Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lynn English High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2013

Not a fan of this school. It's overly strict. It's more like a prison and run like a concentration camp of some sort. They encourage students to fail and almost force them out to make a name for themselves. They care very little for the average child. They want them gone and not associated with the school. They encourage drop outs who do not meet up their standards. They will haunt your child and put a target on your childs back. This school wants perfect soldiers who are submissive. I'm not saying this to be a jerk. I've seen it. Any kind of kid who laughs a little to much or the class clown is viewed as an enemy and they will find a way to target you and get you to quit high school. This school is all about ratings and graduation rates , They are trying desperately to make a name for themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

My daughter attended her sophmore year at Lynn English High. My daughter absolutely hated this school. She was constantly talked about and had several rumors made up of her. The majority of the students that go there are very rude and ghetto. She is very shy and keeps to herself so I couldn't understand why she had this problem. The administration was no help, she complained about her teachers not wanting her to suceed. This school is more interested in punishment than learning. She had a teacher who didn't like her because of her religious beliefs. The counselours do not seem to enjoy their jobs, and seem like they do not want to be there. As for sanitation she would not use the bathrooms in school because she described them as absolutely filthy, she even got sick several times I am assuming from picking up germs at this horrile school. This school is the worst school she has gone to overall and she will not be going back
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2011

Although some bullying does occur, the administration usually puts an end to it. There is a zero tolerance at Lynn English. The principal and vice principals are very nice and are very strict. The academics are amazing. The honors classes for students who really want to push themselves are held at high standards from there teachers so that they can be the best. Im the president of my class and was afraid to come to english because it is so big and different then private schools. I was offered scholarships to nearby private highschools but i chose Lynn English because it had a lot to offer. I am more than happy with my decision to come to Lynn English
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2010

This is my childs first year at Lynn English and I think its a camp ground for the young adults to grow and get a education when my child was in the 'middle school' which will be unnamed my child had a really hard time my child was teased and one of the class mates even said he was going to stab my child the middle school did nothing, bad boy dont do that again, these are our children and 97% of us would die for them i do not want other kids telling my child they are going to stab them ,and the school did nothing but now my child is in the high school its like the calm after the storm .the teasing has stopped and not one issue since school started not 1 . the best i think..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

LEHS prepares students for the real world, and college. I cannot stress how thankful I am that I attended such an amazing school. Yes, there are rules and YES the administartors carry those rules out. However, those rules are there to provide safety and the best learning environment possible. High school is not supposed to be like it is on T.V and in the movies, it is real life and is there for educational purposes along with some social. I did not understand the value of my education from LEHS until college when I realized other students did not have such a wonderful school. Once again I cannot stress this enough Lynn English High prepares students for the real world and college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2009

My experience with my son at Lynn English for 9th. grade was really bad. He was a 'trouble' kid back then because of things we were going through at that time. As soon as he started school Iasked for some kind of counseling, like three or four times and never got the help and to make things worse, one of the vice principals, I don't even remember her name, was very mean with him, even in front of me. He stay back and I had to switch him to Lynn Classical for 10th. grade. No problems there but the normal teenager ones. He graduated last year and he is still studying in college now. Sometimes you need to have some compassion to and see the kids case by case instead of generalizing. Please note, I had couple of meeting with the Principal, he didn't do anytihing to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

Having worked in a number of low income schools over my 38 year teaching /administrating career, and being retired from LEHS, I can vouch for this appropriate rating. It is well deserved. The administrators, teaching staff, support staff and extracurricular staff all work together as a team. Principal Fila has always put the students first and treats each student fairly and with equity. I am saddened to read adverse comments about Vice Principal Strangie. By nature of his position, as disciplinarian, such comments are fueled. But, once again, his discipline is fair, equitable and unwavering. Without a firm hand, this school could not achieve it's goals. Visitors to this school once commented that the hallways resembled the quiet of a church! This is the setting needed for academic achievement. Finally, the academicteaching staff and administrators are to be praised for keeping in step with the latest teaching methods and pedagogy.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 17, 2008

I went to this school from 04-08. I couldn't be happier, its an amazing high school, the teachers are great, the staffs are nice, the only person i think the whole school doesn't appreciate, its the Vice-Principal, Mr. Strangie. Besides that the school is amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2008

Comparing to many of the ordinary public high schools of the nation, I can unquestionably utter that Lynn English is one of the best public schools that currently exists. I have attended it as a sophomore and I can attest to its unrivaled excellence.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2007

I don't think this school is the best. There are not many electives and there are many cliques. I wouldn't recommend it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2007

As a parent of 3 children who have attended Lynn English, I can say without a doubt that my children have received an excellent education here. My children received academic scholarships to 2 of the nearby private high schools. After reviewing what they had to offer, and checking to see what Lynn English had to offer, we decided to send them here. We couldn't be happier! The staff, from Mr. Fila to the guidance department and the teachers have been very responsive to any concerns we may have had. I'm very glad we decided to send our kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2004

I think this school is good, even though everyone thinks Lynn Classical is so much better. I would definately send my child to Lynn English over Lynn Classical any day!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Female86%
Male84%
African American83%
Asian85%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Title I85%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learners14%

Math

All Students69%
Female68%
Male71%
African American78%
Asian85%
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Title I69%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners9%

Science

All Students59%
Female62%
Male55%
African American65%
Asian60%
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Title I59%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learners4%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System (MCAS) to test students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in English language arts and math and in grades 5, 8, and 10 in science. The grade 10 MCAS is a high school graduation requirement. The MCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

The state average for Biology was 73% in 2013.

620 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Introductory Physics

The state average for Introductory Physics was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Tech/Engineering

The state average for Tech/Engineering was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Biology

All Students45%
Female49%
Male42%
African American45%
Asian54%
Hispanic39%
Multiracial59%
White55%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Title I45%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learners7%

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Introductory Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Tech/Engineering

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title In/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Massachusetts used the Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System Science and Technology/Engineering Tests (MCAS STE) to test students in high school in biology, chemistry, introductory physics and technology/engineering. The MCAS STE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Massachusetts. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Massachusetts Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

24%
of schools in the state are Below average
50%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Massachusetts. Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

50%

Average SAT score

1339

Graduation rate

78%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 MCAS results from the state of Massachusetts.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts from the state of Massachusetts.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of 11th graders taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 47% 16%
White 26% 67%
Black 13% 8%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 6%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

50 Goodridge St
Lynn, MA 01902
Phone: (781) 477-7366

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Swampscott High School
Swampscott, MA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT