Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Applewild School

Private | PK-8 | 236 students

Applewild addresses each aspect of what is important in a child's education.

 
 

Living in Fitchburg

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $130,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2014

Applewild has been an excellent choice for all of my children. It put them well ahead of their peers and prepared them well for the rigors of private secondary prep school education. They all began in 5th grade and were instantly welcomed into the community by the children and faculty. I am grateful for the superior education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2014

Enrolling our son at Applewild School is the best decision we could have made for his education. He thrives in a nurturing environment of mutually respectful "citizen students" who are eager to learn, while being guided, challenged and encouraged by talented and knowledgeable teachers who are eager to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

My three children attended Applewild from grades 1-8 and received an excellent education that served as the foundation for secondary school and college. Applewild offers a nurturing and challenging academic program, with enrichment activities such as sports, choral and instrumental music, studio art, shop and drama built into the schedule. In this way, every student has many chances to explore a broad range of activities at the school. The community is warm and supportive and encourages kids to take on challenges with confidence. The school emphasizes a sense of partnership with families. As important as the emphasis on academics and the arts is the school's emphasis on cultivating character and good citizenship. These values are reinforced on a daily basis and echo our expectations as parents. We truly felt a bond with the teachers and other families at Applewild - the sense of community is very strong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

My two children attended Applewild and the well rounded social and academic program has served them well as a foundation for the rest of thier educational process. I feel that the investment in thier education at Applewild was well worth it and the are much farther ahead of thier peers because of the time spent at Applewild.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2014

My daughter attended Applewild from kindergarten through eighth grade, and my son from kindergarten till the present, 7th grade. We have been exceedingly pleased with the personal, academic and artistic growth of our kids during their time at Applewild. The culture at Applewild is conducive to learning. Applewild creates an incredible environment of respect, both between the students and teachers and between one student and another. Myself daughter was accepted to all private secondary schools to which she applied, including Cushing, Bancroft, and Worcester Academy, as well as several others. Students that might not be the best fit for Applewild include students who are all about highest caliber of athletics, or students who enjoy a large environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

Our son is in his second year at Applewild; we could not be happier. AT AW he has an enthusiasm for learning. The teachers take time to understand his needs, strengths and weaknesses. As someone who has studied child development, I find it important for children to be challenged and have exposure at a young age. The music, art and foreign language (starting in K) departments are impressive. Music, PE, French and Science are offered multiple times over the week (grade 1). I most enjoy the importance of character building at the school and focus on kids being kids. My son as a kindergartner made friends throughout the school. He has been taught to be caring and compassionate in his community. Unlike his friends at other schools, he comes home eager to share and build upon his learning. AW is the best investment we have made for our child. Our family makes ends meet while affording his education with the help of financial aid, which we are so grateful for. With regard to some parent comments below who have been dissatisfied with the school, I agree AW is not for everyone. Then again I've never experienced a one size fits all school that is able to satisfy everyone and their parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

Applewild School Years ago when my children were very small, I met the head of an independent school in Weston MA. After working on a project with this head of school, I listened to his words about the formative years of children. He said their learning style will be formed in the early years as well as their, attitudes and characters. That is when you want to invest in your child's education. That is when we made the decision to visit Applewild. I had three children go through Applewild, and as they now are entering college and high schools, I am extremely glad we made the decision to send them to Applewild. The sense of community (every teacher knows your child) is very apparent. The also learn respect for their peers, adults and environment. In this day and age as we see our children grow, that is one core value that was instilled early at Applewild.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

Applewild School gave my two children a very strong foundation through the school years up through ninth grade. They were challenged and stretched and in the best possible ways. They always knew that the adults at the school cared about them and wanted them to succeed and were there to help them up if they slipped. Respect for themselves, for the people around them, and for our environment were key elements in the way Applewild communicated with students and adults. My children worked hard at Applewild and were recognized for the unique people they are and for their skills and talents. They learned to advocate for themselves, to seek teachers' help and advice, and to persevere through challenges. Both of them graduated from ninth grade and went on to top tier secondary schools. I am proud to say they have advanced degrees and are happy and successful. They give credit in part to Applewild for teaching them how to learn and to work for the joy of it. They actually have thanked us, their parents, for the sacrifices we made to send them to this special school! I very much appreciate the gifts of that Applewild education and community for my children and our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

Applewild developed the foundation that my personal and professional ethics are based upon today. Having spent eleven years at the school, starting in pre-primary, I had the privilege of experiencing the unmatched, sincere dedication of the outstanding faculty and staff. It is this high level of commitment to a quality education that makes Applewild a unique experience unmatched by any other institutions in this category. I look forward to the day that I can proudly send my child to Applewild to recieve that same level of commitment to development.


Posted June 28, 2013

I spent eleven years at Applewild and developed friendships that continue to thrive thorugh my adult years. I was challenged academically and prepared for the rigors of high school, college and beyond!


Posted June 28, 2013

Applewild School made an enormous impression on my life. My parents made the decision to enroll me when a Public School education was not working for my learning habits. When I entered the 4th Grade, I was sure that I was never going to be able to learn anything and therefore never be able to participate like the other kids did. The shame of that was building my character and shaping me as a human. Applewild turned all that around for me with a collaborative approach - through the respectful helping hand, classroom teaching, arts/drama/music, sports fields and supportive kinship. All while slowly and steadily pushing me to new heights, quietly and effectively championing me along. The school helped make me the confident assured person that I am. Without the turnaround at that point in my life, I m really not sure where I would be today. I hold deep gratitude for the collective community of Applewild School and am fully aware that the time there influenced my life in such a positive way.


Posted June 28, 2013

Great school and amazing teachers. As a student, I made the best friends there and we are still best of friends today... Over 20 years later.


Posted June 21, 2013

Hands down, Applewild was the best school I ever attended. It is an independent school with high academic standards, great teaching, and an ever present insistence on adhering to community values. I was more than prepared for my secondary school experience and, best of all, my closest friends to this day are the same ones I met in Mrs. Tower's 3rd grade classroom. Quite simply, the school had a profound impact on my life.


Posted October 29, 2011

My child loves this school and looks forward to each and every day there. His enthusiasm for learning is accepted and he is joined by many children with the same positive attitude toward school. He is in the upper school and finds his classes interesting and the teachers supportive. The school strives to help children to be thoughtful, kind and caring. We could not be happier with the choice to send our child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

I loved Applewild so much! I graduated from there this spring as part of the first graduating eighth grade class. Although they did have to cut the ninth grade program, the school is still amazing. The grades have about 30-35 students, so its really easy to find great, lasting friends! The upper school has advising groups, where you meet with a teacher and about eight other kids to check in on any problems. he teachers are so kind and caring! My brother was deployed in Afgahnistan and every single day a teacher would check in with me in a really quiet way. They didn't make a big deal out of it, which was reeally nice. Classes were small and challenging but the teachers were more than willing to help. The sports were great for a non-athletic kid like me--there was a very friendly atmosphere around the sports where everyone wanted to help everyone else. If you are looking at this school, apply!!!! Even if it is out of your price range, the administration worked with my family to find a way to make it happen! It was a wonderful opportunity that every chind should get to experience!!!!!!!!!!


Posted April 1, 2011

I love Applewild. I am currently in 9th grade at Applewild. The academics, arts, and athletics are great. The teachers are very helping. They are always there for you, whether you need help on academic topics or just when you need someone to cheer you up and to talk to. The students at Applewild are also very kind. They are there to make you happy, to make you laugh and smile, and to just be there for you. I love Applewild and will always remember the memories that were created there!


Posted September 9, 2010

What's happened to this school? It went from a thriving community of gifted students to a school that is limping along, not growing but shrinking, consolidating classes and laying off teachers. If you look at the previous reviews, they are all dated in the same few days in February - looks like Applewild wasn't getting in their re-enrollment contracts and put a push to get reviews on the web - we know they didn't get our three kids back!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2010

I graduated Applewild as a Ninth Grader a few years ago and I truley miss the school. I miss the sense of family the most. Your teachers and friends at Applewild were like your second family and you always felt safe at school. I've had some of the best times of my life at Applewild and will always remeber everythign i learned there. I loves hangign out with 5th and 6th graders and not being judged, but also being welcomed by older kids. I always looked up to the ninth graders, and then i became one myself. They really are the leaders of the school and role models for everyone. Applewild is one of my favorite places and i miss it everyday.


Posted May 25, 2010

Very strong academic program with very skilled and supportive teaching staff. Administration and allied personnel are similarly dedicated. The music and arts programs are particularly strong. Our kids are very well served there. I find very little to fault them on and I'm a pretty grumpy sort of parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

My son loves Applewild School. He really enjoys the arts, music, drama and shop. He is learning at one grade level above right now. He could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 2% 8%
Hispanic 2% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • State and Regional History Day (2014)
  • Math Awards (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Bus transportation available
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Sailing
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Math club
  • S'More Math
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Independent Secondary School
Local High School
Parochial School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

120 Prospect St
Fitchburg, MA 01420
Website: Click here
Phone: (978) 342-6053

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Mckay Campus-Fsc
Fitchburg, MA



St. Joseph School
Fitchburg, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT