Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sudbury Valley School

Private | 150 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended programs

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Framingham

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $292,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,200.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2013

I spent a year as an intern @SVS. I get their theory about kid-motivated learning. It's not put into practice here. Students have to ask for instruction and resources repeatedly, and often don't get it. I saw lots of video game playing. I saw a 4yo girl wandering alone outside with no pants on, NO ONE keeping an eye on her. For SVS to work, you'd need dynamic, inspiring, talented staff. All the art teacher did for half the day was take attendance, obsessively. Not a glance at the kids in the art room.* She spent the second half of the day hunting kids down to harass them if they had too many absences. Compliance with state attendance requirements = accreditation for the school = $. They don't mind keeping kids rule-bound if it means more $. *(working with kids + following THEIR interests is very different from IGNORING them). One staff member proudly told me of his schoolboy memory of stabbing his teacher in the hand with a pencil. This place is not an example of the SV philosophy in action. This place has become a safe, profitable harbor for lazy, elderly ex-hippies with Daddy issues, and sociopaths, to sit around and neglect your kids' intellectual development.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 15, 2009

I think that in order to really appreciate SVS, you need to evaluate what values and assets you want your student to have when he/she leaves. If he went to a conventional high school, I might expect my student to have good grades, to excel, or at least survive in a competitive environment, to have acquired a great deal of information on a range of subjects, etc.. I want my son to go into the world prepared to ask questions, explore, self evaluate, self initiate, to have confidence, know what it takes to truly master a skill or a subject, and how to work well with others. I believe that these skills and perspectives prepare students to create lives that are full and prepare them well for anything they want to do. You can always take a course, but these are formative years for learning to become lifelong students.`
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

best school ever!!!!!!! i go here and everyone loves it! we have a lot of fun being outside and all, but we also will ask staff to help us with academics too. like a bunch of kids my age are taking math with a staff, for example. if you're thinking of sending your kid here, DO IT!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2009

Overall this is a wonderful school in so many ways. We are free to roam the beautiful campus as much as we want, and really just do whatever we want as long as it's the right thing to do. It's a place where you can decide to do whatever you want, while teaching us common sense. Maybe we aren't as academically intelligent as the other schools, but every kid there has mounds of self-confidence- thats whats important for life, in my opinion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2009

this school is great! you do what you want and you learn only what you htink you need and its very social and everyone who tries it luvs it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2008

you are free to do what you want like music/computer/games/ and realize what growing up really is, there are music rooms, computer rooms basket ball courts big two fields for many types of fun games. this is where you really want to grow up and and study when you feel comfortable. so much to do i can't even think of it, for me im a musician(guitarist) we have concerts here in the barn where every one shows there acts and everyone loves to attend parents/and family's.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2008

Our kids have been attending this school for a number of months now, and I have to say it has been the single best school experience they (and we) have had. In the course of an unstructured schooling experience, my single-minded son has expanded his interests to include pottery and music, while the kids have learned self-regulation, self-reliance, and most important--that there is always someone there to help them learn whatever it is they wish to learn. I have never seen my sons happier, and we as parents are thrilled to have found such a flexible--and yet introspectively rigorous--environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

This school is great. The kids love it. It requires a lot of trust in your kids, because there are no required classes or activities. It is really up to the kids to figure out who they want to be and what they want to do with their time and their school. You shouldn't go there expecting anyone to try to teach your kid. It is up to the kid to learn whatever they are interested in. The socialization skills that develop because of the unlimited interaction with other kids and adults is great. It helps kids learn to be members of a real society and also to be responsible for their behaviors.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2 Winch Street
Framingham, MA 01701
Phone: (508) 877-3030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Reed Academy
Framingham, MA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT