Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Immaculate Conception School 1

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
Unfortunately, due to tuitions of other schools in the area and a downsizing of my children's former school, I had little choice but to enroll my children in this school. Well, you get what you pay for, they say, and this is true here. I agree with all of the comments already stated. One of the worst things about this school is the fact that they have a teacher's contract that allows the teachers to have a series of half days (3-4) within one week at the beginning and end of the school year. However, they fail to offer their after school child care during this time period. This policy, significantly impacts and inconveniences parents. Most parents and caregivers in this day and age work full time. By scheduling a series of half-days at both ends of the school year without offering accompanying childcare options, the school puts the ultimate squeeze and burden on the parents who often have to either take a day off from work, find family or friends to pick up their child if they cannot, or leave work for the day to pick up children on a half day. It is a policy that favors the school, not the parents (the paying customer). The principal has done nothing to address these complaints.

Immaculate Conception School 1

Posted February 13, 2014
- a parent
If you want a school that recognizes your child's academic achievement, then look elsewhere. There is no honor roll, principal's list, etc. Although they do have an awards night, it's merely for athletic achievements. If you want a principal that doesn't just listen to issues but actually does something about them move on. Also, private schools including this one, don't require teachers to be licensed nor do that require them to have continuous professional improvement. I graduated from this school many years ago and it's definitely not what it used to be. Also, is such a same that only one teacher cares enough to show up to the PTA meetings, then again, those meeting are only focused on ways to take more of our money, much like the anticipated move to new ground. This basically translates into more ways to increase tuition and receive nothing in return. Oh, and if you come from a family where both parents work full time and you need aftercare, be prepared to pay through the nose for it, as in $5/hr per day. If you get to the school at 5, you are paying $15/day the equivilant of your monthly tuition.


Immaculate Conception School 2

Posted July 12, 2013
- a parent
The School was a 5 Star at one time. A 15 -1 ratio is not the FACT it is more like 24-30 kids in the classrooms. I liked the school at one time because of the low number of students per class now it is outrageous might as well put them in public with the same class sizes. Yes the parking lot is a disaster and a least should be updated with the funds they receive from the hospital using it for their employees to park. Some teachers are so ignorant, we have parents on the inside working side by side. Lets face it some children tell their parents everything like teachers texting all the time in the middle of class ( to their boyfriends plus the smell of alcohol). I hear one is relentless on homework and work also calls out the children in front of everyone if they did or didn't do something wrong embarrassing the kids. One particular PreK teacher does nothing in her class and has been there for years. Waste of money to have her door shut and hand the children a coloring paper and thats sums it for that education Mrs Rogers .Other PreK educations systems interact so much more ABC's 123's socializing, etc... There is a lady who directs the parking. What a WASTE of parents money

Immaculate Conception School 3

Posted June 14, 2013
- a teacher
The Immaculate has recently had high enrollment and it seems as if the principal excepts all student, rather than starting a waitlist. The student to staff ratio is definitely not 1 to 15, at one point it was but due to recent enrollment the ratio is more around 1 teacher per 24-25 students. With the exception of the preschool and pre-kindergarten classrooms which has a 2 teacher to 24 student ratio. The parking lot which the children use for recess and gym class is in desperate need of re-paving and over all maintenance. The restrooms in the building are in need of updating and the school itself isnt large enough to accommodate the increase in students. However the academics are amazing, just a bit of information private schools are not mandated to have licensed teachers so keep that in mind!

Immaculate Conception School 5

Posted September 19, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Immaculate Conception School 5

Posted September 19, 2007
- a parent
My son has been in the Immaculate for five years. He loves the class he is in and the teacher. He also respects and thinks that he can go to talk to the principle if he has an issue. The school has been a great help in guiding him with his education and religion. As a parent you cannot ask for a kinder and friendlier school. I am so happy that my child attends this school and I cannot wait for him to graduate.

Immaculate Conception School 2

Posted September 13, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Immaculate Conception School 4

Posted August 25, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Immaculate Conception School
218 East Merrimack Street, Lowell, MA  01852
(978) 454-5339
Last modified Immaculate Conception School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Immaculate Conception School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top