Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Spofford Pond 1

Posted March 30, 2014
- a parent
Beware, the school lacks direction and spends money like crazy on teachers and their contracts. Students suffer while teachers run the show. Please before considering the high taxes for good schools, ask around and get the real scoop, not one pushed by the aging superintendent.

Spofford Pond 5

Posted February 23, 2014
- a community member
Great school! The faculty and staff work hard to meet the needs of all students!


Spofford Pond 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a community member
Great place for children to learn! The faculty works hard day in and day out.

Spofford Pond 1

Posted May 03, 2013
- a teacher
School is nice, teachers are great. The principal does not know what she is doing, does not support her staff, and does not conduct herself in a professional way. Due to her leadership (or lack there of) the school lacks unity.

Spofford Pond 5

Posted May 05, 2011
- a community member
I am in tenth grade at Masconomet right now. My experience at Spofford was fantastic. I was in the band and chorus and loved both. My teachers were all very good, nice and helpful. I was in the Math Olympiad program, on student council in sixth grade, and in the accelerated English "book club" group. There are many opportunities for students who aren't especially challenged by average classes to do a little bit more. I really loved Spofford and the four years that I spent there, and I think it prepared me well for middle school.


Spofford Pond 5

Posted January 23, 2009
- a parent
We have had an excellent experience there!

Spofford Pond
no rating

Posted July 28, 2008
- a student
I am currently in 10th grade at this town's regional high school [masconomet] and looking back at Spofford, there is a lot of things that I wish teachers did differently. In this towns middle school [masconomet ms] all of the teachers stay after school ends for 45 minutes to help anyone who needs extra practice on anything that they had been recently learning. I wish that Spofford had done something similar to this. As a former student, I remembered having a lot of questions that couldn't be answered in normal day class, and occasionally felt lost. The teachers are satisfactory, but could benefit from an attitude makeover.

Spofford Pond 5

Posted March 18, 2008
- a parent
We are having a terrific third grade experience. The new principal is very approachable. He is also wonderful with the children. There is a great anti-bullying campaign called 'Steps to Respect.'


Spofford Pond 5

Posted October 25, 2006
- a parent
This school has a great staff of teachers. They are dedicated, caring, and willing to give one-on-one attention to any child in need. There is a great concert band, jazz band, and chorus offered to any child in 4th, 5th, or 6th grade with top-notch band instructer Mrs.Monty and other lesson-teachers such as Mr.Fluelling and Mr.Walke. Not only are these three musisians terrific players, they also are kind and helpful. Mrs. Spinosa directs the juinor chorus (4th and 5th graders) as well as the senior chorus (6th graders). She also holds schoold-wide music classes. Mrs.Davis teaches the art classes and always has the students engaged in some interesting activity, like makng cave walls or painting. Mr. Sparkes is the wonderful gym teacher and Mrs. Patch the extremely talented librarian. This school is great!

Spofford Pond 2

Posted May 07, 2004
- a parent
They do not use multiple teaching strategies to reach students who come to school with varying skills and interests and at the same time the school has participated in multiple programs such as Trailblazers and Impact Math swithching from one year to the next. They do not give regular feedback to students and challenge them to achieve their personal best. At the same time, they have not particularly shown care for or support their students personally. Communication between teachers, especially those job-sharing and the parents is an ongoing problem. Their responsiveness is slow or there is no response. Discipline procedures are not carried out consistently. Bullying and oppressive behavior, are dealt with sometimes only after parents become involved and their is no followup from school personnel. While the playground equipment meets safety codes, the recesses are not well supervised. Often is falls on the shoulders of parent volunteers.

Nearby schools

Spofford Pond
31 Spofford Road, Boxford, MA  01921
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (978) 352-8616
Last modified Spofford Pond is a Public school that serves grades 3-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top