Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brookline High School

Public | PK, 9-12 & ungraded | 1756 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

It is one of the fine schools. It offers a wide variety of courses. I would recommend it strongly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

I rate this school five stars. Three out of four of my children graduated from this excellent high school with one graduating this June. My oldest turned out to be an equity research analyst, the next one became a graduate of Pratt earning a interior architect's degree. My third child is working for pharmaceutical companies doing clinical trials. And my youngest is a straight A student and I'm sure she'll continue on in college. At my first parent teacher's meeting, the principal put my worries to rest when he said, "How will we love your child"?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

SWS was the best choice I could have possibly made, if only there was a whole school that was just like that program. Sws is why I am giving the school all 5 stars because it helped me pick up and get on track with getting good grades. I learned how to write, no intensive grammar lessons needed, and become more interested in my community. I graduated, got into all of the colleges I applied to and it would not have been possible without BHS and SWS. Go Warriors! Go Raptors!


Posted October 30, 2010

Brookline High School is definitely one of the best high schools on the face of the earth. It has great learning environment, and helpful teachers who are very caring. Kids come to school prepared, ready to learn. Teachers use unique tools to enrich the learning environment. I am a transfer student from out of state, and I see why Brookline High is always in the TOP 10 of Best Schools List of Massachusetts.


Posted July 28, 2010

Brookline HIgh School is one of the best high schools in the country, and with richer diversity than most of its competitors. The school leadership is excellent, the teachers are smart and committed, and an overwhelming majority of the students come to school to LEARN. I can't imagine a better school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

I found my educational experience at Brookline High to be one of the best I've ever had. I learned more there than as an undergraduate in college. Not only did I learn 'facts' more importantly I learned how to think critically a tool that has been invaluable to me in later life.


Posted August 30, 2009

One of the best public high schools in the nation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2009

By far the best public school in Massachusetts, and also the top performing. Recently ranked by Boston magazine to be #1 in academic performance. I am a graduating senior and have been accepted to many top universities, and many of my friends will also be attending top universities including all Ivy Leagues. Extra funding from the 21st Century Fund allow for Brookline High to provide an excellent public education while affording a diverse student body. Also provides an excellent program called SWS (School within a School), which appeals to more independent, headstrong learners. There is a place for every student at BHS, and its students receive a world class education on par or surpassing the quality of any private school in the area.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2008

Long history of excellent academics,social diversity,great alumni programs and parent participation with a caring faculty that gets involved with their students
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2008

I graduated from BHS and have loved it from the first day to the very day. They have a great program for anything you child may need and a great alumni prgrams once they graduate for former students like myself. I hope that once you take a look at BHS it'll be the last look you have to take! Take care, and GO WARRIORS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2008

Awsome school. My freshmen year went very well. The teachers really take the time to help out their students. I would really reccomend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2008

Academically strong. Socially outstanding - unusually accepting of all types of diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

terrible school. did not feel safe here
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2006

Great academics, and a model of innovation all based in high academic achievement for all. Diverse course offerings, many honors and AP courses. Many music, art, and sports offerings both during and after school. Parents involved through the PTA and various activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

Brookline High School is a top notch school. The academic standard is high and offers a safe and nurturing enviroment. There are numerous extracurricular activities in art, music,sports,photography,cooking,languages, etc. The level of parent involvement is quite high. The teachers, administrative staff, counselors, nurses, etc are of high caliber.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

439 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

443 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female98%
Male99%
African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
Multiracial100%
White99%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities92%
English language learners91%

Math

All Students93%
Female93%
Male92%
African American61%
Asian94%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial94%
White96%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities68%
English language learners82%

Science

All Students87%
Female87%
Male86%
African American39%
Asian95%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial86%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities51%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
25%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
37%
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Students30%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Chemistry

All Students34%
Female45%
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White36%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged31%
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Students88%
Female85%
Male91%
African American63%
Asian89%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial90%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

91%

Average SAT score

1790

Graduation rate

94%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 68%
Asian 14% 6%
Hispanic 11% 15%
Black 10% 8%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

115 Greenough St
Brookline, MA 02445
Phone: (617) 713-5003

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Maimonides School
Brookline, MA


William H Lincoln
Brookline, MA


John D Runkle
Brookline, MA


Pierce
Brookline, MA



Torah Academy
Brookline, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT