Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bourne High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 28, 2016
- a community member
All the teachers at this school are rude. They do not care for the students that are doing bad. They expect all students to learn at the same pace but you can't have a class full of 20 students and expect them all to learn everything all at the same time. Everyone learns differently. But the teachers will never understand that. Thats why they work at Bourne High School.

Bourne High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 28, 2016
- a community member
This school only respects the students that play sports and get good grades. If you don't, then the student is most likely gonna go through hell.


Bourne High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 28, 2016
- a community member
This school FAVORITES certain students. Preferably the "star athletes". If you don't play sports then this is not the school for you because they will find any reason to get on you. Its funny because the "star athletes" are the students that bully other students and are the ones that party every weekend but the teachers at this school will never understand or see that and are only down to get the students that don't play sports and don't get the best grades but in reality, those are the nicest and best students in the school but they suffer from being in this awful school with the staff and star athletes.

Bourne High School 1

Posted February 28, 2016
- a community member
School is full of bullies. If you want to get bullied come to Bourne High School.

Bourne High School 4

Posted February 02, 2014
- a student
It's been a terrific 4 years at BHS. Great teachers, great friends, small classes, high level of instruction. I found the teachers worked hard, but we were expected to do the same. I've heard that some lower level classes weren't challenging, but I suspect that was because many students just didn't want to work (I've seen that with many of my classmates). For a small school, it's got enough challenging classes and enough sports and extracurricular to keep any college minded student excited.


Bourne High School 1

Posted July 18, 2013
- a community member
I attended Bourne High in 1999 as a freshman and left to go to Sturgis because Bourne was so bad. The teachers paid no attention to anyone unless they were poorly behaved. I got good grades and was ignored. My brother also attended Bourne High, and like I saw in another review, he was targeted as a bad apple and constantly picked on and blamed for things he did not do by the teachers. I expect teachers to challenge students no matter what their academic level or skills are, but the teachers at Bourne just do not care about the kids or educating them. Bourne High just pushes kids through and offers little to no support to students who are advanced or who are struggling. I noticed a positive review by a student posted on here, it is full of spelling mistakes and grammar errors, something I think is typical of Bourne students. I spoke with a friend who stayed at Bourne for all four years of high school and she said she was completely unprepared for college because no one at Bourne taught her how to write a paper. On top of all of this, the school is completely run down and just depressing to be in. It's no surprise that 40% of students from Bourne choose to attend other schools.

Bourne High School 2

Posted March 06, 2011
- a parent
Unfortunately, I have to agree with the parents here who feel that the school is not good. If your child naturally does well and doesn't need help, they can make it through. This is not the school for any child that struggles or is on an IEP. Discipline is also unfairly handed out - once a student is targeted, it's all over. Dress codes are a joke. Also, for those parents who find a sense of bigotry, that is true of Bourne in general.

Bourne High School 4

Posted November 08, 2010
- a parent
Both of my sons attend Bourne High School and I am mostly happy with the Principal and faculty. My older son does well academically and with sports. My younger son has had issues with his grades and I find that most of his teachers are willing to help in any way possible. There are always "those" teachers that are lacking, but this is an issue in most schools. The parents should be held just as accountable as the teachers. Every child should excel in an environment like Bourne High School, there's no excuse no to do well when the tools are available.


Bourne High School
no rating

Posted August 16, 2009
- a parent
My child attends this school and feels so overlooked by the staff and teachers because of her being a minority.Not to say there is racism there, but feels unconnected due to the fact that there are no minority teachers who can understand where she's coming from.If you're not a star athelete, you're forgotten about and tossed to the wayside.

Bourne High School 1

Posted May 10, 2009
- a parent
Bourne is not minority friendly. The only thing they encourage is sports. They do not acknowlege good grades or high academic achievement. A 3.5 or graduating 10th in your class does not get you into the honor society. I have had 3 children attend this school. I am happy to see my youngest get out of it. The only positive thing I can say is that Bourne teaches you how to overcome adversities. If you can survive the bigotry here you can survive anywhere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bourne High School
75 Waterhouse Road, Bourne, MA  02532
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (508) 759-0670
Last modified Bourne High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top