Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Everett High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

Everett High School does a great job supporting students with individual learning needs. The school provides an academic coach. The coach helps with organization skills and preparation for test,quizzes. The instructors/teachers provide extra time to complete assignments and projects. One area I would of appreciated more attentiveness would have been the school or instructors recognizing a problem existed with our son. His inconsistent performance and poor ability to maintain his grades and lack of organization and initiate testing instead of the request coming from us. Once the problem was addressed extra support has helped him improve drastically. The school has a wonderful online program so that parents can view students attendance, homework, exams, and classwork grades. This is a wonderful form of access into students day to day performance. It provides insight on how a student is doing and keeps parents involved. Everett High is a wonderful and supportive school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

Excellent school, great opportunities and options. Clean school. Brand new. Excellent shape. Staff help you get to collage. Good discipline but they force it with dress code. Care more about football team, most investments go to them. Also cutting out the drama department for the football team. If you are a football or basketball person than that's your place. There are most deff favoritism in sports
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2012

Excellent school with very professional faculty that seems genuinely concerned about the quality of education. They have gone to great lengths to deal with unacceptable student behavior such as bullying. The building is a good looking piece of architecture, the children seem to enjoy going there and the academics are at a high level. The sports program at EHS is quite good as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

My daughter excelled from grades K-8 but once she went to EHS she starting struggling and none of the teachers, administrators or guidance counselors cares. If I had the money she woudl have gone to a private school. I believe that high school should be an enjoyable time and one that you learn to learn and learn to enjoy learning so that you can continue furthur in life. They failed her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

The school's priorities are children and first and great spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

I am aparent of an 11th grader. It is our first year here. We are very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

As a parent who has been actively involved with their child's education I am quite disappointed with the Everett school system in general. I have a child who has spent his entire 11 years in the Everett school system and he is currently entering into his senior year at Everett High. This is a beautiful new school but unfortunately that is all it has going for it. There have been so many budget cuts that the school does not have much to offer unless, of course, if you are a football player. There are many safety concerns at that school which include gangs and drugs, hence the heavy presence of law enforcement. I hope we can move from this city before my youngest child reaches high school age. It is indeed a shame I and many other parents feel that way. I wish more would post on this site.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

My child was having difficulty in passing her classes. Instead of helping, the faculty pushed her to drop out. Also, they discipline too harshly. But for the 'jocks' not harshly enough. So unless your a football star, i wouldnt recommend going to EHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

This is a good school. It is one of the best for safety. It pushes you to learn and get on track with the real world. The teachers are a great group and so are the faculty. I would recommend going to this school, if you are looking for a good education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2008

Excellent School with great teachers. Perhaps too much homework, but I like the close proximity to the Police Station and Recreation Center.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

As a current student at Everett High I must say that over the past few years this school has dropped tremendously in quality. The after school activities are plentiful but most do absolutely nothing, such as the Science Club and the History Club. If someone was considering going here I would do everything I could for them to change there mind. Not only will you not be noticed by colleges, but you will be treated like nothing for your four years here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2006

I student taught under an amazing mentor at Everett High School. I am currently a teacher in Philadelphia and have to say that while I have taught in schools both urban, suburban and rural in Vermont and Pennsylvania..the HIGHEST standard of safety for students has been at EHS. The teachers and administration are connected and create a 'safe' environment in which academics can be focused on to their absolute fullest. I wish all high schools would follow EHS's lead in terms of providing a safe, academic environment in which their is 'no nonsense' and a true learning environment can be expected on a day to day basis...
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 22, 2005

I am pleased with the acedemc programs which have been offered to my child these past four years. I am totally disapointed in the past hockey program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2005

I have a child who plays 3 varsity sports a year but they have other things my child is involved in too besides sports. The poetry club and big brother big sister program are 2 more activities my child takes part in. The Everett high band is a top notch band but they are not the only music extracurricular activity, show up at the spring music show and find out for yourself. I must say the worst thing about the school is the lack of parental involvement. A personal experience this year fortifies that idea. I am sure that if a parent wished to help get involved with an afterschool program either to help out with an existing one or even create a new one they would not be met with any resistance. But those are the parents who wish to complain that someone else isnt helping out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2005

Building is in disarray. Class sizes are too big, especially in the ALC and AP courses. Also, too many courses and programs are being cut, especially the arts and elective honors courses. Most teachers are inexperienced or underqualified. The few exceptional teachers have or are planning to retire in the near future. Unless you are an athlete, particularly football, or a member of the band, which is funded because of the football program, there are no strong nor variety among extra curriculars. As for guidance, it depends on who you are. My mother wasn't really involved in my academic or extracurricular life, nor were most of my teachers or counselors, so it was basically up to me.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 22, 2005

Being a current student at the school I see many problems. The teachers are great and the principal is a nice guy. The saftey and well-being is important they say, but this school committe is ripping the schools off. Us kids are not getting a proper and honest education because the teachers favor the football players. Our school is riding on hard times and i wouldnt recommend this school to anyone who wants a decent and proper education without worrying about the violence in this school and city unless you are a juvenille deliquent.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 21, 2004

Being a former student of EHS, see first hand, it is true, if you play football, you will pass every class. except for a couple teachers, who dont care what sport u play, they will fail you. the school is great, especially the teachers, they really help you alot. Deborah Carson is an excellent teacher, Despina Makredes is an outstanding, and very talented culinary arts teacher. also, the guidance department is wonderful, especially when it comes to applying to college. If something could be done with the football team, getting away with so much, it would be better place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2004

At Everett High School the teachers are very unfair. There is alot of 'favoring' going on and noone seems to care about it. Overall this school is 'ok' but I personally think they should pay more attention to other programs besides football,cheerleading,baseball and basketball.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2004

As a former student, I can say with complete confidence that Everett High School was a wonderful school. The teachers are intellegent, helpful, and caring. The administration is always willing to help. Although football does play a role in EHS student life, it is not the only role. Our band is one of the best in the world. The productions of our Drama club are tremendous. Our athletic teams and other extracurriculars give a sence of community to the school. A parent will obviously have a different view than a former student; however, as a student ranked in the very top tier of her class of over 2,500 at a very prestigious college, I can say that I could not and would not have achieved all that I have without the facutly, the students, and the administration of Everett High School.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2003

Great school if your child is a football player. They have their own 'Rule Book'.The average student is lost. I was fortunate to have two children in the ALC track so they did okay. Unless its sports oriented extracurricular activities are nonexistent for all intensive purposes. Too much going on and not enough people with the savy to admit anything is wrong. Central Administration 'All fluff no substance' The best I can say is Nero fiddles while Rome burns.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

456 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

456 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female90%
Male85%
African American87%
Asian91%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities51%
English language learners22%

Math

All Students64%
Female61%
Male68%
African American56%
Asian91%
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners5%

Science

All Students44%
Female41%
Male48%
African American33%
Asian70%
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities8%
English language learners0%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
30%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Students47%
Female44%
Male50%
African American37%
Asian60%
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Title In/a
Students with disabilities11%
English language learners6%

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

58%

Average SAT score

1292

Graduation rate

77%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 67%
Hispanic 28% 16%
Black 22% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Elm St
Everett, MA 02149
Phone: (617) 394-2490

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT