Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brophy Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2014

There's not room here to write about all the wonderful features of this school. The teachers are dedicated, caring, and go above and beyond, not to mention several are award winning. My kids are finishing up 1st and 3rd grade, and they have bonded so well with each of their teachers, and they continue to visit their past teachers. They are also both reading, and performing other skills above their grade level, thanks in large part to what they are learning and how they are taught at Brophy. Our school is a true community, almost like an extended family. We have family-based activities throughout the year. The staff creates curriculum based events that allow the children to have fun as they are learning. Every summer there is a summer reading program that is free, open to all students and attended by many teachers because they "WANT" to go, they are not told to be there. This program, aside from being fun for the kids, has helped decrease the 'summer slide' that happens in reading ability over summer vacation. I could go on and on and on......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2014

Brophy is a fantastic school. I have a 4th grader (soon to be 5th) and a 2nd grader (soon to be 3rd) and I am quite confident that they are receiving an excellent education. The teachers in this school are outstanding, dedicated, and truly go the extra mile. Everyone from the office secretaries to the school nurse (who is amazing!) knows these kids names and their parents. The Reader's Workshop program that is being piloted here is nothing short of phenomenal, the creative arts program is thriving, the phys ed staff secured money for a grant to do wonderful programs, the Principal and Vice Principal are committed to being here and closing the educational gap for all. We are SO much more than a test score. And as others have said, understand that yes, the majority of these kids are ESL so why would you expect them to score high on the MCAS when it takes 5-7 yrs to become proficient? My children are not ESL and their MCAS scores were excellent. Plus, and this is the BIG plus, diversity is not a concept that they are taught or talk about . They experience it everyday to the point that they don't see color/race. They focus on people's character. And that is better than any test score.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2014

This school has the most caring teachers you will ever find anywhere. My 6th grader graduated last year and is thriving in middle school with straight A's. My 4th grader has needed some support with writing and got all the help we could have asked for. The school was open minded and flexible and really saw this child as an individual with unique strengths. Parents really need to look past the MCAS scores. They only reflect the school's diverse population, which only makes the school better overall. Both of my children have had excellent MCAS results. Most of all, they look forward to going to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2014

This school is incredible! The teachers are hard working, dedicated, always available to talk. The whole team of teachers and administrative staff work as one team, dedicated to help kids learn. I have a 1st grader and a 3rd grader, they love the school, love the teachers, love all of the special school spirit activities. The reason that the test scores of this school is low is because they have a very big ESL students population. This is a very diverse school, kids of many different cultures, colors, religions, and yet they all have fun together and learn together, and I love it. The kids love learning about different cultures that their friends share with them. The PTO is amazing, working teachers and staff to help help know kids achieve success! Great, great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

The teachers and administrators are truly committed. Our school holds summer reading nights for 10 weeks, starting in June and continuing throughout the summer - with high attendance by our teachers, who happily volunteer their own time to come and meet with their students; I know of no other school in town whose teachers give up such time-and this is just 1 example of the commitment of our teachers. Principal Rothwell is fully committed to doing what is best for the students and is approachable and honest. Also, our PTO hosts many successful events, some which are unique to our school. We host an annual Science Fair, which is attended by high school science teachers and, oftentimes, Supt. Scott, in addition to families and teachers. We also have an extremely well-attended Multicultural Fair, Family Dance and Variety Show. The past 2 years, teachers from our school have received the Goldin Award for Excellence in Education, a prestigious teaching award representing 16 districts in MA; only 1 other elementary school in town has received this honor. You don't have to fit a "mold" to come to our school - families and teachers alike make you feel welcome and at home from day 1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

Great school. The principal and vice principal are great people. There is a mix of young and experienced teachers. The school location is great. The layout of the school is also great. The kids who attend this school come from the nearby residential locality which is the most desirable location in framingham. This school has tremendous potential and is moving in that direction under the supervision of the principal, teachers and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2014

Honestly, just like this parent who posted before me in February! I was an emotional wreck when my son was registered at Brophy because he was at a higher rated school before! I thought I'll give it a try : Brophy is a really good school! The teachers and principal are amazing! The way my son learns so fast, and he actually likes it! They also have a new math program that can be used on smart phones, iPads, and desktops. The math application has many different levels and each level has thousands of questions. The teachers register each student and they're given a username and a password each. Their answers are registered and go directly to their teacher to check their progress! The application is absolutely amazing! Thank you Brophy team for all your hard work! Like other people say, this school has a bilingual class but I haven't seen a parent at this school who was ever dissatisfied or concerned!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2014

I love this school! We recently moved to Framingham and it seemed as if everyone who I ran into looked down on Brophy as if it was a bad school. So of course when my children ended up being registered at Brophy, I was an emotional wreck. I thought I was heading into a disaster zone, after coming from a really nice school where we lived before. A little dramatic, I know, but as a Parent, sometimes we can get that way. However, it was not a disaster zone, it was the complete opposite. The guidance counselor is amazing, the Principal, the nurse, and the rest of the staff helped my kids transition so well. I have been VERY pleased with the school. Yes, the score does not do the school justice. It is a bilingual school, and English is a second language for most of the students , however I think that adds to the schools uniqueness. The diversity is a huge bonus. My kids get to learn about different parts of the world just by conversing with their classmates everyday. There is always going to be good and bad to every school, but I would say don't count Brophy out just by hear say or the numbers, go check it out yourself. It's pretty awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

This is a great school with fabulous teachers and a warm caring environment. We have a fabulous science fair, multicultural day and other great programs. It recently has gotten unfavorable press because of lower state test scores. Peole fail to realize that 35-40% of the population are NOT NATIVE ENGLISH SPEAKERS ( we house the spanish ESL program), so how can we be compared to other schools with a more homogenous english speaking population? Real intelligent people look beyond government mandated unrealistic testing and recognize a real quality school !
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 53% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students35%
Female44%
Male25%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Title I35%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learners5%

Math

All Students57%
Female59%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Title I57%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learners29%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students22%
Female20%
Male25%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic3%
Multiracialn/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged5%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Title I22%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners6%

Math

All Students27%
Female17%
Male38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic11%
Multiracialn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Title I27%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners0%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Female54%
Male34%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Title I42%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learners9%

Math

All Students23%
Female34%
Male14%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic7%
Multiracialn/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged5%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Title I23%
Students with disabilities4%
English language learners0%

Science

All Students19%
Female22%
Male17%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic7%
Multiracialn/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged5%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Title I19%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learners5%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 61% 16%
White 29% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Black 4% 8%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (508) 628-1305

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

575 Pleasant St
Framingham, MA 01701
Website: Click here
Phone: (508) 626-9158

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Reed Academy
Framingham, MA



St Bridget School
Framingham, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT