Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Name Parish School

Private | PK-6 | 93 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Boston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $356,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,360.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 14, 2011

I have been associated with Holy Name Parish School for over 20 years, as both my children are graduates. Now, my granddaughters are students. This school's curriculum and faculty provide an exceptional blend of academic development, encouragement of moral virtues and sense of community; giving the students a great foundation to build on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

My son has been in Holy Name for 8 years, and loves to go to school every morning. The teacher's are so dedicated, and the principal and vice principal are the best, and know every student. There is such a great sense of community with our events. My son has been taught academics as well as the importance of acts of kindness, morals, and virtues. I am also a proud graduate of Holy Name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Great families and great teachers. All to promote the best all round learning experience for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Awesome school with heart and a great sense of responsibility to it's children, neighborhood and it's mission.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Holy Name has an outstanding faculty of teachers. They genuinely care for the well being of each student. My two children have excelled at Holy Name, my son is now a freshman at Boston Latin Academy, and my daughter continues to be top in her class at Holy Name. I can't say enough about the level of comfort I have, knowing the safe and nurturing environment Holy Name has and continues to provide for my children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Holy Name has great teachers who care about the kids and their education. There is a great sense of community at Holy Name with parental involvement in every aspect of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

I've sent my three children, the youngest is in 5th grade, to Holy Name, from pre-school through 5th grade. All three have benefited from the first class education Holy Name consistently gives. Not only are the academics first-rate, the teachers are innovative, passionate leaders and the administration is completely dedicated to their educational mission. The Principal and Vice principal are extremely well-educated and respected; they work with each student to instill in them a love of learning and, most importantly, the Catholic life ethic. This policy makes these students true Christians, knowing the difference between right and wrong, even through shades of grey. The children who go to Holy Name are a cut above others, they're more decent, more polite, kinder and more tolerant of differences. I can say with certainty that my children have received (and are receiving) the best education possible at Holy Name Parish School. I am so grateful that we were led to this wonderful school and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Holy Name School has so many extras to be thankful for. They have classes that educate our children about todays world. Although this is a catholic school, the children learn about other religions as well in theology class. There is also Drug Awareness, Bully Prevention in kindergarten, Prevention of Child Abuse and Mollestation for both parents and children. Not to mention that theres incredible music, arts, gym, and even computers classes from kindergarten and up. The in-house librarian teaches students at an earlier age how to be responsible and enjoy reading library books. There are so many more educational field trips and gatherings that really bring both community and families together. I even worked in the rectory part-time after school when I was younger answering the phone and learning secretarial duties. I felt so proud and better prepared for my future and this is why my 4 year old daughter is at Holy Name now. Great teachers. Classes geared towards awareness, safety and prevention. Extra curricular activities and sports that help them expand their horizons, find their talents, learn multiple languages and travel. I love to volunteer and watch my daughter interact with all of her friends. These children learn to have a sense of respect, self-control and appreciation for each others gifts because they are taught to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

The best education and values at a reasonable price. I recommend it to every concerned parents for their kids education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

I LOVE our school community. We have a few families that have gone through some pretty tough situations, parents of young children passing away from cancers, family homes burning down ect.. I watched the people of this school pull together so quickly to make sure these families were fed, clothed, and hugged. They knew they had a very large school family to help them through whatever the situation was. I am proud to be a part of the Holy Name School community and would encourage anyone entering into the search for schools in our neighborhood to come check us out!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Black 5% 8%
Hispanic 4% 16%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Boston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

535 West Roxbury Parkway
Boston, MA 02132
Phone: (617) 325-9338

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mozart
Roslindale, MA


Lyndon K-8 School
West Roxbury, MA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT