Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Private
Beverly, MA
Students enrolled: 152

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Waring School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
As a parent with a child about to enter her second year at Waring, I cannot disagree more with the June 2014 and June 2013 posters. The school is outsanding, and the new headmaster is exactly the right leader for taking this school forward and continuing to strengthen its incredible impact on the students. I understand people don't always like change, but change and progress/positive evolution are very different things. The posters below from March 2013 capture the true Waring experience in a nutshell. The school is not for everyone - but it is right if you want an academically and culturally intensive, multifacted education in a small, community oriented and liberal arts atmosphere. The school does ask a lot of its students, but it gives a lot more in retrun. My child relishes the hard work (across academics, music, sports, art, language), the socratic approach, the independence, high level of accountability and community throughly. She cannot wait to go back, despite the high demands placed in her each day. I only wish I could have attended Waring myself. Terrific leaders, teachers, staff, students, parents. We are thrilled to be a Waring family.

The Waring School 4

Posted June 19, 2014
- a parent
I cannot put it better that the June 14, 2013 reviewer below. The June 2012 replacement of the longtime head has definitely impacted what was a superb school to which my family will forever be indebted. I would encourage parents of any applying student to seek the counsel of the parents of a recent graduate, as there is no question but that Waring's best years are behind it.


The Waring School 2

Posted June 14, 2013
- a parent
We have had concerns about Waring over the last year, which is perhaps due to the old headmaster leaving His loss is keenly felt and the dramatic shift in tone at the school possibly is preferable by some though we are quite saddened at the loss in vibrancy, mutual respect and community. I think it is important for new parents not to rely on the history of the school and to have their children speak with other students before they consider attending. As with all schools it is right for some and not others.

The Waring School 5

Posted March 08, 2013
- a parent
This school is a rare find in the world of schools! I am continually impressed by what and how my child is learning and how engaged she is. The teachers encourage students to think and learn as opposed to memorize. The standards are high and students are expected to accept responsibility for their learning. Teachers, hands on activity, seminar style classes, group tutorials and upperclassmen mentors are employed to fully engage students. French language fluency is fostered and international travel is a part of the high school curriculum. All graduates go on to 4 year college or university; this is an impressive statistic on its own. The administration is available and approachable by parents and students alike. The new headmaster interacts with all the students in various ways and the school community is happy with him. My child loves school, loves the Waring school and she is going to return for another year. All of the children in her class and most of the student body are returning as well. We feel lucky to have found such a wonderfully engaging school with a proven method of educating.

The Waring School 5

Posted March 05, 2013
- a parent
Waring turns out graduates who are independent, thoughtful, and multi-faceted, not to mention fluent in French and comfortable with international travel! The school demands a lot from students, including not only rigorous classical academic work, but also music, and music theory, participation in sports, and in theatre. Waring asks children to perform outside their comfort zones. But it gives a lot back: the faculty nurture children in multi-age group tutorials, and support them as they try new things -- including for upperclassmen, mentoring young writers and math students, under the supervision of a faculty member. Waring asks a lot -- and in so doing, Waring produces exceptional young adults.


The Waring School 5

Posted August 14, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

The Waring School 5

Posted July 10, 2009
- a parent
The best school around, great for kids with a desire to become independent critical thinkers.

The Waring School 5

Posted March 26, 2009
- a student
A great school. I graduated several years ago and still find myself appreciative of what I got out of Waring. The teachers are exceptionally dedicated, the coursework is rigorous, the sense of community is strong. Highly recommended.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Waring School
35 Standley Street, Beverly, MA  01915
(978) 927-8793
Last modified The Waring School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
The Waring School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top