Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
225 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The MacDuffie School 1

Posted December 07, 2015
- a community member
1) Weak teachers 2) Inconsistent wi-fi 3) No hot water for boarding students 4) Located in the middle of nowhere 5) Segregated & contentious international students. 6) $45,000 per year for a bad education

The MacDuffie School 5

Posted August 17, 2015
- a student
I absolutely love this school. It is the best school that I have ever attended. The teachers are very supportive and respectful (same goes for the students), everybody knows everybody, I can guarantee that not everybody who applies to this school gets in, the classes are small, the work is challenging (not too challenging, to me anyway), there is no bullying, and so much more. I highly recommend this school.


The MacDuffie School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a student
Whenever a student says "I'm dumb", "I did a bad job", or anything of that nature, they will reassure that student that what they said is not true.

The MacDuffie School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a student
If a student is having trouble with anything (school related or personal), they will go out of there way to help them and show that they care.

The MacDuffie School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a student
There are what they call advisor meetings there, and they teach students all about that.


The MacDuffie School 1

Posted February 12, 2015
- a student
Course selection is limited. Literally in the middle of nowhere. Weekend activity and after-school activity are not as great as it sounds, since many of the students do not care to participate. Internet sucks with ridiculous rules. Food also sucks. At least the teachers are supportive.

The MacDuffie School 2

Posted January 08, 2015
- a community member
This school is horrible for me at least, the math teacher embarassed me by yelling at me for not knowing how to solve a problem. They don't care much about bullying, and you may think you're "challenging" your kid but a: literally everyone gets in and b: 9th grade work in 7th grade equals a miserable school year. I am most likely not coming back after coming for 6th and 7th grade, I hate it there.

The MacDuffie School 5

Posted February 16, 2014
- a parent
My daughter began 6th grade at MacDuffie when they first came to the new Granby location. It has been a challenging and wonderful experience for her. I highly recommend MacDuffie. The teachers are so supportive and do whatever they can to aid your child in succeeding. My son will begin in September and hopefully have the same awesome experience as my daughter. Small classes' much diversity and a caring staff makes MacDuffie a perfect small private school!


The MacDuffie School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
I have two kids that attend MacDuffie and they both love it. This is their second year there. MacDuffie is academically challening, but with a very supportive teaching staff. The teacher stay well beyond the designated after school extra help times. The small class size is perfect for individual attention. The kids also really enjoy the international aspect of student life at MacDuffie. They have learned so much about people from all over the world. This school has really opened their eyes and their minds inthe past year. I would highly recommend MacDuffie.

The MacDuffie School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
The teachers are very innovative in finding fun and interesting ways for our children to learn and make it fun (where they WANT to learn more!). I am very impressed with the teaching plans. My son LOVES it there!

Nearby schools

The MacDuffie School
66 School St, Granby, MA  01033
(413) 255-0000
Last modified The MacDuffie School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top