Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Boxford Academy

Private | PK-5 | 11 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Boxford

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $524,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2011

My 3rd grade son started at BA this past fall. He has had an amazing experience. The education is top notch. The attention to detail and constant encouragement of the teachers has transformed a somewhat careless student into one who takes pride in doing his best on assignments. Also the sense of community among the students is like no other I have seen. The recesses are wonderful. My son is able to burn off the energy that would otherwise distract him during his lessons. Our family likes the school so much, we enrolled another son midway throughout the year. He has also blossomed. It is a pleasure to write a review based on our family's experience at BA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

They are small which gives lots of individual attention to the students, the smallness makes it feel like we are all family, their curriculum is one of the best in the state and the kids learn at a high level, the teachers are all awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

It is a beautiful private school with the most patient and fun-loving teachers. Classes are small and children get lot's of 1 on 1. Everyone is friendly and share the same common goal - to enrich our children's life and to teach them about Jesus in an encouraging Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

I adore this school. I leave every morning knowing my children are learning amazing things from caring, talented and nurturing teachers. Strong moral/character development as well as challenging academics. I couldn't ask for more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2009

A very fine school - academically challenging, nurturing and caring. The curriculum is top notch - puts public schools to shame - even Boxford public which people rave about (why?). Cons are it is too small and they need more solid leadership from an administrative standpoint. A true Christian school - they aren't just saying it. We miss it, we'd still be there if the enrollment was bigger.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

Academicaly it is indeed a great school with a classical approach, my child is well prepared for the next level. If they improved the admininstration I would give a 5 star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

This is an excellent school. Both my children have attended this school. They are now excelling in High School - top of their classes. I would highly recommend this school to anyone. It is a shame that because someone could not get their way they feel they can compromise others. The teachers and board are wonderful and work well together to create a nurturing environment for children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

My child has recieved an excellent education from caring and compassionate teachers. I would give the school a look for yourself. It is unfortunate that some did not get their way and now have to speak negatively about the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

School is not what it use to be. The great teachers have left and the board has no idea what they are doing. No academic advisor. I would not recomend this school at this time. The school is going down faster than a sinking ship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

A fine education. My Boxford Acaemy experience is better than the more expensive local 'prep' christian school. It is academically its equal, however, less 'bells and whistles'. The small class size allows for flexibility, individual attention and seperates itself from the traditional by becoming your school 'family'. The best Kindergarten program I have encountered (and I have expereince 4 different ones) Most important is my children LOVE school. Worth every penny!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

Boxford Academy has been a wonderful place for my children to learn and grow. The teachers are excellent, have a passion to teach and a desire to follow the Lord's commands. This school has provided my son and daughter with a solid foundation and a loving atmosphere where they feel loved and nurtured.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

This is the finist school and the best value for your dollar. Small classes taught by teachers who LOVE and CARE for their students. My son has grown and learn so much since we transfered him to this great traditional education. LOVE DICTATES HERE Learning comes natural. My son is in the fourth grade, however with the small classes it is equal to a 6th grade in any public school. There is nothing negative about Boxford Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Black 6% 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 16%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Supports home-based learning
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 223
Boxford, MA 01921
Phone: (978) 887-8390

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Harry Lee Cole
Boxford, MA


Spofford Pond
Boxford, MA





Meritor Academy
Middleton, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT