Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

East Boston Central Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 40 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Boston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $235,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2012

As a parent, I could not be happier with this school. My son has learned so much this year and is eager to get up in the morning and go to EBCCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

I'm also a former student tf EBCCS, and I feel that academically, and spiritually, it is the best option for anyone in the Boston area. From EBCCS I went to Malden Catholic, and I was extremely well prepared. The teachers at EBCCS are excellent, the learning experience is very comprehensive since the class sizes are small, and not only did I advance academically, I learned how to be a gentlemen. At EBCCS you won't last if you don't have character and discipline, and I think a lack of discipline is quite evident in the long winded negative review of the school, based on the fact that there are so many things spelled wrong. Without a doubt, EBCCS has been (for over 100 years), is, and will be one of the best grade schools in Boston.


Posted January 19, 2011

I am a student from EBCCS and Honestly worst experience ever. They didn't prepare me for high school. When I got to high school most of my classmates who had gone to a public school where way more prepared then I was. All their main focus was on respect, basically assuming a parents job. Students should be taught mainly on academics not respect. I m not saying it's a bad thing their teaching respect but they focus way too much on that by giving out detentions for any little thing and yelling at us for simple miss understandings. I felt the teachers were overly strict and I would not recommend this school to anybody.


Posted September 8, 2010

EBCCS is a caring school community. The school staff is superb! The school challenges it's students academically while teaching them the values of compassion and personal responsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2008

I love this wonder school and the teachers are just amazing. My children Avery and Cameron are just enjoying learning and going to school each and everyday. I'm even planning on sending my twins there also. Love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

I have been a parent is EBCCS for 11 years. My daughter is going into the 8th grade and I am broken hearted to think this is my last year. My childern as well as myself have made wonderful friends and a new family within EBCCS. The staff is caring and kind always looking out for what is best for the children. My older daughter is now entering into 10th grade and the foundation she recieved from EBCCS made it easier for her during her first year in High School. This school provides a exceptional academic foundation along with moral values which in this day and age is very hard to find. I would highly recommend this school to anyone. Thank you EBCCS for all your caring and devotion to my childern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

I think the principal is way to mean to the kids.My kid came home crying one day.I don't think it is that good of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

What I think of EBCCS is that it is the greatest school for both of my children. The staff are wonderful and so is the education. EBCCS is the greatest school you could go to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

I have two children currently enrolled at EBCCS and I have been very happy with their education thus far. While no school is perfect, I know that if I have an issue I can discuss it with my children's teachers and/or the principal and be heard. One of my children did begin his education at a public school and I find the education he is receiving at EBCCS to be better. He was actually a little behind when he first entered, but due to caring teachers he has caught up and is doing well. The teachers also stay for extra help sessions every week. I must respectfully disagree with the previous reviewer when he/she states that EBCCS students are not prepared for public high school...most of the students receivng FULL BU scholarships last year attended EBCCS. I would definitely say I am pleased with my children's education at EBCCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Although I was pleased with the school when we first attended, I was quickly disappointed in the teaching staff. EBCCS assumes the role of parent all too much. Their gym/music teacher is not qualified and is more than not rude to the students, talking street talk in a Catholic school. To me, is unacceptable. Detentions are given out freely for minor issues, ones that could be dealt with on a teacher/parent level. Although the curriculum in relation to other Catholic schools, I have noticed is higher, the comparison to public school is not. Most students who leave EBCCS are not prepared for public high school. I haveI no hard feelings for all the staff, just a chosen few.


Posted August 10, 2003

I have 3 children that are students at EBCCS. The Teachers, Principal and staff are wonderful with all the students. The Education,discipline, and overall care the children are getting you will not find in another school. Great parent involvement. If you want the best education , discipline , and over all safety for you children EBCCS is the place to be. Ask any past students like me or there children that the send how much love and fun they will find at EBCCS......
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 67%
Hispanic 29% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Black 3% 8%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Boston
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

69 London Street
Boston, MA 02128
Phone: (617) 567-7456

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Dante Alighieri
Boston, MA


Otis Elementary School
East Boston, MA


McKay K-8 School
East Boston, MA




Adams Elementary School
East Boston, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT