Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Alvernia High School

Private | 7-12 | 220 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Newton

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $515,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,620.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2012

I went to this school for one year, as an eighth grader, i switched out since I couln't stand it anymore. I completley regret it. There is absolutly NO diversity. The teachers are ridiculously strict, they don't teach well either. It is very "cliquy", and you are not likely to be accepted into their groups. The girls quicky judge all the new girls. The overall expireene is boring and not what you would expect of high school. Personally, i prefer public school.


Posted September 25, 2008

Wonderful school, great faculty, great academics and athletics.. Strict, yes, if you think you can handle it come to Mt Alvernia..Mr Harvey
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2008

MAHS is great! The teachers are focused on the students, and the courses are not stress inducing. Occasionally the teachers can be strict, but are always ready to help. The older students are always willing to help, and I have made many lasting friendships there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2008

I am a seventh grader at MAHS and i think that this school is strict but fun. There are serious and happy times. It is nice how almost every month we get to go to mass. The lunch cards are a little to much money but overall i love the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2006

this school is way too strict, there is absoulty no diversity, and the teachers are uptight. do even bother coming here. youll just want to leave anyway. this whole school is a joke.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2004

I'm an 8th grader at MAHS, I really enjoy the individual attention and overall feel of the school. The courses offered are varied and the teachers encourage their students to succeed. This school is very welcoming and I am proud to say I am a member of the class of 2009.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 69%
Asian 2% 5%
Black 2% 8%
Hispanic 1% 15%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
  • NCGS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Boston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

790 Centre St
Newton, MA 02458
Phone: (617) 969-2260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Edison K-8
Brighton, MA



Edison K-8 School
Brighton, MA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT