Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Park Street School

Private | K-6

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Boston

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $865,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, April 20, 2014

For the amout of money it costs in addition to the donations they pressure you for, it's not a great education. I sent two kids there and after 2 years, put them in a public school which they were ill prepared for. I regret wasting that money, I could have put it away in their college fund. The head of school is a phony, she likes you if you donate a lot of money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

Our 4 year old attends PSK and we are very pleased with the school. Having a great learning environment and Christian awareness has been truly rewarding. We look forward to sending our second child next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2013

My children have attended Park Street for 6 years now, and I can't say enough wonderful things about the school, the quality of the education, the commitment of the school to the best teaching tools. My kids love the school, the teachers and the facility. The Park Street community is wonderful, and I am always impressed by how mature and nice the older kids and graduates of the school are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2013

Park Street KIDS is wonderful! Park Street School is average. The teachers are committed and caring, but the leadership is BELOW AVERAGE - only caring about money and the people who donate to the school - it's so obvious in everything they do. The principal doesn't even know your name (or care about your child) if you are not a major donor. Private schools -- all schools -- should care about every child, especially the leadership -
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2012

We are so grateful for Park Street School! The commitment and energy of the teachers, staff and administration are matched by a high level of parent involvement. This community works hard together to create a dynamic environment for the intellectual, spiritual and physical growth of the whole student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2012

Park Street School is an amazing neighborhood school. The children are so happy and engaged. The foundation for knowledge and learning our children have received is unparalleled. They have excellent middle school placement. Most importantly, children learn to love learning, one another and God. I couldn't imagine a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2009

Both of my children attend this school and we could not be happier. The teachers are loving, kind and highly qualified and that is rare to come by. My kids are both very excited about their school day each morning and equally happy on their way home. I like how the school focuses on their developmental objectives but doesn't neglect character building and the social side of growth. The girls are challenged academically but in a stress free fun environment. The development we have seen in one year has far surpassed our expectations. It is expensive for us, but well worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

My oldest child attended Park Street Kids for a few years but we are happy that we have decided to educate her elsewhere. The education provided by the school is above average and the teachers are dedicated and very competent. That being said, the administration is more focused on fundraising, not on your child's development. The admission process and selection process is confusing and opaque. Be prepared for conflicting information if you elect to apply. My oldest child was accepted and attended for two years but we are much happier elsewhere and do not have to subject our other child to their subjective admission process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2007

This is currently my third year teaching at Park Street School. The school's curriculum is very in-depth and exciting for students, offering many hands-on opportunities for learning and incorporating the Boston community in a variety of lessons. The teachers put their heart and soul into teaching the students, often staying late into the evening to prepare for future lessons. The staff provides an encouraging and supportive backbone for the teachers to lean on. My experience here will most likely never be topped by another school environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 15, 2007

The school is beautiful and at first I thought this would be a great place for my children, but I soon learned that a beautiful building does not equal a quality school. From everything I saw I have concluded that the Head of School is not qualified for her position and treats her teachers poorly. There was no plan for children with behavior problems and the other students and staff suffered because of it. Their photographer makes a good slide show of what the school sells its self as, but when the cameras aren't out, Park Street School is not worth [the money].


Posted February 9, 2007

Park Street School is a wonderful place for children to learn and grow. It is an incredibly safe and stimulating environment for learning with teachers who really care about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACTS
  • ISLA
Fax number
  • (617) 523-7576

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

67 Brimmer St
Boston, MA 02108
Website: Click here
Phone: (617) 523-7577

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Advent School
Boston, MA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT