortunate to have teachers who care and are dedicated and we are proud of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2005

I agree with the second parent on the first's comment. I attended Berkley Elementary and Middle schools, and am now a student at Somerset High School. My four years at BMS were some of my favorite in school. On the issue of extracirricular, I participated in the Drama program in 6th and 7th grade and only stopped because I got my first job in 8th. On the comment about drugs and alcohol: I personally felt, then and now, that having the negatives of smoking and drinking pushed on us all through our school years didn't help much at all. In fact I think it makes many children curious to know personally what is so bad about them. I know now that many students in my grade are in fact drinking and doing drugs. Just goes to show that is our parent's responsibility to drill this into our heads, not our teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 24, 2004

I think the last parent needs to understand that berkley school has the second lowest cost per pupil in the state and if you don't provide enough revenue to support those programs that you feel will help the students that you can't expect to have them. get involved now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2004

I think Berkley Middle School has had poor extracurricular programs. In computer they arn't learning to use new programs, just moduals that dont have any connection to learning any computer skills nedded in many jobs for the future. Health and life skills which is needed during this time in the case that they're friends start doing drugs or drinking is not incorperated into they're weekly schedual at any time during the year. Although sexual education is provided to the 7th and 8th grade students, several of my child's friends have become a bad influence on him/her. I think more involvement from the teachers is needed to get these students help, and at the time I know that even my child doesn't feel comfortable with talking to the teachers. I am afraid for my child's, friend's health and wish for you to get more information out to the students about drugs, alcohole, violence, and other informative information to help them with their individual problems and/or peer pressure upon them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 54% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 39% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Female79%
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students72%
Female76%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students31%
Female33%
Male29%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Female71%
Male47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students55%
Female69%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Female87%
Male60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students56%
Female67%
Male45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Female88%
Male65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students45%
Female53%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students42%
Female45%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 67%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Hispanic 2% 16%
Black 1% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21 North Main St
Berkley, MA 02779
Phone: (508) 884-9434

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Walker
Taunton, MA


Edward F Leddy
Taunton, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT