Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Peabody, MA
Students enrolled: 1,836
 

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

10 reviews of this school


Peabody Veterans Memorial High School 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a student
PVMHS is not just just some high school. its historical and has amazing athletis and academics. GO TANNERS!

Peabody Veterans Memorial High School 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a student
amazing. no other school I recommend. teachers have changed. for the best I should say. best music program. outstanding academics as well. I am a current student and I can honestly say there is no where I would rather go than PHS!


Peabody Veterans Memorial High School 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a student
AMAZING!!! Best place! I love it here. PHS has everything a high schooler could need and want. a large diverse group here at PVMHS , makes everything so much more AMAZING!

Peabody Veterans Memorial High School 2

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
First of all, the building is not an attractive space and both the exterior and interior need a major overhaul. The school seems to tend to the needs of two groups; the problematic student and the top 10% academic achievers. If you float in the middle, you will receive very little support to grow academically. Mediocrity seems to flourish here. It appears PVMHS s motto is, do your homework, behave, and graduate . I understand that PVMHS is a large institution but there has to be a way to encourage students to reach past their academic goals.

Peabody Veterans Memorial High School
no rating

Posted January 19, 2010
- a parent
PVMHS is an excellent school! There are many course offerings to choose from, the performing arts department, english department, foreign language department, art department, athletic department, business department, and voc/tech departments are all very active, forward-looking, and work hard to keep students interested in school. The principal is awesome, and works very hard to improve technology at this school. Plus, he is well-respected by all, and his respect in return towards students, staff and the City has given PVMHS a very good reputation in the community as well as improved the climate and the experience of the school 200%. He's energetic, the teachers are energetic, and the school is very exciting. Also, there are a lot of programs for kids who need extra help or extra attention. Excellent school!


Peabody Veterans Memorial High School 5

Posted January 13, 2010
- a parent
My son graduated last year - excellent overall education with fabulous teachers, excellent extracirriculars and many, many choices for classes, including AP. The only weakness is the chemistry department. High teacher turnover and sub-par teachers.

Peabody Veterans Memorial High School 3

Posted May 31, 2009
- a community member
the school is great, the kids are great,and the athletics are AMAZING, but the teachers do not seem like they want to teach soo it effects the kids grades and makes it harder for them to advance in there class

Peabody Veterans Memorial High School 5

Posted May 05, 2009
- a parent
PVMHS is an excellent school - the course offerings are wonderful, the staff is energetic, and the students are great kids. This school is very diverse, and students can choose from courses and extra-curricular activities that interest many different types of kids - athletic, musical, academic, vocational, etc. I highly recommend this school.


Peabody Veterans Memorial High School 3

Posted December 08, 2004
- a student
This school i have found while i attended for a year is not very curiculum orianted. Although with a wide varity of students from different cultures enrolled in the school adds a wide selesction of 'good friends' and associations, but in general it could use more funding. i miss pvmhs!

Peabody Veterans Memorial High School 4

Posted August 25, 2003
- a parent
The principal and most of the faculty stay involved with the students outside the class room. You can find the principal at many of the extracurricular functions, cheering student on. There is also great parental involvement and high school spirit.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Peabody Veterans Memorial High School
485 Lowell Street, Peabody, MA  01960
(978) 536-4500
Last modified Peabody Veterans Memorial High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Peabody Veterans Memorial High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top