Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Newbury Elementary School 3

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
This school teaches the kids pretty well. The problems with the school that need to be addressed is the Bullying and lack of discipline for the bullying. The Recess and Lunch monitors are also Bullies to the kids. I have never seen a school with so many rules yet you can bully and get away with it, I know this and you can look up that this school has never had an in school or out of school suspension and there really should have been some for some serious bullying.

Newbury Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
School was very accommodating to my grandson who transferred into 1st grade from another state.


Newbury Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2012
- a parent
Excellent academics! This school offers a wide array of exceptional extracurricular activities to its students. The principal and assistant are excellent, always visible and have an open-door policy.

Newbury Elementary School 4

Posted November 30, 2010
- a parent
I actually used to cry as I watched my son walk into this school for 2 years. The Princapal and asst princapal did not like children or staff. Fortunatly for the kids and teachers those two clowns are history and we have a super principal and asst that like children and the school is a happy place again. Its too bad though that it will take the kids and staff a long time to recover and trust that this is great place too be again. My child has come further in 3 months than he did in 2 yrs.

Newbury Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2009
- a parent
I have two children who attended NES from Kindergarten through 6th grade and it was a good experience for both. The teachers are dedicated professionals and the administration is constantly reviewing ways to improve and enhance the educational experiences for all grades. I highly recommend this school.


Newbury Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Caring teachers, great environment, happy kids

Newbury Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2009
- a parent
This is the best school ever! The staff are great and my children have tons of fun! This is definatly the school to go to.

Newbury Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 14, 2009
- a parent
If the school put more time into teaching the kids than displing them we may have a good school after the fact that ever other day there is a half of day.


Newbury Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 17, 2009
- a student
this school is like prison in a death chamber, acually i would rather go to a death chamber then ever step foot in that building again!

Newbury Elementary School 1

Posted June 17, 2008
- a parent
3 horrendous years of teachers who are extremely inexperienced, disorganized, and this last year, have an attitude to boot. The teacher mistook a firedrill for school lock-down & made the children hide. When discussing what children can do if they complete work before the rest of the class, I was told by his teacher 'it's public school.' I guess that meant not to expect much? The quality of education is extremely poor and archaic. The playground is a place where girls can be bullies and boys can not stick up for themselves. The classroom environment this year was a harsh and critical place where the teacher had no control, and did not know how to utilize the many parent volunteers who wanted to help her.

Nearby schools

Newbury Elementary School
63 Hanover Street, Newbury, MA  01951
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (978) 465-5353
Last modified Newbury Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top