Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Tynan Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
I feel the teachers are great but again it is the principal that is the problem...many parents agree to this

Tynan Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
I feel that the parents do but not the principal..she only cares about how she looks as a principal but does not care about the students


Tynan Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
I feel that the teachers do a very good job but the principal needs to be replaced...she does not look at both sides of situations with students and is very condescending with parents

Tynan Elementary School 1

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
The principal (Ms. Gant) is very rude to parents and even to her own staff.

Tynan Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
I absolutely love this school! I have 1 son that graduated from tynan to middle school, and 2 sons that currently attend and are in Autism strand classes. The teachers go out of their way to care for their students needs, and foster a love of learning. My boys love their former teachers just as much as their current ones. I can not say enough about how truly wonderful the teachers, paraprofessionals, and therapists are in the autism classes!! We have been truly blessed to have such a wonderful school. The school is like an extended family, as a school should be, and their communication is excellent. The principal really loves the kids, she is very hands on and approachable to them. She organizes amazing things for the kids and families alongside teachers and staff, including, but not limited to, adding dance, and vocal music for all students this year. I will say bus issues are happening with all BPS schools and have been for years. That is not a tynan issue, it's a parenting issue. The school can only do so much when children are not there 24 hours a day. Parents need to step up! Some kids aren't being raised at home to have respect for themselves and others.


Tynan Elementary School 1

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
I am very disappointed with this school and the principle and how she deals with different things. The only reason why I am rating this school is because of my sons teacher is unbelievable!! The school itself I have nothing really good to say about it.!!! The discipline matter is a joke!! The bus and bus monitors are a joke!!! Stop bussing kids, keep kids in their own neighborhoods!!!! I am so over this school and school year!!! I do not recommend this school to anyone!! It kills me to send him their every day but he has no choice in the matter cuz they bus kids!!!!!! Parents need to teach their kids morals and discipline!! These kids that are picking on my child need to grow up and pick on someone their on size or age and see what happens. Parents need to teach their kids the number one rule in life.. Treat others as you would like to be treated...

Tynan Elementary School 5

Posted November 01, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are awesome! They love the students so much that its a feeling that they carry on for the rest of their lives... I still remember all my teachers from this school and love them so much. They made me care so much about education.

Tynan Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 20, 2009
- a teacher
I love the Tynan School because the teachers and the principal care so much about the students. At the Tynan, the students come first! We are always looking out for the academic, emotional, and social needs of our students. Our students are the best!


Tynan Elementary School 5

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
The kids are happy and are learning

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tynan Elementary School
650 East 4th Street, Boston, MA  02127
(617) 635-8641
Last modified Tynan Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tynan Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top