Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Private
Newton, MA
Students enrolled: 217
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mt Alvernia High School 5

Posted April 17, 2015
- a community member
I am a graduate of Mount Alvernia High School. I was lucky enough to attend the school for grades 7-12. The academic rigor paired with the high expectations from my teachers helped put me on the path for success. I was able to enter college feeling prepared and confident in my skills. As I mentioned, the academics are great, the community is great too. The school is so welcoming and makes you feel like you are part of a family. The teachers genuinely care about each of their students. I would highly recommend MAHS to anyone and send my daughter when it's time for her to attend high school.

Mt Alvernia High School 5

Posted January 22, 2015
- a parent
We love this school for our 2 daughters! The students are kind and very friendly, and the teachers are wonderful! I highly recommend this school.


Mt Alvernia High School 1

Posted December 12, 2012
- a community member
I went to this school for one year, as an eighth grader, i switched out since I couln't stand it anymore. I completley regret it. There is absolutly NO diversity. The teachers are ridiculously strict, they don't teach well either. It is very "cliquy", and you are not likely to be accepted into their groups. The girls quicky judge all the new girls. The overall expireene is boring and not what you would expect of high school. Personally, i prefer public school.

Mt Alvernia High School
no rating

Posted September 25, 2008
- a parent
Wonderful school, great faculty, great academics and athletics.. Strict, yes, if you think you can handle it come to Mt Alvernia..Mr Harvey

Mt Alvernia High School 5

Posted September 07, 2008
- a student
MAHS is great! The teachers are focused on the students, and the courses are not stress inducing. Occasionally the teachers can be strict, but are always ready to help. The older students are always willing to help, and I have made many lasting friendships there.


Mt Alvernia High School
no rating

Posted May 02, 2008
- a student
I am a seventh grader at MAHS and i think that this school is strict but fun. There are serious and happy times. It is nice how almost every month we get to go to mass. The lunch cards are a little to much money but overall i love the school.

Mt Alvernia High School 1

Posted May 06, 2006
- a student
this school is way too strict, there is absoulty no diversity, and the teachers are uptight. do even bother coming here. youll just want to leave anyway. this whole school is a joke.

Mt Alvernia High School 5

Posted November 05, 2004
- a student
I'm an 8th grader at MAHS, I really enjoy the individual attention and overall feel of the school. The courses offered are varied and the teachers encourage their students to succeed. This school is very welcoming and I am proud to say I am a member of the class of 2009.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mt Alvernia High School
790 Centre Street, Newton, MA  02458
(617) 969-2260
Last modified Mt Alvernia High School is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Mt Alvernia High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top